5/16 Darcy PMPS 437

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Darcy is starting to eat a little more each day on his own. So far today I have not syringe fed him at all... but maybe I should. As of today, he had gained a little weight (from 14.44 to 14.82 as I recall -- I'm tracking it on my SS now.) I hope it's not fluid as I weighed him this morning before giving fluids. Today, he did really well with food. He ate one 3.5 oz. can of the Hill's Renal Food and pretty much has demolished a second can of it at this time.

I sure hope that this increased eating is a good indication that his BUN will be down because a cat with a high BUN usually will not eat. He seems brighter and looks better overall, I think (even though he never really seemed to "look" like a sick cat.)

It's time to check ketones again. His numbers have been up so it is very scary for me to think that his ketones will go up -- that is why I have been fast tracking his increases @Wendy&Neko ... now you can tell me everything that I am doing incorrectly :-)
 
Well, I got a big, fat, red number tonight for PMPS. I realize I am increasing his dose quickly. I feel that I have no choice for the obvious reasons (the current state of his health, kidneys, dehydration, ketones). I am willing to hold this dose for one more day (making 6 cycles) and no more as long as I am using R to keep his numbers down. I will try to make sure to be home with him every day to give morning, mid-cycle and evening and maybe even p.m. mid-cycle R as well.
 
You are doing everything RIGHT! You're an amazing Mom to Mr. Darcy! Seriously. I'm always so impressed.

Good luck with tonight...I hope the R is helpful!!
 
Well, I got a big, fat, red number tonight for PMPS. I realize I am increasing his dose quickly. I feel that I have no choice for the obvious reasons (the current state of his health, kidneys, dehydration, ketones). I am willing to hold this dose for one more day (making 6 cycles) and no more as long as I am using R to keep his numbers down. I will try to make sure to be home with him every day to give morning, mid-cycle and evening and maybe even p.m. mid-cycle R as well.
You are AMAZING!!!:bighug::bighug: Darcy has been thru soo much and look he is still with us:cat: Thanks to GOD and you!!! Amethyst,myself and JoJo are doing Good Thank GOD! The thunderstorms today freaked them out and they affected Amethyst BG because of the stress:( WE are suppose to be getting more tonight and tomorrow:arghh::arghh: My poor sensitive little ones:cat::cat:
 
Good eating, Mr Darcy! Minnie doesn't like eating alone! It makes her feel greedy (hahaha she doesn't care a bit). Suzanne, you are doing wonderfully. I don't know how you have kept your sanity with all these unknowns. It really feels like a lottery with these BG readings, I feel your stress with the red and hope the R does its work today.
 
Good to hear you are seeing weight gain!
now you can tell me everything that I am doing incorrectly
You are seeing blues on a dose, you hold AT LEAST six cycles and increase by 0.25 units when you do increase, as long as his total dose is below 5 units. You've been holding 4 cycles and increased once by 1 unit. The L insulins are a game of patience not panic. You cannot shoot down high numbers with Levemir. A short period of time above renal threshold is safer than a prolonged hypo because you increased too fast by too much. Let the depot build and do it's work. Tonight is either a whopper of New Dose Wonkiness, or the high before the low.

PS: I know what it feels like to see high numbers in a CKD kitty. TR is already an aggressive dosing method, and should not be rushed in a cat who so recently saw greens on a lot lower dose.
 
You see what happens with he goes without the R (today no mid-cycle and the last few nights with no R I let him get way too high... because I was so tired that I did not give R).

I will hold this dose for 6 cycles. That's all I can promise at this point. If I only do .25 increases, then I will hold only for four cycles. If I do .50 increases, I will hold for six (maybe I can do this? I am not sure.) I do understand that Lev will not shoot down high numbers. It doesn't work like that. R can shoot down high numbers and that's what I have been trying to do with it. It is bringing the numbers down (sometimes working better than others even at the same dose) but then the Lev doesn't seem to be taking over very well and doing it's thing. Not enough depot?

I do thank you for the caution. I do appreciate it. You can be more objective than I can, so I will certainly try to put at least one leg into the patience pants. And I'll tell myself that, so far his ketones are holding steady at 0.3 ... and he is eating now... so that should help with ketones as well. Now I have to worry about the white cell count, which is trending upward again. I've made an excel spreadsheet of all his blood work going back pretty far. Last Wednesday, he was trending upward again. For now, he's eating his third can of Hill's K/D (only 70 cals a can, but if he finishes this one it will be 210 cals for the day, plus some Dr. E. kibble.)
 
5/10 and 5/11, lots of blues and no R. Please hold six cycles, then you can see what increase he needs. This is for safety's sake. We only fast track (increase every 4 cycles) if seeing nothing below 300.
 
