5/16 Tessa AMPS 243 +2 235 +4 203 +6 197 +8 199 +10 193 PMPS 206 +2 189 +3.5 172

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Last thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-263-out-of-remission-starting-dosage.290034/

Morning all! I'm sad that Tessa is back on insulin but I'm happy that I have this community to fall back to. I'll try not to be so needy this time around haha.

A little history for those unfamiliar: Tessa went into remission after about 4 months of following TR. She was in remission for a little over a year. On one of her monthly checks, I noticed her BG had risen to the low blues which was abnormal for her. I got her scheduled for a dental a couple days later. She needed 5 teeth removed but our normal vet couldn't do it because they had just squeezed her in for the cleaning and exam and didn't have any long surgery slots open anytime soon. They referred us to a vet about 45 minutes away and they got us in 5 days later. That was a little over 2 weeks ago. We held onto hope that the high numbers were just from stress, pain, and/or inflammation but they continued to rise so here we are.
 
I'm not sure if she's feeding off of my stress or what but Tessa keeps hiding from me or going to places where it's hard to reach her. I coaxed her out from under the bed and then shut off my bedroom so she can't get under there again. Then she went to the top of our tallest cat tree. The platform is above my head and I couldn't just test her from there so I had to drag her off of it (and this girl is STRONG) to get her +2. She got her favorite treat afterwards though so hopefully she'll be more willing to be tested going forward. I might just block off the top platform because I could easily test her from the next one down.
 
I'm not sure if she's feeding off of my stress or what but Tessa keeps hiding from me or going to places where it's hard to reach her. I coaxed her out from under the bed and then shut off my bedroom so she can't get under there again. Then she went to the top of our tallest cat tree. The platform is above my head and I couldn't just test her from there so I had to drag her off of it (and this girl is STRONG) to get her +2. She got her favorite treat afterwards though so hopefully she'll be more willing to be tested going forward. I might just block off the top platform because I could easily test her from the next one down.
My Kit had to go back on insulin in March '23 after almost 3 years, and I had that same swing between optimism and dread. I still have it sometimes, although now that we're more than a year into the second go round, I've tried to be more realistic. Kit also was NOT into the testing again at the beginning, but she's settled back into the routine and is being such a good little girl about it. I hope Tessa also settles back in quickly, and those treats really do seem to help. So just lots of second go round solidarity. :bighug:
 
Back
Top