5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +6 64; +6.5 67; +7.5 74; +8.5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

AMPS is 65. I'm giving him his shot in a few minutes.

Thanks, Cain. I'll have to come home in an hour to check. :) Going to my nephew's 4th birthday party in less than 30 mins. Luckily my sister's house is also near the Walmart that I now have to go get strips cause I have about 20 left.

Maybe that skip convinced his pancreas or whatever makes the insulin to start working some more. :)
 
Re: 5/18 Cain AMPS 65; +2.76 52

+2.76 is 52

Party was good. My nephew had fun. I ended up staying later than I expected but I tried to get out by the +2. Ended on a sour note when I told my sister I need to take off to go test Cain cause he was diabetic, and she pretty much said I should have put him down. I said I don't. Sorry she thought that way, thanked for the party, said some goodbyes and left.

:-|

Not going to put down an animal companion for a completely and reasonably treatable disease.

Cats were happy to see me, also cause they were hungry, but I got a late test in. So I'm going to keep an eye on Cain today. Looks like he's trying for a reduction already unless he comes up some.

@Cathy - Thank you! Have a great day as well!

@Sienne - I'm really happy at his numbers lately. Though shooting a 65 is still scary a bit. :)
 
Re: 5/18 Cain AMPS 65; +2.76 52; +4 52; +5 56

Hi Jennifer

Cain looks beautiful :mrgreen:

I can't tell you, how many of us have been told the same thing, including me. My own son hinted at it.....once!!
Have a good evening. Hope you get some sleep tonight :smile:
 
Re: 5/18 Cain AMPS 65; +2.76 52; +4 52; +5 56

very close... but it has to be a 49.... or less... ;-)

but every bit of time in those good greens are healing that pancreas.....
Cain has been doing so well!
 
Re: 5/18 Cain AMPS 65; +2.76 52; +4 52; +5 56; +6 51

+6 51

So close! hehe

@Rhiannon - Yeah he's hovering at the edge of it, but he's staying above. Which is totally good for him to heal. I've noticed he's a bit more active lately. Though he still sleeps a lot, I think all these greens are starting to show up in his behavior. ...I forgot to order the methyl B12. ohmygod_smile

@Barb - My dad has told me before when this all started that if it looks like he's suffering I need to prepare for possibly putting him down. He was nice about it but willing to work with me to help pay for the items to get Cain better. But Cain's not suffering that I can tell. He's the same and improving. My sister was just straight up direct like I was an idiot for not putting him down. :roll:
 
Re: 5/18 Cain AMPS 65; +2.76 52; +4 52; +5 56; +6 51

On would you look at all that beautiful lantus flat flat flat? And look at you Jennifer! Shooting low without blinking an eye! Great job...it must be your BOS award :lol: :lol: look how it's paying off!
 
Re: 5/18 Cain AMPS 65; +2.76 52; +4 52; +5 56; +6 51; +7 59

+7 59

I tried a non-pate today, but it was 5%, the FF chunky chicken feast. Brownie loved it. I think she was trying to lick the bowl. And it doesn't seem to have popped Cain up much.

@Marje - Must be! :lol: It's a nice day today for him. :-D
 
Re: 5/18 Cain AMPS 65; +2.76 52; +4 52; +5 56; +6 51; +7 59

Good job shooting low, Jennifer! I'm proud of you.

My own father told me that I should put Gobbles down last November when I told him about his dx. And then my sister tells everyone I'm stupid for testing him and giving him shots (though if it was her precious dog, she'd do the same, I'm sure).

I learned to just ignore people who have to be negative about FD.

Have a nice Sunday and thanks for visiting :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64

PMPS is 64.

I will get a +1 & +2 of course. :) Though if he follows the same that he did today and yesterday, maybe I can sleep from +2 to +4 before I have to start waking up frequently. Or maybe even the +5! :D

@Kat - Awww thanks! :D Yeah I just have to learn to ignore people being so negative. Have a good sunday!! I hope your eye is getting better.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +1 55; +2 49

+1 55
+2 49

I swear he knew I was going to try sleeping till +4 or +5 tonight. Going to go feed him and see if I can get him up some.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +1 55; +2 49; +2.5 42; +3 45 Uh oh.

+3 is 45.

Coming up a bit, but that's probably the same number technically. It makes me feel better tho. :) But since nadir hasn't happened, I'm feeding 2 tsps of HC and checking again in twenty five minutes.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

+4 41

I can't seem to keep him high enough right now other than the 40s. Nadir's in two hours I think.

Just realized I'm testing twenty mins after he eats, it just takes a bit to type and record the info.

Fed him a little over a 1tsp of HC and 1tsp of LC. He's eating the gravy now more than the bits on the HC only tsps.

Edit: Just checked and yes he's eating the LC and gravy from the HC this time, but left more of the meat bits behind.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

The numbers are pretty even, and not going down too fast. Let me read your condo and look at your spreadsheet. brb.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

I'm sorry it took me longer than expected. J.D. threw up on the carpet and I had to clean it up :?

Congratulations on a dose reduction to an even 1 unit !!
He has earned the reduction and I'm sure you would like to go to sleep soon. I think you can try to give him a drop or two of karo mixed in with his next mini meal of HC. You'll still have to test for a while, as the karo will wear off, but you can maybe get some mini naps in.

