5/16 Alex AMPS 208,PMPS 363,+2.5-213

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alex had a really rough day and night yesterday but he's starting to feel a little better. After a morning of going to the vet because he didn't seem to have an appetite and wasn't 'himself', I got him home and left him with Jackson for a couple of hours to come back home and find he couldn't walk at all on his right back leg. I was scared to death. My first thought was 'blood clot' because he is HCM but luckily that wasn't it. Then I thought I might have hit a nerve with a flank shot but finally I was able to locate exactly where it hurt him and that ruled the flank shot theory out also. Alex still has pretty wobbly legs from neuropathy and I guess he must have slipped in the kitchen while I was out. My guess is that his rear legs 'split' and that he pulled a muscle or ligament in his thigh because every time my hand got near his right thigh he started trembling and shaking and if i actually touched it, he hissed and growled at me :-| After speaking to Carolyn, I gave him a dose of bupe which didn't help much the first time. Luckily he stayed still last night and didn't really try to move except for eating and using LB. I tested him wherever he was so he wouldn't try to walk more than necessary. He started coming around a little late at night and I gave him another dose of bupe at 3:00AM and this morning he is walking on both rear legs, just favoring his left rear. He doesn't seem to be in nearly as much discomfort, he's very hungry and he seems happy today. We also switched to Levemir last night and we are hoping to see an improvement in Alex's numbers (paws and fingers crossed)....

However..now Jackson seems to have lost his appetite :-|

Again, to quote Roseanne RosannaDanna "It's Always Something".... :roll: (God, I loved Gilda Radner) :lol:

PS..as for me, I upgraded my hard drive last night and I'm so proud of myself! I cloned my old 160gb hd which was almost full on to a new 500gb hd then swapped it in my laptop and I have like 341 gb free space and didn't lose anything!!! The heck with paying the 'geek squad'..I did it myself! drinking24

Happy Sunday Everyone :razz:

yesterday
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

Caryl:

I can't find the condo that Dr. Lisa opened yesterday asking about Lantus vs. Lev for acro kitties. Jojo has a post in there that might be relevant given that you just switched. What I was looking for is that I believe she noted that you need to be attentive the first couple of days after a switch. Often she has recommended reducing the dose of Lev for just the reason that you're seeing. Not all cats have a drop in numbers, but some do. If you can track down the post, it may be helpful.
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

that's a little too much drama, Alex... Glad you're lowering the dose tonight.
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

Kitty scares are the pits, really takes it out of you. I was so happy to hear things are improving in the walking department for Alex. And, whoa, +6 27, now that would have scared me. Glad you have it under control. Kitty hugs for all of you.
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

Sienne and Gabby said:
Caryl:

I can't find the condo that Dr. Lisa opened yesterday asking about Lantus vs. Lev for acro kitties. Jojo has a post in there that might be relevant given that you just switched. What I was looking for is that I believe she noted that you need to be attentive the first couple of days after a switch. Often she has recommended reducing the dose of Lev for just the reason that you're seeing. Not all cats have a drop in numbers, but some do. If you can track down the post, it may be helpful.

I DID see that...I know what you're referring to. We did lower the starting dose but apparently not enough :-|

I'll definitely be referring back to that again..thanks for thinking of us, Sienne :razz:
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

Actually I opted to keep the lev dose close to the old lantus dose for 2 reasons:

1. Alex is incredibly ketone-prone and is recovering from a very recent bout with them after a skipped dose, though it was reduced .25u.
2. Alex is a fairly high dose cat.

I have complete confidence in Caryl handling the ensuing lows, and we did discuss this could well happen. The reason for switching to Levemir for Alex is due to my suspicion he is slightly intolerant of Lantus, and I do think his Levemir dose may well be a unit off his lantus dose, or maybe more.. just a guess though. Tonight we will half-dose him to drain the shed and resume in the AM with 4u. We both think it's highly possible we will run into a bunch of fast reductions over the next week while we figure out where his actual dose needs to be, and in my mind, and I think Caryl agrees, it's easier to treat lows than ketones.

Thought you guys might want to know what was going on behind the scenes. I'm sorry I wasn't able to get online today and post this.

Caryl, glad you did this.. he really seems to like it!
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

Carolyn and Spot said:
Actually I opted to keep the lev dose close to the old lantus dose for 2 reasons:

1. Alex is incredibly ketone-prone and is recovering from a very recent bout with them after a skipped dose, though it was reduced .25u.
2. Alex is a fairly high dose cat.

I have complete confidence in Caryl handling the ensuing lows, and we did discuss this could well happen. The reason for switching to Levemir for Alex is due to my suspicion he is slightly intolerant of Lantus, and I do think his Levemir dose may well be a unit off his lantus dose, or maybe more.. just a guess though. Tonight we will half-dose him to drain the shed and resume in the AM with 4u. We both think it's highly possible we will run into a bunch of fast reductions over the next week while we figure out where his actual dose needs to be, and in my mind, and I think Caryl agrees, it's easier to treat lows than ketones.

Thought you guys might want to know what was going on behind the scenes. I'm sorry I wasn't able to get online today and post this.

Caryl, glad you did this.. he really seems to like it!

Yup..this is all the true story of how this beginning dose was decided...add to it the fact that Alex could hardly walk yesterday and I was terrified of ketones if he didn't get enough insulin. There would have been no way i could have gotten him on a table to give him fluids...I couldn't get near his leg and didn't know if I would be able to today.

I would much rather do it this way than have Alex too high for too long...he has enough problems and feeding him up IS way easier than treating ketones...for me anyway.

I feel good about the change too, Carolyn. If this first day is any indication, it's just a matter of finding a good dose for Alex which WILL probably be considerably less than Lantus (I don't quite understand it..but who cares) :lol:
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

Whoa Alex!!! Look at this, will ya!! I'm so glad the Lev is working for you and Alex, but this drama...oh the drama nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

sehjak (Susan & Lanky) said:
Kitty scares are the pits, really takes it out of you. I was so happy to hear things are improving in the walking department for Alex. And, whoa, +6 27, now that would have scared me. Glad you have it under control. Kitty hugs for all of you.

I was honestly much more scared about Alex's leg than about the 27. If you don't freak out it's pretty easy to feed up a low number (at least with Alex it is). It hurt my heart to see him shake when I put my hand on his leg.

But thanks for the hugs..we love ♥ them and back atcha' :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/16 Alex AMPS 208,+2.5-112,+4.5-48,+5-72,+6-27

Libby and Lucy said:
that's a little too much drama, Alex... Glad you're lowering the dose tonight.

Libby, Oh Libby...
did you say "too much drama" and "Alex" in the same sentence? Sure you have the right kitty? :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top