5/17/24 Mazi AMPS 148A/87L +3 103L +4 105A/115L +5 100A/85L PMPS 71A/73L +6 95A/82L

Mazi's Mom

Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6l-8-93l-pmps-87a-82l-4-92a-97l-6-69l.290073/

Some of the variances between the Alphatrack and Libre BG readings are throwing me off and getting annoying. Mazi was using the Libre per request of the vet because he wanted to do a glucose curve.

It doesn't happen all the time, it spends most time reasonably close to the Alpha. However when the variances happen, its usually a 30 to 50 point difference. The differences, even happen when Mazi is in the normal range in the Alphatrak. For example, its not, like im getting 200 on the alpha and 300 on the Libre, which is when I was warned there might be a big variation in the high BG values.

Anyways, This could result in a missed reduction and possible hypoglycemic event. Or could result in a falsel low and me intervening with higher carb foods. That bothers me.

Mazi's Libre should expire on Monday afternoon. I had hoped to switch over to the Relion Premier meter next week and use the Alphatrak as a back up or something to test the Relion against if I got a weird reading from the Relion. But now I'm not sure if I would like to.

I know human meters can be trusted because many of the members use them safely, but now im wondering if its just the Libre. I also wonder if I just got so used to the Alphatrak because thats the only meter I've used since Mazi's diagnosis and have like the numbers the Alpha was giving me and now I'm worried about the results that the Relion will give me.

To be clear, I want to switch to the Relion, but now I worry that it will just confuse and frustrate me and possibly impact Mazis progress. Over the past 30 days using the Alpha, Mazi has gone from a 0.5U dose all the way down to 0.1U. I'd hate to take 3 steps back.

At the very least, by using the Libre and Alphatrak together these past almost two weeks, I learned how important it is to use 1 meter and stick with it. Using multiple meters everyday can cause confusion and chaos.

Not to mention, I have never once recieved a low blood sugar alarm since the Libre was placed. He has had approximately 6 low blood sugar events that lasted more than 20 mins since the Libre was placed 11 days ago. My setting are all correct, the vet tach helped me adjust my phone and I helped adjust the settings on my boyfriends phone. My boyfriend has been able to receive the alarms, but I haven't.

The alarms were one of the things that drew me to trying the Libre, but has never worked for me.
 
Last edited:
Mazi's Libre should expire on Monday afternoon. I had hoped to switch over to the Relion Premier meter next week and use the Alphatrak as a back up or something to test the Relion against if I got a weird reading from the Relion. But now I'm not sure if I would like to.
From what I read
You cannot compare a human meter to a pet meter.
It's not hard at all learning about the BG numbers when using a human
We can help you with it if you switch to the Relion human meter
@Mazi's Mom
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...6l-8-93l-pmps-87a-82l-4-92a-97l-6-69l.290073/

Some of the variances between the Alphatrack and Libre BG readings are throwing me off and getting annoying. Mazi was using the Libre per request of the vet because he wanted to do a glucose curve.

It doesn't happen all the time, it spends most time reasonably close to the Alpha. However when the variances happen, its usually a 30 to 50 point difference. The differences, even happen when Mazi is in the normal range in the Alphatrak. For example, its not, like im getting 200 on the alpha and 300 on the Libre, which is when I was warned there might be a big variation in the high BG values.

Anyways, This could result in a missed reduction and possible hypoglycemic event. Or could result in a falsel low and me intervening with higher carb foods. That bothers me.

Mazi's Libre should expire on Monday afternoon. I had hoped to switch over to the Relion Premier meter next week and use the Alphatrak as a back up or something to test the Relion against if I got a weird reading from the Relion. But now I'm not sure if I would like to.

I know human meters can be trusted because many of the members use them safely, but now im wondering if its just the Libre. I also wonder if I just got so used to the Alphatrak because thats the only meter I've used since Mazi's diagnosis and have like the numbers the Alpha was giving me and now I'm worried about the results that the Relion will give me.

To be clear, I want to switch to the Relion, but now I worry that it will just confuse and frustrate me and possibly impact Mazis progress. Over the past 30 days using the Alpha, Mazi has gone from a 0.5U dose all the way down to 0.1U. I'd hate to take 3 steps back.

At the very least, by using the Libre and Alphatrak together these past almost two weeks, I learned how important it is to use 1 meter and stick with it. Using multiple meters everyday can cause confusion and chaos.

Not to mention, I have never once recieved a low blood sugar alarm since the Libre was placed. He has had approximately 6 low blood sugar events that lasted more than 20 mins since the Libre was placed 11 days ago. My setting are all correct, the vet tach helped me adjust my phone and I helped adjust the settings on my boyfriends phone. My boyfriend has been able to receive the alarms, but I haven't.

