5/16 Zener PMPS 234;~1 247;~2.5 207;~3.5 207;+5.5 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Liz is at a workshop all day the rest of the week. So, I am getting the condo started.

Yesterday's Condo

As is often the case with our big guy, things can change all of a sudden. Yesterday was a good day and this morning he would not eat and acted like he was in pain once again. Liz tried all our tricks and finally gave a tiny amount of cypro appy stimulant to get him eating since he had insulin on board. He has eaten enough now that all should be good for this cycle anyway. I called our vet and she is not in today, so we have an appointment tomorrow afternoon. Another vet is available today but we've seen her before and were not impressed. We will pick up more cerenia this afternoon and get that started again, it usually helps. We have not had blood work or urinalysis done in several months, so want to get that checked to see if anything else is going on. We'll probably also ask for a pancreatitis test too just to be sure. We're not sure what else the vet may want to do. It's been a while since any x-rays and the abdominal CT scan was back in January and negative. He just let me give him a nice long tummy massage and he seems to be resting more comfortably. Yard patrol was successful despite feeling punk.

Today
5/16/12 Zener
AMPS 240, 6th cycle @f1.25u, 2/3PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle congaplex, 0.2oz 10%, 0.25oz 11%
+0.5 0.2oz 11%, not eating well, 1/4PP & sliver cypro
+1 306, 1 bite 10%, not wanting to eat
+1.5 293, 0.95oz 11%
+3 247, 0.6oz 11%, 7 drops kidney liq

We are sending healing vines to Rocket and all our kitties and beans in need.
 
Re: 5/16 Zener AMPS 240;+1 306;+1.5 293;+3 247;+4 259

Hi guys .. wish zener felt better for you .. I hope the vetty visit goes well and zener is back to 100% soon!
 
Re: 5/16 Zener AMPS 240;+1 306;+1.5 293;+3 247;+4 259

Hope Th sweet Zener Boy feels better tonite--It is so upsetting when they dont eat! So frustrating!
Hope vet can help with his appy--Moonie gets that way sometimes too--Maybe Zener is craving some real chicken? Moonie sometimes eats after I give her people food, & then eats so cat food--
Hope he will get hungry real soon--Hugs & Love from us! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/16 Zener AMPS 240;+1 306;+1.5 293;+3 247;+4 259;+6 227

Nice and flat, but I hear you on the not eating. It is so worrying and frustrating. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 5/16 Zener AMPS 240;+1 306;+1.5 293;+3 247;+4 259;+6 227

Anne, so sorry to hear Zener isn't feeling good. I'm glad the appy stimulant worked and the tummy massage seemed pleasing to him, too. Sending our good thoughts and healing vines for sweet Zener. I'm glad you got a Vetty appt. for tomorrow. It looks like you have it covered with the tests and what to have the Vet check. Keep us posted. Give Zener some scritches from Mags and me.
 
Re: 5/16 Zener AMPS 240;+1 306;+1.5 293;+3 247;+4 259;+6 227

Oh poor Zener! He does have a sensitive tummy. Flat yellow in spite of it all. I hope your vet visit goes well and he is back to his zoomie self soon. Sorry I have been MIA. Crazy at work and home but I've been watching and checking on you all. Have a wonderful night Liz & Anne and healing vines for Z man's tummy.
 
Re: 5/16 Zener AMPS 240;+1 306;+1.5 293;+3 247;+6 227;+9.5 1

OH, so sorry to hear Zener isn't feeling well today. I hope his appetite improves, and good luck at the vet with all the test. I hope they all come back just perfect!
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234

Zener is feeling better tonight. Just as I was about to leave on errands, one was to pick up Zener's meds at the vet, the vet office called and the cerenia tablets had come in, so they were not giving us the cerenia shots. We were very happy to be able to try those and not have to give the injections, those needles are huge! I gave him his first 1mg piece of a tablet and within an hour, he was stretching, purring and asking for food. We were able to get him to eat enough on his own tonight to give his insulin without having to use appy stimulant. :-D