Is the next test in 15 minutes?
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

It's in three minutes actually. :) Time to break out the karo bottle. Should I give him any LC with it? He's been eating more of the gravy than the meaty bits in HC.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

I'd like to see him eat some of the food parts of the food, as that will keep his numbers up longer. If you think he will eat the LC, then put he karo in that. I would try to give him a bit (2 teaspoons) of his favorite flavor.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

+4.5 is 53

Yeah I think the LC is helping a bit. I'll have to find some HC that he'll eat more than the gravy of. I'll do the 2 tsps with a drop of karo.

And thank you Dyana. :D

Also, forgot to comment on this on the earlier comment, but I think cats know exactly where the carpet is when they go throw up. :)
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

If he's at 53, he may be on his way up now, and you don't have to give karo, but maybe you already did.
It would be best if he would eat some of the food, instead of just HC gravy, that will keep him up longer and the sooner you can get to bed.

If he's up again next test, then try going 30 minutes without feeding, and test again. Maybe, you can get to bed in an hour. We'll see.

You're right about how they aim for something when throwing up ;-)
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

I did like two small drop/smears of karo on his food. The opening on the lid was huge and I didn't want to give too much so I tried for drops but they're probably like smears.

I figured I'll be up until his nadir around +6. Unless he decides to come up earlier. Then I can take 40mins naps! :D

Seriously, I never thought I'd be excited about 40min naps.

Well he liked it cause he ate it all. He was licking the bowl clean.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41 Help please

Narillan said:
Well he liked it cause he ate it all.
That's good.

I'm going to try to take a 30 minute btb. If he's risen at the next test, try going without food for 30 minutes and test again. Hopefully, he'll be on the rise, a little.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41; +4.5 53

Yeah he really liked that. I'll have to remember that for next time. Maybe I'll just do either a HC/LC combo or LC with karo if he tries dipping in the low 40s again.

Thanks again, Dyana. Next test is 7 mins.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3 45; +3.5 44; +4 41; +4.5 53; +5 45

+5 45

I'm going to test again in 15mins cause he just finished eating that LC/karo one like 12 mins before this test.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3.5 44; +4 41; +4.5 53; +5 45; +5.25

I was afraid you gave him too much karo, when you talked about the big opening and the smears :), but I guess it's fine.
I have a food syringe taped onto all my karo bottles (one at my dad's house in California, one on the bottle in my pantry here in New Jersey, and one in J.D.'s carry bag that I take with us when he has to go to work with me). It makes it easier to syringe karo if needed, and also to get drops out ;-)
I think you can probably test next at +6, if you want.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +3.5 44; +4 41; +4.5 53; +5 45; +5.25

I'll have to get one of those. I swear last time I used karo syrup for cooking it had a smaller opening.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +4.5 53; +5 45; +5.25 54; +6 64

+6 is 64

That's probably all karo there still huh? I haven't fed anything since the +4.5 karo/LC combo. Well I've learned that I need to get a syringe for that.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +4.5 53; +5 45; +5.25 54; +6 64

It's not much of a rise. I would say that Cain is not very carb sensitive.
I would get at +6.5 without feeding (that should be 2 hours? without food), and if he has risen, then leave some (LC) food out for him, and you should be safe to go to sleep.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +4.5 53; +5 45; +5.25 54; +6 64; +6.5

That's been my guess as well, that he's not that carb sensitive.

+6.5 test is 67.

Ok I'm going to leave out some low carb and get a nap. Hopefully will get up at the +7.5 test unless you think otherwise.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +5 45; +5.25 54; +6 64; +6.5 67; +7.5

Great job. It certainly looked like Cain was working his way toward that decrease.

I never understand people when they suggest you euthanize a companion for some inexplicable reason. I always think about what it says about the individual making such a boneheaded statement.
 
Re: 5/18 Cain PMPS 64; +5 45; +5.25 54; +6 64; +6.5 67; +7.5

Oh Jennifer! What a night you had. I had just gone to bed when you posted the first number because it was quiet.

When you get that first 40 early in the cycle, I'd ramp up the carbs a little....a low number that early tells you it's going to be busy and now you know he's not too carb sensitive. I might get a solid MC food and give him a couple big tsp each time you get the 40s number as long as he's flat. If he starts to drop, give him two tsp of gravy from a HC food. Or...as Dyana said, LC with a couple drops of karo.

I have the same setup as Dyana...a 3ml syringe with no needle and I give a couple drops of karo from the syringe. But remember that karo and HC wear off, as you saw. You did a great job of testing and staying on the numbers! \M/

Congrats on the reduction. Looks like Loki might be getting with the program and the next gets weeks might be "busy". Grab sleep whenever you can.
 
@Marje - 3ml syringe... do I get those from the vet? I think those 40s threw me off so early in the cycle. I knew I needed to get his numbers up but the usual method I did for the 50s didn't work as well, and finding out that while Cain likes the gravy in the HC ones I got, he doesn't like the meat bits as well was at least a learning experience. Time to look at Dr. Pierson's list again.

@Sienne - Thank you. I've been thinking he's been trying for a reduction but he didn't even throw a number in the 40 until that PM cycle. Which he made really, really sure he got that reduction with all those 40s.

Thanks again, Dyana for helping me out. \M/
 
I'm not sure if your vet will have them. I get them at the local compounding pharmacy. Because I buy so much from them, they give them to me free by the handful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top