5/16 Grey AMPS 78 (need out of town advice!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

JennRoss86

Member Since 2018
Hey Everyone! :coffee:

I've got 3 full days before I leave town for work on Saturday. So basically, he will have his drops today, Thursday, Friday and Saturday AM at 11. I will not be here for his 5/19 PM or 5/20 AM shoots.

Looking at his quick progress, and assuming he stays green these next 3 days, would it be safe to assume I could skip those two drop shoots? I have a neighbor who is a great friend that I have taught how to give insulin, but I am worried as we're in the SLSL phase (is that an acronym in here? Shoot low to stay low?) If he were on several units or something I wouldn't worry so much. But she won't be able or be around to spot check his BGs. A drop I've learned is a very precise measurement, and I was practicing and was easily drawing more than a drop. However, now I've got my technique down, and I don't want her to accidentally give Grey too much and then no one is around to check him.

I'm pretty sure I've answered my own question here, but you all make me feel so much better when you give me some advice. I'd also rather risk him going back up in the 100's and trusting myself to get him back down.

Thank you, always a million times thank you,
Jenn & Mister Grey :cat::bighug:

#missionremission
 
The rule in general is it is better an hour too high than a minute too low.

That said....things can change in 3 days...maybe wait till you get closer and see if he just goes into an OTJ trail even if a bit forced by your trip...

More experienced people may have other suggestions, I am sure they will be along shortly.
 
My 2 cents is to try to start an OTJ trial upon your departure on Saturday. Grey hasn't had ketones in the past, correct? How long will you be gone?

Do I understand that your neighbor is not able to test the BG at all? In that case, I wouldn't feel comfortable having her shoot blind.

Giving snacks at +9 can help lower the PS numbers.
 
The rule in general is it is better an hour too high than a minute too low.

That said....things can change in 3 days...maybe wait till you get closer and see if he just goes into an OTJ trail even if a bit forced by your trip...

More experienced people may have other suggestions, I am sure they will be along shortly.

I feel that it's going in that direction, even if forced by my trip. I will feel better either way not having someone blind dose him!
 
My 2 cents is to try to start an OTJ trial upon your departure on Saturday. Grey hasn't had ketones in the past, correct? How long will you be gone?

Do I understand that your neighbor is not able to test the BG at all? In that case, I wouldn't feel comfortable having her shoot blind.

Giving snacks at +9 can help lower the PS numbers.

He had ketones upon his diagnosis, but I believe there weren't any present during subsequent tests. I'm only going to be gone about 24 hours. Which is why I am missing his PM and next morning AM shots. However, if I leave early enough, I can be back in time for his AM. But you never know with traffic, etc. She was never shown how to test for BG, and I'm not sure I want to give her that much responsibility. I think we will be okay, if we can check the next 3 days numbers and then start the OTJ trial. I'm just trying to get advice early instead of hours before I leave, you know?

Thank you!!
 

Attachments

  • 32595104_10156372664379289_6887443262768939008_n.jpg
    32595104_10156372664379289_6887443262768939008_n.jpg
    48.2 KB · Views: 61
He had ketones upon his diagnosis, but I believe there weren't any present during subsequent tests. I'm only going to be gone about 24 hours. Which is why I am missing his PM and next morning AM shots. However, if I leave early enough, I can be back in time for his AM. But you never know with traffic, etc. She was never shown how to test for BG, and I'm not sure I want to give her that much responsibility. I think we will be okay, if we can check the next 3 days numbers and then start the OTJ trial. I'm just trying to get advice early instead of hours before I leave, you know?

Thank you!!
Sorry, off topic - such a handsome boy! :smuggrin:
 
Considering he hit 60 today on a drop I think he’s telling you something. I realize it could be the .1 dose talking but if he drops below 67 again start the trial. I certainly wouldn’t shoot if no one can monitor him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top