5/16 Pixie - 1.25u, PMPS=106, +2=50, +2.25=59

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good morning :-D We made it through the cycle last night without any serious problem. The only hard thing was having low numbers, i.e. 65, and having to check every half hour to make sure Pixie didn't drop too much and he didn't. He was pretty consistent from +4 through to +6 at 65 and then started to go up at +7 with a 70. I apologize for not posting the numbers either on my spreadsheet or in my condo but I was pretty exhausted waking up so many times through the night and testing. Please be assured that I would not have let Pixie go unattended with such low numbers. Until I get a better sense for the numbers, I feel more at ease testing every half hour or hour.

Pixie is doing well this morning, still hanging on the water bowl but eating - 1.5 oz LC food. This time I didn't mix in any MC food as I am better rested and able to react more quickly if his numbers drop too quickly. I tested at +0.5 and he was the same, 108 and I didn't feed him any more. Pixie will get his subq fluids later this morning as they definitely may be lowering the BG and I don't want that so early in the cycle.

Thank-you for sending me Davidson's chart which I am currently studying between BG tests. Wow what a chart and it does look a lot like Pixie's. I hope I have enough time this morning to look at the finer details of the chart to see if it all makes sense for me.



viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118777&p=1243266#p1243266
 
Re: 5/16 Pixie - 1.25u, AccuChek #s AMPS=108, +2=72, +2.5=61

I'm letting Pixie earn his reduction this morning if in fact he needs one. He's dropped another 11 points in half an hour and if he drops another 12 points that would put below 50. Here's the point where experience and knowing thy cat comes into play - do I test at 15 or at 30? Based on the fact that Pixie's decline is showing signs of slowing down, I would say 30 minutes however because I'm relatively new at this, I will take the safer route and test in 15 minutes. Be back soon with numbers. I'm not sure if I should or shouldn't be wishing for a reduction?
 
Re: 5/16 Pixie - 1.25u, PMPS=106

Well Pixie didn't earn a reduction and his PMPS=106 is very similar to his AMPS=108. It seems like we have the right dose and hopefully, Pixie will start to feel like his old self. Although I don't have a proper scale to weigh Pixie, looking at him, I can tell he's losing weight and looking gaunt. He is eating more lately and if that continues then he'll hopefully gain back the little he's lost. I've had a bit of chance to look at some of the other condos and I'm looking forward to getting to know some of the people and pets behind the names I see posted every cycle. Paws crossed that everyone has a good and uneventful evening.

My prayers continue for Mara and Mitzi who isn't doing very well. I understand the pain and difficulty with letting go and to be honest, when your pet's pain is so great (and only you can measure this) than you know in your heart you don't want them to suffer any more. It doesn't mean it's not one of the more difficult things one faces in a lifetime but no one can take away the memories that you will cherish forever. I have had some beautiful pets who still to this day, bring smiles to my face when I think back on our time together. The great times together, the unconditional love, the devotion a pet brings to its caregiver is all worth the pain we know we must one day face when we part ways. Just a few thoughts as I know I will be facing this many times in the next few years. Four of my six pets are over 14 years of age. My son was very sad when he left for Australia because he knew it was probably the last time he would see them before they go. I have to stop because I'm getting too emotional and choking up thinking about this eventuality. Mara and Mitzi,you're in my thoughts and prayers as I'm hoping for some resolution to your situation and that doesn't necessarily mean death. My hopes are that Mitzi shows signs of improvement but I assure you that you will know when it's time. You're going through the process now that we all go through when we are trying to decide what is best for our pet. Let the spirit guide you in making your decisions and when all else fails, I always fall back on "Thy will be done"! He never gives us more than we can handle even if, at times, it seems like it. God bless everyone on this board for their devotion to their pets and to one another. I'm awestruck by the compassion and kindness shown by everyone. I've had a theory that people who are kind to pets are "good" people. Maybe a bit simplistic but nonetheless, the people at FDMB are proving this to be true.

Pixie needs me, the first two hours are always important to see how fast he drops. Back soon!
 
Re: 5/16 Pixie - 1.25u, PMPS=106

Good evening Anne. Pixie's SS is looking fabulous now! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good job on the testing. As you get more experience with Pixie's flat cycles you'll learn when you can dial back the testing a bit or when to test next. And you'll also see what influence a mini meal of low carb will do. You might want to track on your SS or in the remarks when you gave food and/or when you give fluids so you can spot how it influences this numbers.

As he spends more time in these beautiful numbers, he'll gain some of his weight back as the insulin is now letting his body use those calories.

Paws crossed for another peaceful green night for you.
 
Re: 5/16 Pixie - 1.25u, PMPS=106, +1=77

Thanks Wendy for the suggestions and well wishes :smile:.

The last couple of days, I have kept a written record of how much he eats and at what points in the cycle. I also record any behaviour that I think might be worth noting. I will check out other spreadsheets to see how others are recording this information.
 
Re: 5/16 Pixie - 1.25u, PMPS=106, +2=50

Does 50 qualify for a reduction or does it have to be below 50. I've given Pixie 1 tsp of gravy and he's now eating some MC mixed with LC. He won't eat the HC yet.
 
You are really supposed to see below 50.... 49 is the magic number....
some wait for that, some don't .
I'm around most days with mine so I waited to get that 49.....

Pixie is looking really good.... nice green surf.....
bth_summer_33-1.gif
today...




when you have a question, it helps to go add the question mark icon on the original post.....
Then they know ...
 
Hi Anne!

yes, the protocol says they need to go below 50 for a dose reduction. Pixie is looking great, though, so i imagine it won't be long before his dose is being reduced. I so understand you wanting to be extra vigilant until you know more about how he responds. When you have more confidence, more data so you know what he typically does, you'll be able to relax more.

you might want to update his spreadsheet on the top right where it says you're using the AT - i had to do a doublecheck when i saw that just now! i think you'll be happy with using the Accucheck.

There are about 6 new kitties right now - you might learn from reading others' condos (threads) when/if you have time - Zack, Tux, Billie, Polly and Trey are all beginning along with Pixie. Different people ask different questions, so something might be new to you in one of those threads.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top