5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77, +13 62, +13.5 51, +14 57

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199

Good morning guys .. yes, a blue is a blue in our books! Glad to hear all P's are accounted for today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, PMBG 77 - DOSE ADVISE PLEASE

AMPS 199
+10 - 141
+11 - 122
+12 - 77

I've been shooting 2.75u. I'm not home all day to know if he should earn a decrease tonight.
And I'm not real comfortable shooting a 77 with 2.75u.

Advise pretty please!

I'll be home all night and I haven't fed or shot yet although it's time
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, PMBG 77 - DOSE ADVISE PLEASE

+12 and 20 minutes he's at 64 (and he did eat the leftovers from this morning ~ 3T)
Yikes, is this a major breakthrough or what :o

ETA: yes, I have HC and supplies
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, PMBG 77 - DOSE ADVISE PLEASE

.


you'll want to keep in mind your morning schedule, if u can afford to stall and make up the time for AMPS..
just my opinion, and anyone else can chime in, please do!....
i think you may want to stall some more thou (no food yet)
wait for a rising number...

adding a section from the Dealing with Low Preshots sticky:

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.....
** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes).

You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

Carolyn --

Can you afford to be off schedule in the AM? And if so, by how much?
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

Jesse is surfing. You can shoot but given that you've never shot this low, I'd either suggest waiting until numbers start heading up, which could be beyond your window for the AM schedule, or shooting a reduced dose. Do you have a feel for what would be a comfortable dose?
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

Ack, I wasn't prepared for this. I thought he was going to take more time getting to green. Oh man, I really don't want to lose this but I just don't know what dose I'd be comfortable with.
+13 is 62

(my dang spreadsheet keeps losing the numbers)
 
bump

I'm hoping for some options for you, this is a bit too low for me....giving you a bump

in the meantime, how is Jesse doing? getting that hungry look yet?
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

You can either drop the dose (1.757? 1.5u?) or skip the shot. A lot will depend on whether you can stay up to test.
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

He's at 51 now.
I'd be okay shooting 1.5, but I shouldn't shoot a dropping number, right??
Do I still wait until he starts coming up to shoot? I'm already at +13.5.
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

If the numbers are dropping I'd wait. However, won't this put you out of sync for tomorrow's AMPS?
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

Yes, this will put me 2+ hours off for the AM. And come AM, if he's still green I'll probably have the same issues that I'm having right now.
I really hate to skip this shot, but I'm thinking I may have to. If it's much longer until his numbers start rising, I'll never get back on the shot schedule...
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199, +12 77,+20 min 64 - DOSE ADVISE PLE

hmmm, almost at the 2 hour mark, and not moving very fast is he?
if this were me, I would skip, I know it sucks to lose momentum, this is too low for me, as I said earlier, but you need to be comfortable with your choice.
As Sienne said, ability to test, maybe late into the night, and/or how long you can afford to stall til you get a higher rising number than one digit at a time - geesh Jesse! :lol:
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199,+12 77,+13 62,+13.5 51 - ADVISE PLEA

on the bright side, this is all very good that he is in the green like this, and I am sure he can do it again.
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199,+12 77,+13 62,+13.5 51 - ADVISE PLEA

I don't know that you have the data to shoot this low this time 'round. I don't think you shot in the 50s the first time!

Why not skip tonight? Feed your poor starving kitty and stay on schedule.
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199,+12 77,+13 62,+13.5 51 - ADVISE PLEA

Okay, I've decided to skip the shot this PM.
As I know not many are on the board really early, what should I do in the morning?
I know for sure he gets a dosecrease, but what if for some strange reason he's still green??? Argh!
 
Re: 5/17 Jesse AMPS 199,+12 77,+13 62,+13.5 51 - ADVISE PLEA

might help to try to get a +11 or +11.5, just before AMPS is due, may give you a good idea of where he may be at in advance.
 
oh I forgot to add, before I log out for the nite, not sure when your bedtime is, but try to get a check in around there too.

you did good Carolyn! I hope the morning goes smoothly for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top