Tomorrow we take him to our favorite vet for a check, bloodwork and whatever else she thinks would be good to repeat. Then, we go back to the vet on Friday to take civvie Tillie for her dental. We are there so often, we wonder when they will put our name on one of the parking spaces. :roll:

Today
5/16/12 Zener
AMPS 240, 6th cycle @f1.25u, 2/3PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle congaplex, 0.2oz 10%, 0.25oz 11%
+0.5 0.2oz 11%, not eating well, 1/4PP & sliver cypro
+1 306, 1 bite 10%, not wanting to eat
+1.5 293, 0.95oz 11%
+3 247, 0.6oz 11%, 7 drops kidney liq
~4 254, 1.0oz 5%
+4.5, 0.35oz 5%
+6 227, 0.5oz 5%
+9.5 177, 1PP & 1mg Cerenia (1/4 tablet) #1
PMPS 234, 7th cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/32t miralax, 1.15oz 11%

@Devon - thanks for the good wishes for our big guy!

@Roni - you are so right, very frustrating when they won't eat, that's worse than high BG numbers! We started him on cerenia pills this afternoon and he is eating better tonight.

@Ann & Tess - he had a nice cycle despite feeling punk, with a dip to blues then a rise back at PMPS almost the same as his AMPS - a kind of "normal" lantus cycle, that almost never happens. :lol: So right about the worrying on the fuds. nailbite_smile

@Ann & Maggie - we will have a full vet report tomorrow evening. Scritches delivered as requested!

@Melissa & Mr T - we don't really know why he has so much trouble with his tummy. Whatever it is, the anti-inflammatory and pain relieving effects of the cerenia sure seem to help him. We understand completely about life getting crazy!

@Barb - thank you for the good luck tomorrow, we'll take all we can get!

Zener had a yellow cycle today, so we are a bit worried we'll see big action tonight with poor appy. So far, he is eating better at PMPS so paws crossed we can handle whatever surprise the mighty Z has for us tonight. ;-)
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234

Aw, I'm so glad to hear the cerenia helped Zener feel better tonight! Good luck with tomorrow's vetty visit. We spent WAY too much time at the vet last year...Septmember was the only month we weren't hauling someone off for one reason or another. I'm holding my breath this year...so far, it's working!

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234

@Amy - holding your breath for months could be harmful for your health! ;-) Zener tells us "pet more, worry less." We are trying to follow his instructions. Thanks for stopping by, we need all the support we can get!
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234

Hi guys,
We are glad that the cerenia is helping Z to feel better and to eat his fuds. Is it hot right now where you live? Maybe he's reacting to the heat. Anyway, it is good to get your boy checked out. And Tillie has to have a dental, so it will be good to get both vet appts. over with this week. We are sending good vetty vines and hoping for good lab results.

Have a fine evening. Scritches to Zener and Tillie,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234

@Ella - thanks for the Vet visit support! We don't have the heat in Flagstaff like the desert parts of Arizona, we are at 7000 feet, but we do get snow in winter which surprises lots of people that it snows in AZ.
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234

I used to think I deserved my own wing at my vet's clinic, with three really sick kitties in there all the time. Now I have one healthy cat, and we're not there much anymore. Weird. Even weirder - I miss the old days.

Do you give Zener cyanocobalamin (B12) injections? You are on top of everything, so I think you must. I see that you give methylcobalamin for neuropathy. The cyanocobalamin shots might help with pancreatitis/IBD symptoms, and can be given at the same time as the methyl B.
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234;~1 247

Whew...he's eating nicely at +1. :-D

Today
5/16/12 Zener
AMPS 240, 6th cycle @f1.25u, 2/3PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle congaplex, 0.2oz 10%, 0.25oz 11%
+0.5 0.2oz 11%, not eating well, 1/4PP & sliver cypro
+1 306, 1 bite 10%, not wanting to eat
+1.5 293, 0.95oz 11%
+3 247, 0.6oz 11%, 7 drops kidney liq
~4 254, 1.0oz 5%
+4.5, 0.35oz 5%
+6 227, 0.5oz 5%
+9.5 177, 1PP & 1mg Cerenia (1/4 tablet) #1
PMPS 234, 7th cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/32t miralax, 1.15oz 11%
~1 247, 1.15oz 11%

