5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232, +3 412, +5 320, +8 266, PMPS 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jezebel

Active Member
I picked up Jez this am after boarding her at the vet's for the weekend. Here are the readings and what happened..
At the vets
5/14 PMPS 474
1 u lantus
5/15
1u lantus am
1u lantus pm
5/16
1u lantus am
Decreased appetite - she wouldn't eat so no pm lantus
AMPS 232
no insulin
I picked her up at 9 am. Took a reading after the car ride home.... +3 412
Just popped in and took another reading - +5 320

Any thoughts?

Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232

Ummm..... Why? They didn't test most of the time. What are they basing that suggestion on?

As a generalization, lots of vets are comfortable having cats in the 200 - 250 range. We aim for remission or tight regulation. Based on some of the numbers at the vet's office (400s), I wouldn't reduce the dose. The data that you collected before your weekend away had mid-cycle numbers in the 200s and Jezebel did not earn a reduction.

It's your call but I would keep the 1.0u dose.
 
Re: 5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232

I will continue with the 1 unit. I'll wait and get her back on her cycle. Give her the shot tonight at 6...
Thanks,
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232, +3 412, +5 320, +8 266

Numbers are falling, even without insulin. Will check just before she eats in 3 hours and post.
Thanks all,
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232, +3 412, +5 320, +8 266

No doubt there was some stress from being boarded and from the car trip. It's good to see her numbers coming down in response to some TLC from her bean.
 
Re: 5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232, +3 412, +5 320, +8 266

When you are giving Lantus or Lev, you have to remember about the shed. There is that reserve inside Jez so if you miss a shot, you may think hey look at that it's not so bad, but all that's happened is that Jez is running on that shed, that spare tank of gas.

Best to stick to the 1u because you want to try and have Jez on NO insulin if possible, right? So, you want to get down to the lower numbers.

It all looks normal in response to me. Nobody likes being at the dr's office or in a hospital or any strange place, so now that Jez is back with you, of course those stress numbers are going to show through; Jez is happier now! And as for the not eating, I would say the same thing. Poor Jez may have been sad and missed you, so no appetite.

Stick with the 1u BID and get to some really nice numbers under 200.
 
Re: 5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232, +3 412, +5 320, +8 266

My goal is to get her to not be insulin dependent.
So 1 unit it is. I'll start her again this evening and get her back on the schedule.
Debie & Jez
 
Re: 5/17, Jezebel AMPS 232, +3 412, +5 320, +8 266

Now that's the spirit! Let's head towards getting Jez settled, regulated, and maybe having insulin a distant memory!
 
Okay.....AMPS 232 after missing 2 doses.

Tonight PMPS 297
1u Lantus
+1 285

She did not like her food selection tonight so added some "tuna juice" to it and she ate more. Even as big as she is, she's never been a big eater.
I have to stay at my sister's tonight with the pups...another break in.
So I'll run home at +3 and check her again...

Debie & Jez
 
Tonight PMPS 297
1u Lantus
+1 285

Okay - +3 243

I won't be able to check her again until the morning....wish Jez your best..
Debie & Jez
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top