5/18 - Gem AMPS 265 First post here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkbank

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone

At the urging of some very supportive friends over on health, I am posting here with the hope of getting some more eyes on Gem's SS.

I have filled out her profile, but just briefly, because she's a complicated kitty, here's her story.

Dx'd 3/6, started on 1u BID lantus, worked our way up to 3u BID
A few weeks later she was Dx'd with restrictive cardiomyopathy and some kidney problems (though not failure)
5/1 Cushing's Dx confirmed (something I'd long suspected), started on Trilostane.
Due to Cushing's, Gem's skin is extremely fragile and she has suffered many skin tears. This is our main medical concern right now, and I have to be super careful in handling her, plus she is on ABX to try and prevent infection.

Anyway, after a few weeks of not testing her at all, I've started again. I know I don't have a ton of date, but if you guys could take a peek and see if anything jumps out at you, I'd be so grateful. I honestly don't know what to think when I look at her numbers. I thought it might be time to lower her dose a bit, but that hasn't gone too well! But now I don't know if I should just go back to the 3u, or ride out the lower dose for a while.

Oh, this past Tuesday the vet ran a fructosamine and it was mid-300's. I know that's not the most reliable, but I wanted to share that as well. She also may have a UTI, waiting for urine culture.

Thanks so much to all who come here..it's been a difficult few months and everyone has been so helpful and supportive.
Thanks
Karen
 
Hi Karen!

First off you are doing a great job with Gem considering all the complications that you are dealing with...Kudos! :-D

Just looking at her spreadsheet and not ever having to deal with the underlying health conditions you have to deal with, I think I would hold the dose a little longer to see if she settles down on it, but if she is still getting such high readings in say a day or two..( maybe hold for 3-4 days max) I think I would take her back up again, if you aren't comfortable taking her all the way back up to 3u again then maybe try 2.75 instead of 2.5. That half a unit reduction might be just too big of a reduction with her other complication...again I'm strictly guessing because I have never had to deal with the health issues you have going on right now with Gem so this is pretty foreign territory for me, but I'm never terribly comfortable seeing those reds for very long.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Hi Karen!

First off you are doing a great job with Gem considering all the complications that you are dealing with...Kudos! :-D

Just looking at her spreadsheet and not ever having to deal with the underlying health conditions you have to deal with, I think I would hold the dose a little longer to see if she settles down on it, but if she is still getting such high readings in say a day or two..( maybe hold for 3-4 days max) I think I would take her back up again, if you aren't comfortable taking her all the way back up to 3u again then maybe try 2.75 instead of 2.5. That half a unit reduction might be just too big of a reduction with her other complication...again I'm strictly guessing because I have never had to deal with the health issues you have going on right now with Gem so this is pretty foreign territory for me, but I'm never terribly comfortable seeing those reds for very long.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Thanks Mel, somehow this post slipped by me yesterday!

If you look at her spreadsheet, I messed up big time yesterday by oversleeping and screwing up the timing of her shots. Then today, because of scheduling with the kids, I had to move her back on her regular schedule much quicker than is advised (so shooting at +11). So now I feel like I am starting over with this dose. And I'm confused as always!! I will see what she does tomorrow and then decide whether to bump her back up slightly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top