? 5/18 Misty AMPS 7(126) do I shoot? Help please

kathpj

Member Since 2012
morning,
I now have u/100 0.3 syringes. (Previously only had Lantus pen). Prev dose 1 unit.
Can’t add Misty’s AMPS to ss at the moment but 7(126). Should I give a smaller dose? Can’t be around to test during the day today.
Thank you
 
Have you skipped giving insulin for the past four and a half days? If you aren't home today, I wouldn't give insulin if so, and wait until you are home to monitor before doing so. And if you do give insulin, it would be a much smaller dose. Post here first before doing so.
 
Didn’t have syringes to give smaller amount than 1unit til now. Bron had suggested possibly just a small amount to support the pancreas.
 
What type of syringes are you using? If it's the BD Microfine, there are paper rulers you can use with them. Take a look at the Dosing Methods Sticky Note, and the link to the document called Management of Diabetic Cats. In there is a section on Fine Dosing with a link to the paper ruler you can print out.
 
@Wendy&Neko Kath is in Australia and I gave her the information on the correct syringes to buy as she had been using the pen and couldn’t give a smaller dose than 1 unit. I asked her to post when she had the syringes about the dose. Kath works during the week so can’t monitor the BGs during the day.
I was thinking of maybe starting with a drop of insulin when she can monitor and seeing what that does. What are your thoughts ?
 
Back
Top