5/18/10 Nay - AMPS 371 +5 517

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traveling Cats

Member Since 2010
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14645

We increased his dose in the PM of 5/15. We had a couple yellow readings the first day but since then its been pink and red. Today we're in the BLACK zone for the first time. :(
AMPS = 371, +5 = 517 (he's probably a little stressed because we were packing up to move when we tested him).

I'm frustrated that we're not seeing a consistent reaction to the insulin. Instead of a curve we have a squiggly line. What do you do when you're in the black?

Thanks,
Melissa
 
Curious to see the next BG or PMPS. You saw some yellows at 1U. This may just be one of those random WTH? numbers. Fur shot maybe?
 
I just realized I should add symptoms. He's drinking and peeing A LOT. He is probably drinking a cup or more a day. He had a pee clump in the box today that I could have contacted Guiness about. His catittude seems up and down. He was purring happily this morning but now he's a little irritable and whiney. He's been hiding occasionally which is not like him at all. He has some loss of appetite but he's still eating enough that I'm not worried.
 
MJ+Donovan said:
Fur shot maybe?

Well, we thought we were doing well with the shots but anything is possible. I really don't want to shave him. We're also still experimenting with shot locations. We have not done scruff shots but maybe we're moving around too much.
 
Some cats do get better absorption of insulin at certain locations. On the other hand, some beans, like me, manage to give a fur shot when not shooting in their usual location (i.e., scruff). Weighing the issues, I'll opt for getting the insulin where it's supposed to go.

I think Nay needs more insulin. You've been at this dose for 6 cycles.

Tight Regulation sticky said:
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
At +8 test the glucose is 447.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Some cats do get better absorption of insulin at certain locations. On the other hand, some beans, like me, manage to give a fur shot when not shooting in their usual location (i.e., scruff). Weighing the issues, I'll opt for getting the insulin where it's supposed to go.

I think Nay needs more insulin. You've been at this dose for 6 cycles.

Tight Regulation sticky said:
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

We'll increase by 0.50 starting tonight. We're also going to start keeping track of where the shot was given so we can see which areas absorb better. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top