5/18 Leo AMPS 414, +3 387, +6 340, PMPS 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Good Evening LL, hope everything i well with all and the kitties are in low numbers.

Just got the update and Leo has been very consistent these last few day.......consistently BAD! Actually that's kind of a lie, he comes down into blues at night and bounces all morning and afternoon, then he has those really ugly red preshots. What are we doing wrong??? He does eat quite a bit of mice during the day, but i know those are low carb, what about grass? I've asked about grass being high carb but never received a response. Leo has always eaten large amounts of grass.....he doesn't barf on it tho. Also I wouldn't be surprised if Leo is sucking my parents into feeding him right before shot times too, i've caught them doing it before, he meows and meows until one of them caves in and feeds him. Usually i take his food away at +8, i know for a fact they sometimes feed him right up to +11. At least when i'm home i don't fall for his kitty tricks (begging for food) and he can't go outside at my place, he's an indoor kitty at my place.

I will be home on Friday, early afternoon and am wondering about his dose. Is is good or bad? Do i need to increase him to 2.50? Or maybe a fat 2.25? Do i need to wait a bit longer? I'm thinking he is just going to be one of those bouncy kitties.....at least for awhile longer anyway, until his liver gets used to being in low numbers. Liver training school??

Thoughts please!
 
Tracy: I don't think you are doing anything wrong...Leo is just a bouncy kitty. Look at Gracie's SS, Tess, Mannie, Gabby...too name a few but all bouncy kitties although Tess and Mannie are starting to pass liver training school.

I am hoping one of the experienced folks will stop by and let you know if his dose is ok since he's just hitting some blues occasionally. They can also let you know when it's safe to raise him if he needs a dosecrease.

Hang in there!!
 
Thanks Carolyn for the bump ;-) ;-)

Marje, I guess he does need some intensive liver training....perhaps looking at other kitties SS as homework? I've said it a million times before......i'm not a patient person! :lol: :lol: Can you lend me the patience pants again? Maybe i should just get my own instead of borrowing yours. I have seen Gracie's SS, and yeah i can see some similarities between Leo and Gracie. Its just so hard to know when they actually need a dosecrease or just stay at the same dose. Thanks Marje!
 
I think Marjorie is the queen of the patients pants. She gave me very similar advice when I was getting really frustrated with bounces. Marjorie also told me to start looking at the same spreadsheets, so I start lurking on spreadsheets. It was actually really really helpful. Then I started reading any spreadsheet I could get my hands on, looking at bouncing ball kitties, looking at otj kitties, looking at high dose kitties, carb sensitive kitties, etc... even if they didn't share characteristics with my cat, and even if i knew that they had a specific regimen designed just for that cat, i still learned so much. I started to really grasp how the protocol worked (i got it before, but that's when it really started to click and i started to feel more comfortable and understand the what and why behind the dosing advice i was seeing), when people followed it, when cats had a hard time holding reductions or increases, when cats did best with snacks, etc.... i didn't find any kind of magic answers but i did learn a lot and it did give me some great ideas that were appropriate to incorporate.

Keep hanging in there!
 
i've heard several people say that the morning numbers are often the last to get under control. not sure why that is, but fwiw.

if your folks are feeding him right before he's being tested, that's no doubt affecting his BG numbers. might be what you're seeing if he's higher with them than with you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top