5/18 Gabby PMPS~272, +2~61, +2.5~46, +3~57, +3..5~74, +4~92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Very Active Member
Moderator
Yesterday's Condo

Gabby is good. Great numbers last night and (fingers crossed) no big bounce today.

Gabby's bean is not having as good of a day. I bought a new feeder - one with 5 compartments. It doesn't work! I just found a test strip in my coffee. And I have either a cold of a sinus infection. I'm debating on whether or not to take a sick day.
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220

I vote for the sick day...I mean....you've already got three things that make the start of your day a blecking one, so why risk going out of the house?

Gabby is looking great! Hope she gives you more good numbers!!!

Now, go wrap yourself up in a nice warm fuzzy and go back to bed or just lump around the house and enjoy your kitties.
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220

You deserve a sick day--Take care of yourself too!! Gabby IS doing great!! We are so happy for you!!
Check the battery on the bottom of feeder, maybe battery is no good--I just changed the one in mine--Sometimes the feeders sit around & battery goes--
Hope you feel a lot better--HUGS~!
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, +1.5~193

Roni - the feeder is new as are the batteries.

Earlier, I found Gabby having a wonderful time with the box that the broken feeder arrived in. She was acting like it was catnip -- rolling around all over it, scratching her head on the flaps and wanting her belly scratched. She's in a very sweet and playful space today. And shortly after, Gabby walked into the BR, sat down and stared at me. This is her usual, "I'm hungry and you better test me." behavior.

On the way into the kitchen, I noticed some gunk on my LR window. Gizmo has the sneezes. Apparently, he's been sneezing all over the windows. Nice.
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, +1.5~193

nice blue already! You had some great looking numbers last night, I say take a sick day and hope to catch those same numbers today instead of tonight!
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, +1.5~193, +3~183

Yikes! I hope your day gets better. Don't feel bad about taking a sick day if you need to; that's what they are for!

I'm with Joyce; I want to know if the test strip was used. ;-) Or maybe you were trying to see if you'd put too much sugar in your coffee?
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, +1.5~193, +3~183

Nice greens last night. I hope you took the sick day, sounds like you need a day to take it easy. Just sit back and enjoy.
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, +1.5~193, +3~183, +4.5~208

I took the sick day.

To be perfectly honest, I don't know if the strip was used or not. However, I suspect there's a much better chance of a used strip being in my coffee than a new one. The good news is that the strips don't use very much blood. I've lived through kitty spit in my hair, Gizmo, and other of my cats, sneezing all over me, and cleaning up after a cat with intestinal CA and countless coughed up furballs. Having a used strip in my coffee is nothing!
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, +1.5~193, +3~183, +4.5~208

omg - what a morning for you. Nice on the sick day, but I hope you feel better. The test strip in the coffee gave me a laugh - I am right there with ya - that is nothing... my personal favorite: cat puke in my shoe, and my being unawares...

well gabby looks great - I hope the two of you have a good time being home together.
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272

hey u

hope ur feeling better. Gabby doing very well. Scratches to Gabby's tummy! :lol:
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272

((((Sienne)))) I hope you are feeling better. Good that you stayed home....hope tomorrow will be a better one for you....it seemed that lots was happening today.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272

Those test strips do look a bit like short coffee stirers!
Hi Sienne, Glad to hear that you took the day off and we hope you'll be feeling fine tomorrow. At least Gabby had fun! Does the 5-compartment wheel in the feeder turn at all, or is it completely dead? I had a lot of trouble getting the wheel compartment to line up properly with the opening in the lid. I don't really trust that feeder and went out and bought a 2-compartment CatMate. It works great (mechanical timers, not electronic) and it also has a freezer block that fits under the food trays and keeps the food cool.
Feel better. And thanks for your advice about Stu's dosecrease.

Ella
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272

Hi Sienne
What a day. I hope you are feeling better and Gabby looks like she had a nice day.
You wonder how the strip got in the coffee. I can somehow picture Gizmo dropping it in. :-D
On the bright side at least you got to stay home with the kitties.
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, +1.5~193, +3~183, +4.5~208

Sienne and Gabby said:
I took the sick day.

To be perfectly honest, I don't know if the strip was used or not. However, I suspect there's a much better chance of a used strip being in my coffee than a new one. The good news is that the strips don't use very much blood. I've lived through kitty spit in my hair, Gizmo, and other of my cats, sneezing all over me, and cleaning up after a cat with intestinal CA and countless coughed up furballs. Having a used strip in my coffee is nothing!

Sounds like the sick day was a good plan! If it helps, I ended up lancet-ing myself today :o I had a hold of Vesta's ear (at the +6 when I was rushing to get out the door for work?), and as I shot, she squirmed and it got my finger instead. It was awesome.

Your sneezy imagery with Gizmo reminds me of a foster kitty I took care of when I was a grad student it Texas... He had just been dipped for ringworm and REEKED of sulfur... and refused to sit/sleep anywhere but on my shoulder. Extremely endearing, yes... Extremely smelly... YES! And he sneezed a lot, to boot. I did love him tremendously though... Almost adopted him myself. (his story is awfully sad... the week after I graduated he went to a new foster home, and passed away in the middle of the night after a few days. I had the guild of that one hanging for a while... ugh.)
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272, +2~61

Well, that number was a surprise! Both kitties are enjoying a high octane snack.

Jamie -- I went through the sulfur dip saga last summer. When Gabby was hospitalized for FD/DKA,/p'titis,/HL she was exposed to ringworm. I had to bathe both cats x1/wk for about 8 weeks. I won't even tell you about the massive house cleaning that went on weekly. It was an ordeal, to say the least. Oh, and I poke myself with a lancet routinely!

Ella - it gave a half turn overnight and that was it. The feeder was kaput!

Staying home with the kitties was great. I'm still not sure if this is a cold or sinus, but I'm leaning toward the former. Thanks for the get well wishes.
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272, +2~61

seems like Gabby is set on dropping despite your best efforts. She might force a dose reduction soon. I hate to suggest getting +1's at night but that might become necessary if you want to hold the dose (really, I know that suggesting an additional spot check won't even bother you, but I want to at least pretend to give you a break!).
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272, +2~61

I had the same thought. She gets the second installment of a meal at +1 so I have to go get her any way.
 

Attachments

  • DSC00210.JPG
    DSC00210.JPG
    143.9 KB · Views: 73
Re: 5/18 Gabby AMPS~220, PMPS~272, +2~61

Libby and Lucy said:
I hate to suggest getting +1's at night but that might become necessary if you want to hold the dose (really, I know that suggesting an additional spot check won't even bother you, but I want to at least pretend to give you a break!).

That is pretty funny Libby......you just gave the testaholic permission to test one more time. :lol:
 
Re: 5/18 Gabby PMPS~272, +2~61, +2.5~46, +3~57

Hey Sienne- I was reading Gabby's SS, and was wondering why you've held onto the 1.50F with so many greens the last few days? I'm trying to get a feel for why people shoot what they do (not judge at all... promise!!!). Trying to get the hang of the "why" now that I have the hang of the "how".

Thanks!
 
Well it looks like you've had an interesting day and maybe in for an interesting night. I hope she doesn't go any lower for you and that you manage to get some sleep. You want to rest to get over that bug you have.

By the way I hadn't thought of raising Tori's dose . SHe's very sensitive to even little rises. I have the feeling she may go low some time soon like she is prone to do but it sure is an idea if she stays up. She likes to surprise me. Thanks for the idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top