The alarms were one of the things that drew me to trying the Libre, but has never worked for me.
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
Hey @Diane Tyler's Mom, I actually deleted my novel and started its own thread for my questions.

I understand that one is a pet meter and one is a human meter, both can be used safely and with success.

My frustration comes from the rule, the higher the number on the pet meter the higher the number and wider the variation on on the human. That has not been happening, but only on a few occasions.

I'll give credit where credit is due, most of the time the variation in numbers when comparing my Alpha to the Libre has been great. The differences has only been off a few points and that is expected when in low numbers.

However, like days like this AM when I get 80s on the Libre and 140's on the alpha it throws me off. The reason is throws me off is because ,148, in my mind, isn't a large number, so I wouldn't expect to see a wide variation in numbers between the two meters. To me a large number is in the 200s and that when I personally think you would see the higher and wider variation in numbers.

I'm just trying to understand bc I know there are people who use the Libre on here successfully and would like to know why things like I have been experiencing would happen.

I'm still new, with very little experience, and want to learn more.
 
I think the problem begins bc I'm currently using two meters bc the vet wanted to do a glucose curve. Use one meter and stick to it is prolly best.
Teri, on your signature you only listed the Alpha Trak meter , but you also have the Libre on Mazi, can you add the Libre to your signature also
Alpha Trak & Libre it's important
@Mazi's Mom
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom

The Libre was just being used for 2 weeks for Mazis glucose curve test that was requested by his vet. It will be taken off Tuesday morning.

I dont think I have any intention of repurchasing the Libre to monitor Mazis blood sugars after Monday night, unless the vet wants to run another glucose curve in the future. Which even then, I may just try to convince the vet to let me do Mazi's curve with my alpha track. The Libre wasn't anymore helpful than the alphatrak. Instead, it just confused the hell out of me at times.

Im just going to stick with the Alphatrak for now and transition to the Relion Premier in the future, in which then I would add the Relion to my signature and SS.

Do you still want me to add the Libre in the signature still?
 
Maybe because they are relatively new, but I hate looking at a Libre spreadsheet. It doesn't give "real" numbers when compared to either human or pet meters. There can be large differences compared to either type of meter. Libre is good for trends, but seldom gives actionable data. The worst part is when I see low numbers on the Libre and someone doesn't get a test from a BG meter and takes a reduction. Most of the time the reduction fails.

The Libre does have their place. When someone goes on holiday and petsitter can't or won't test, new member is still learning to ear test, or a fractious cat that won't allow testing. Though we've seen a few fractious cats learn to tolerate ear testing too, and there's even a video on how to do it.
 
@Wendy&Neko

Speaking of testing low on the Libre but not checking it against a BG monitor, Mazi dropped into the 60's last night about an hour or 2 after I fell asleep. Hypo was roughly PM+6 last night. And according to Libre that was roughly 2 to 3 am.

Unfortunately I wasn't awake to compare it against the alphatrak.

Can we trust that Mazi went low on the Libre?

I'm assuming not.

Even if it was a true hypo, Mazi wouldn't earn a reduction because it hasn't been a full 4 cycles since we reduced his dose from 0.25 to 0.1. He will be 4 cycles into his .1U dose tomorrow night.

So any hypos starting Sunday morning, count towards a reduction, correct?

Screenshot from Libre from last night/early this AM

https://linksharing.samsungcloud.com/fg0ewNdKAOjk



Here's a screen shot with the actual date on the top

https://linksharing.samsungcloud.com/5golNq1WHF3R
 
Last edited:
We don't call something "hypo" unless there were signs of hypo. Typically call it low numbers. We have no clue whether 70 on the Libre was lower on a BG meter. 70 on a human meter is just fine, on the edge with the pet meter.

Screen shots are too tiny for me.
 
@Wendy&Neko Sorry I have to figure out another way to upload photos on here. What is this pages pet meter ranges, just curious?

The vet uses 80 to 120 mg/dl.

Based on the spreadsheet it looks like you consider low on a pet meter < than 68, but what is your cut off high number for the BG to be considered within normal limits?

68 to ?

And I believe your human meter range is 50 to 120. Is that correct.

I want to write these ranges in my spreadsheet.
 
Your AT manual should be able to tell you what normal range is on that meter.

Most non diabetic cats will test in the 50-80 range, within variance of the meter.
 
Unfortunately the manual just tells me the meter can read BGs from as low as 20 to as high as 750 mg/dl.

However, when I Googled it I found a post from Bron and Sheba that said the range for the pet meter is 68 to 150 mg/dl.

Thank you and have a wonderful weekend!
 
Back
Top