5/10 and 5/11, lots of blues and no R. Please hold six cycles, then you can see what increase he needs. This is for safety's sake. We only fast track (increase every 4 cycles) if seeing nothing below 300.
5/10 and 5/11, lots of blues and no R. Please hold six cycles, then you can see what increase he needs. This is for safety's sake. We only fast track (increase every 4 cycles) if seeing nothing below 300.
Okay. I see those. 5/10 and 5/11 is when his numbers started going off the rails. But yes, I see blues. Then things got bad and I panicked. From what I see now, probably rightly so, but ...
 
Oh, and about seeing blues on a dose... that was ALL R's influence, in my opinion... so I discounted it. Wrong?
Hi Suzanne, I can offer no advice. As I’ve told you before, I so admire how you manage all his different lab challenges, 2 insulins, syringe feeding, knowing how to act and react to each situation. I am so glad he’s eating on his own. The juggling has to just exhaust you at times. You are such great mom. :joyful:
I have to tell you, I’ve been thinking all day about your remark about Dolly having the Lantus smile. Today I wonder if she has the Lantus lopsided frown. I know her numbers aren’t bad but they are not the usual so I am left to worry, what’s going on?
Have a relaxed worry free sleep and wake up to a new day, new challenges, new joys.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Suzanne....nothing to add on the logical front but big empathy (ok, that doesn't even make sense!) Big hugs and lots of empathy. I feel as if I have partial residence in your brain. You're not on your own. And low ketones and eating are GREAT! So hard to focus on the wins, I know - I am the same. Get something good, momentary relief and then jump on to the next fear. If you figure out how to control that, let me know. If you don't, know that you are in excellent company. Because I am excellent company :eek::oops::rolleyes::smuggrin:o_O
 
Hi Suzanne, I can offer no advice. As I’ve told you before, I so admire how you manage all his different lab challenges, 2 insulins, syringe feeding, knowing how to act and react to each situation. I am so glad he’s eating on his own. The juggling has to just exhaust you at times. You are such great mom. :joyful:
I have to tell you, I’ve been thinking all day about your remark about Dolly having the Lantus smile. Today I wonder if she has the Lantus lopsided frown. I know her numbers aren’t bad but they are not the usual so I am left to worry, what’s going on?
Have a relaxed worry free sleep and wake up to a new day, new challenges, new joys.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I wouldn’t worry too much about yesterday’s numbers. Our cats love to surprise us, don’t they? They’re not machines so they don’t respond to that hormone in the same way all the time — too many factors play into it. I looked at yesterday’s numbers and they don’t look too bad. A little up where I might not expect it. What time do you think Dolly typically nadirs? Is she known to be a double dipper? Today is a new day! With you at the helm, I know Dolly will have a safe day, too.
 
Oh Suzanne....nothing to add on the logical front but big empathy (ok, that doesn't even make sense!) Big hugs and lots of empathy. I feel as if I have partial residence in your brain. You're not on your own. And low ketones and eating are GREAT! So hard to focus on the wins, I know - I am the same. Get something good, momentary relief and then jump on to the next fear. If you figure out how to control that, let me know. If you don't, know that you are in excellent company. Because I am excellent company :eek::oops::rolleyes::smuggrin:o_O
Thanks!! I know what you mean. I sometimes read your posts or spreadsheet and think... EXACTLY!... that’s exactly how I feel or think or what I have been or am going through.
I do hope Minnie will give you a good week though and not punish you for having gone away (it depends upon her orders.). :p
 
Hi Laura! I’ve been thinking about you. Last night I took a peek at Grem’s spreadsheet to see how he was doing. Looks like you’ve had to tinker with his dose a little bit. I also saw that you wrote that his appetite was not good on a few days... so that had me worried.
Thank you Suzanne!! :bighug:
Grem is up and down. He's mostly good but has his days. Especially while I've been having to tinker with his Metacam dose. I put it back up today, he's just not as happy on a lower dose. His BGL is like a yoyo! That effects his mood too but for the most part he's doing great.

I do hope Darcy is doing well! And you too Suzanne!!
 
I wouldn’t worry too much about yesterday’s numbers. Our cats love to surprise us, don’t they? They’re not machines so they don’t respond to that hormone in the same way all the time — too many factors play into it. I looked at yesterday’s numbers and they don’t look too bad. A little up where I might not expect it. What time do you think Dolly typically nadirs? Is she known to be a double dipper? Today is a new day! With you at the helm, I know Dolly will have a safe day, too.
Thanks so much Suzanne. Hope today is a good day for you, how’s your back? And a good day for Darcy. Hope he is continuing to eat.
 
Back
Top