5/17 Tiger Amps 400+ after active night

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-16-tiger-amps-400-pmps-397.290084/#post-3179798

Last night was the 6th cycle after taking the reduction. I figured depot was back down so didn't expect an active night. Boy was I wrong!
Tiger was very determined to drop last night. What really scares me is that he doesn’t respond to food much and to syrup only a little better and neither gives a bump for long. He used to respond more and longer. I wonder if I’m giving enough syrup each time. We are giving about 1/4 tsp each time. Should it be more syrup? After the last syrup, I literally sat at the end of the bed and prayed for it to go up because I didn’t know what else to do. It’s scary how fast his numbers drop when they start going down.

He is exhausted and so am I. It appears he is doing this every third cycle with high numbers in between. Bounces, I presume but we need to settle this down.

Nap time for both of us…..
 
Last edited:
Hi Deb!
I would not give syrup if he's not around 50 or below, just low card or maybe medium carb food to keep him flat.
Did he go lower than what is on your SS?
I hope you will have time for a nap today :bighug:
 
Hi Deb!
I would not give syrup if he's not around 50 or below, just low card or maybe medium carb food to keep him flat.
Did he go lower than what is on your SS?
I hope you will have time for a nap today :bighug:
Hi Cecile
LC and MC are not even slowing the drops lately. I gave HC and still dropping. He also refused to eat any more food after that.
Since we’re doing slgs I wanted to keep above 90. I’m tired of dropping down this ladder of reductions only to take weeks to climb back up to the same dose.
My age and my health can’t keep doing this, it’s taking its toll. I can barely walk because of pain in my foot and my shoulder is in constant pain. I have to get him at a level we can just maintain. If I get any worse, I won’t be able to care for him. At this point I am just aiming to keep him in the 100-200 range consistently.
I appreciate your feedback, if I were younger and able I might allow him to just drop but I’m not and I need to get to a place we can just maintain a safer range.
And thanks I did get about an hour nap in.
Have a great day!
 
I completely understand, it is exhausting! I am sorry if I sounded critical, that was absolutely not my intention.
I hope you can get some rest soon :bighug:
Oh Cecile I didn’t take it as critical! No apology necessary. I appreciate the input!
I guess I just feel the need to explain my actions when they seem I’m doing the wrong thing. I am learning that Tiger is not the normal kitty and seems reacts totally different than others. Doing everything by the book isn’t working with him!
 
((((((@Deb and Tiger))))))) You are doing a great job managing. I know how hard it is to keep the late nights, it is scary and exhausting!:eek: I get it totally! But I beg you, look at Tiger's SS from just a month ago. It looks so much better and that is all you and your DH! And yes, every cat is different, ECID! Somehow, a pattern is working out and those blues will become more and more normal, they start to stabilize. Give yourself a break and pat on the back, you are doing great! How is Tiger's tummy doing? I note you made Cerenia a part of the routine. I did the same and it worked well. Have a great evening! Tiger, behave young man LOL:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

We are about 3/4 done on the remodel. It has turned out to be the whole upstairs basically, since my DH seems to keep adding more things for the contractor to do :rolleyes: I need the downstairs updated as well but no way I will try it this year. I cannot take any more of this noise, dust and disruption and neither can my poor 2 kitties K.C. and Buster. :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Thanks Ruth, so good to hear from you. And thanks for the encouragement! I know you’ll be glad when the work is done. Hope it goes smoothly from here on out.

yep he’s been getting cerenia for a while now. It really helps the tummy.

Have a wonderful night!
 
Back
Top