Zener is currently on backyard patrol. Detective Poo and Chief Inspector Crapdash at the ready, binoculars in hand. :lol:
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234

Linda and Bear Man said:
I used to think I deserved my own wing at my vet's clinic, with three really sick kitties in there all the time. Now I have one healthy cat, and we're not there much anymore. Weird. Even weirder - I miss the old days.
We know what you mean. When we moved here 15 years ago, we came with three older cats and we spent a lot of time at the vet offices. We had forgotten what that was like. Fortunately we have a much better vet than when we moved here. :-D

Linda and Bear Man said:
Do you give Zener cyanocobalamin (B12) injections? You are on top of everything, so I think you must. I see that you give methylcobalamin for neuropathy. The cyanocobalamin shots might help with pancreatitis/IBD symptoms, and can be given at the same time as the methyl B.

No Linda, we have not tried the cyanocobalamin injections, we didn't know about that. We give the methyl B by pill and it has helped his peripheral neuropathy a lot. Is the B12 also available in pill format, and if so, does it work well in that form?

Paws crossed, the big guy has not tested positive for pancreatitis in the past and we've had him tested at least three times when his symptoms were similar to what they are now. Still, it can't hurt to be sure. We do not have a confirmed diagnosis of IBD though our vet suspects he may have a mild form of it.

We're going to the vet tomorrow so will ask about the B12 cyanocobalamin. Thank you for this info!
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234;~1 247

HI all - YAY! I am glad to read that Zener is feeling better. nice too on the tablets - large needles are just not my thing.... :shock: Good luck with the vetty visit tomorrow. I hope that goes well.

Sure is a nice flat cycle(s) today. wow, and watch out,as they say.... Zener? What do you have planned for tonight?
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234;~1 247

I would ask about cyanocobalamin injections. The vet may sell you a bottle. It is not expensive. It is said to work with IBD and pancreatitis. You would likely give it once weekly.

Methylcobalamin pills work for neuropathy, and cyanocobalamin shots work for GI issues. Excess b12 is excreted from the body.
 
Re: 5/16 Zener PMPS 234;~1 247;~2.5 207

And he is still eating! He was distracted a little while ago at test time by some strange noises in the backyard and his tail was puffed up really big - very impressive! He was much too busy on high alert to eat. Once all was calm, he ate a mini meal shortly after his test.

PMPS 234, 7th cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/32t miralax, 1.15oz 11%
~1 247, 1.15oz 11%
~2.5 207, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.85oz 11%

@Michelle & Mannie - not sure what Zener has planned for us tonight, but we see Mannie has plans for you! :mrgreen: Full vetty report tomorrow night.

@Linda - I've added asking about the cyanocobalamin injections to our list of questions for the vet tomorrow. How nice to have something that isn't expensive! Is this also a sub-Q injection and what size needle do you use?

Still yellow but on the way down. When his +2 is lower than his pre-shot we may see some action. :shock:
 
Guess I jinxed it by writing in his condo if his +2 was lower than pre-shot we might see some action. Oh well. He is feeling better and eating much better tonight, so that's great despite the flat yellows.

PMPS 234, 7th cycle @f1.25u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1/32t miralax, 1.15oz 11%
~1 247, 1.15oz 11%
~2.5 207, 1PP, 3mg Zobaline, 0.85oz 11%
~3.5 207, 0.15oz 11%
+3.5 NEG KETONES
+4 0.4oz 11%
+5.5 241, 1.1oz 5%

Looks like the action is heading in the up direction, so bedtime for bean. Ni Ni LL. I-)
 
The B12 injection is subQ. I have always used a tuberculin syringe, but I think that you could use an insulin syringe. Without checking my records, it is my recollection that I gave .25 ml for my cats' weights and the concentration of my B12, which would be 25 units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top