5/16 Sya PMPS 261 Insulin question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,
So here we are about 2 months into this and not sure where we are. Numbers wise we're all over the place. I think that things are stabilizing diet wise, and I think with the end of the loose sometimes bloody stool, life has calmed down a bit. Sya certainly seems to be feeling fine. I have struggled a lot with data collection....frustrated with the numbers, heartbroken with my civie who was diagnosed with incurable cancer the week after Sya got diagnosed with diabetes. Maintaining my civie on steroids so that she can enjoy the time she has left with me (she is stable at this point, so we enjoy that). To add to all that my father is struggling with his cancer as well...anyway...I'll get to my question.
Right now Sya is getting insulin from the same 10ml vial I got back in March. I asked the vet about the cartridges and he was very skeptical...he said the manufacturer assures them the vial is good for 6 months...which goes against everything I've read here. I'm due to send the vet a curve next week to discuss dosages. I'm personally not inclined to adjust Sya's dose much at this point as I think she struggled with some GI issues the past few weeks and those seem to have started to calm down and while the yellow numbers aren't the best, they are lower yellow and we've gotten out of the pinks. What I'm wondering is would it be a good idea to push the vet to write me a new script for insulin first and see how she responds to fresher insulin on her current dose before I consider a change?
I know I need more data...I just would value any advice you can offer. Sya is totally off wet for several weeks now and after brief attempt to improve loose stools with squash (that I think made numbers and tummy worse) is eating just Wellness canned with lots of water mixed in.
 
Let me suggest a tie breaker between your vet and the Board. Call your pharmacy. Ask them how long the shelf life of Lantus is regardless of whether it's in a vial or cartridge/pen. In fact, if you're anywhere near a vet school, call the veterinary pharmacy. (I've done this. The manufacturer's recommendation is 28 days.) Regardless, if you tell the vet you want a prescription so that you have it on hand and that you prefer the pens because if one falls on the floor and cracks, you have a back-up with the other pens and you don't lose everything.
 
Yeah, I mentioned the manufacturers recommendation and he said it only applies to human dosing...which I think is insane as I believe the recommendations are based on molecular stability...the molecule doesn't know if its going into a person or a cat.....
 
Well, I have to say I agree with your logic -- especially since Lantus doesn't have an indication for feline use the manufacturer won't have a recommendation for cats! I do think this is a common issue with vets. That said, there are people on the German forum who get months of use out of Lantus -- definitely longer than 28 days. In fact, the following quote is from the Tight Regulation Protocol:

• members of the German Diabetes-Katzen Forum buy 3 ml Lantus/Levemir cartridges, refrigerate them after opening and routinely use them for 6 months or more - when refrigerated, opened cartridges of these insulins are extraordinarily stable

I guess it's possible. I don't think anyone here has gotten 6 mos. and it's not what the manufacturer recommends. However, it shouldn't prevent the vet from giving you a prescription. Frankly, what does your vet care if you choose to fill a prescription now or 2 month from now?
 
I'm here quite a while & never had a vial, cartridge or pen last for 3 months after opening.
I understand that you have many problems in your life right now, but if you could possibly get a mini curve, which would be
amps, +3,+6, pmps, +3, and before bed test, it would tell you much more...Even one on the weekend would be good...
Never heard of a vet who wouldnt give a script for a new insulin..Is he paying?? What is his problem that he wont give a patient their INSULIN????
Vials do not last 3 months after opening, but can last unopened in the frig for a long while.
I bought lantus solo star pens quite a while ago & am just about to start a new one soon, as the other is almost gone--I love the pens.so easy to use.
Having more data will also help you in all this--Hope all ailing ones near to you feel better..
Squash & pumpkin have lots of fiber in them & carbs--I give me civvie pumpkin for constipation, but never Moonie..
Hope things improve for you!!--You are doing the best you can!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top