5/18 Kasha AMPS 490 PMPS 415

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
She just sat in the 400s last night, from what I can see. Sucks.

Appetite not great this morning - at approx 1 Tbsp (1/2) of breakfast. But she did beg for chicken around 3 am and I gave her a little then cuz if she gets too hungry she occasionally vomits and I'd like to avoid that. So maybe the chicken affected her appetite. I don't know. Still drinking a lot.


Yesterday
 
Well, after a short but vicious struggle, I believe I got the 5th Baytril into her. It didn't take as long as yesterday (and mind you, we are talking seconds here - but it feels a lot longer) but, although I did my usual search to make sure she didn't spit out the pill (and she did spit it out twice before I got it down), she then gave a very conspicuous "gulp" sound, which made me believe she swallowed it. Although, it was a little too obvious - if she were a child I would be very suspicious that she may have tried to fake me out. But after a thorough search of her fur, my clothes and the carpet (which is an indoor/outdoor variety that a pill could NOT get lost in), I found no pill - so 5 down, 9 to go.

After all that, she didn't want to eat much. I tried some BG Tuna and she ate approx 1/2 Tbsp. Fail.

Then we tried FF Turkey and Giblets and she ate - not a lot, but enough to approximate a regular meal for her. I know she'll snack later and I'll put out some chicken for her, so that's ok.

Might do SQ fluids tonight. Seems to make her more comfortable, more practice for me.
 
hello!

4th cycle on this dose... action or else tomorrow night... (actually next day, so Thursday AM) dosecrease... Com'on Kasha... eat and lower these numbers a touch!
 
Hi Krys

I checked thru your ss and profile, but didn't see any mention of Kasha having testing ketones positive, is that correct? No history of ketones?
I do see you have checked recently, and thats great you're on that.
 
No history of positive ketones. She was negative today - twice.

She's eating her shredded chicken like a champ.
 
I'm with Helene -- I think it's time to raise Kasha's dose again. I think there's a battle going on between the UTI and the insulin and right now, the UTI is winning. Just a head's up -- once the Baytril really starts doing it's job, Kasha's numbers may drop quickly. You'll need to be observant.

Are you seeing any signs of improvement re. the UTI?
 
She's still drinking a lot, maybe not quite as much - other than that, I'm not sure how to evaluate her UTI status.

If I increase her dose Thurs morning, I will not be able to monitor her as I will be at work. Do you think that will be an issue? I know sometimes the dose increase doesn't really take effect right away because of the whole shed thing (that still makes no sense to me). I can only monitor at night this week. Opinion: should I consider doing the dose increase Thurs morning or wait till Thurs night (knowing I won't be able to monitor Fri morning)?
 
if Kasha was my cat, knowing that she has an infection, I would probably go ahead and increase tomorrow. She did hit yellow on this dose, but there's still room to go up. If you do that, you'll want to test as much as you can because the numbers could drop when the infection clears.

I always preferred to increase doses in the evening when I was home. I don't know that it really matters but it made me feel better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top