5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 +4 491 +6~346 IGF-1 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Previous Condo for Oliver

Oliver started his day with a pretty good number, 279, but it's deceiving because he seems to have a very late nadir as in like +11. As a result, I am not giving any R at ps time, I am waiting he's one his way up before pulling him down a bit. I have no idea when's the right time, but today I went with 5R at +3 when he was up to 385, but it did not seem to do all that much as his +8 is 315 so maybe he's heading down to his late nadir. We'll see later on.

IGF-1 result is 325: acro positive.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1757 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1757 cropped.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 1,123
  • IMG_1759 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1759 cropped.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 1,123
  • IMG_1760 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1760 cropped.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 1,109
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279

Well.

Now that the obvious has been confirmed by bloodwork, I send you a large ((((hug)))) and all the support and knowledge I can give to you.

I think some people owe you an apology and I think this is the correct thread for them to put it out in the open.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279

(((((Gayle & Oliver))))

Well okay. Any news is better than no news and it's not like you didn't expect it, right? Big hugs :YMHUG: to you Gayle because I never doubted anything that you were doing not even for a second! You are a wonderful mama bean and Oliver is lucky to have you. And hugs to Oliver just cause he's cute! ;-)

(And kudos to Carolyn for calling this one almost from the second she saw pictures of Oliver...you have a great support team, Gayle) :-D

and the pics are great as usual ♥, doesn't he go on furniture yet?

xo Caryl, Alex and Jackson
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279

I glad you have the bloodwork to confirm your instincts and the instincts of those of us who have been following you and Oliver. I hope you plan to open a condo more regularly now that the results are back.

I do wonder whether Oliver has a late nadir or if you're seeing inverted curves. I'm not good at identifying the difference so I just want to put that out there as a consideration and maybe Jojo or or one of the other experienced members can take a look at Oliver's SS.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279

Gayle, I'm happy you have a diagnosis and can take the handcuffs off. I'm REALLY glad Oliver picked you to be his new bean. Pretty impressive that he managed to do that over the internet, he's no dummy. :mrgreen: Sorry that you have two acros, though.

He's so cute with his blue thing. I love how only half of his mouth is hanging open while he sleeps.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279

What? Not late nadir? Inverted curve? OMG! What more craziness IS there that I need to know?
Who knows about this inverted curve thing and can you explain it to me and tell me what needs to be done?

Ok ok ok. Tell me what to do to figure out which it is. I'll add his profile and ss back; it's up to date, but I still say that R may be very very good, but it has to be camouflaging what's really going on.
It would be nice if he would play by the normal rules - you know, be highest at ps times, then lowest at +6, but no, not Oliver.

Caryl, no, he is still almost scared to go on the furniture; he just won't. I have tried often to put him up and pat him and see if he will stay but when I stop, he wants down. He is happy on stools and on his card table chair and even on side tables, but never on a people chair or the sofa or the bed.
That's OK; I don't mind to lie on the floor with him sometimes.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1802 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1802 cropped.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 1,103
  • IMG_1777.JPG
    IMG_1777.JPG
    3 MB · Views: 1,101
  • IMG_1797 cropped.jpg
    IMG_1797 cropped.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 1,100
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403

I'm not quite sure what Cheryl means by the inverted curve...when I've heard that used in the past, it meant the cat was getting too much insulin. We are now absolutely certain that Oliver needs more, more, more.

Gayle, I'm sorry about the diagnosis, but I'm very thankful he found you. You've done really good with him and he ended up with exactly the right person. Glad to see you back here and I hope that all the people that continually second-guessed you will read this thread and apologize and learn that acros aren't that rare. Ya might want to change the title as well....add "acro confirmed" or "acro cat' or "IGF-1 = 325" or something to make it more obvious.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403

If you include the link to Oliver's SS, I'm sure Libby, D, or Jill can help sort it out. Basically, instead of the dip you would expect to see at the middle of the cycle, the numbers are higher. Think a frown shape vs. a smile. Actually, in response to Heather, it can mean either not enough or too much insulin. (In Oliver's case, probably the former rather than the latter.) I also don't know how the R factors in and whether or how it may effect the curve. Most of the time when I've seen inverted curves notes, it's been in kitties who don't get R.

I've been meaning to tell you how much I love your photos of your kitties. I don't know if it's in part the quality of the camera or the photographer or if it's the cats themselves, but you can see how wonderful their coats look. I just want to smoosh your cats every time you post photos.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403

Great to see an Oliver condo! Glad you know now.
Yes, Oliver was a smart kitty for finding you.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279

Sienne and Gabby said:
I glad you have the bloodwork to confirm your instincts and the instincts of those of us who have been following you and Oliver. I hope you plan to open a condo more regularly now that the results are back.

I do wonder whether Oliver has a late nadir or if you're seeing inverted curves. I'm not good at identifying the difference so I just want to put that out there as a consideration and maybe Jojo or or one of the other experienced members can take a look at Oliver's SS.


Sienne,
With acrocats, if you see up and down cycles that appear to be inverted, they are only due to insufficient insulin. The term inverted curve doesn't really apply to them. He is a late nadir cat.. for the moment. That might change later on, but as time has progressed, his nadir (and mostly lack thereof LOL) has not changed so it would seem he actually may continue to be a late nadir cat forever. His pattern most closely resembles that of Lorna's Girlcat, who is very stubbornly a +12 nadir cat. The theory in treating them is the same, but the bean will have to have some serious BOS to shoot the lowest number the cat gets every cycle.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279

Carolyn and Spot said:
tthe bean will have to have some serious BOS to shoot the lowest number the cat gets every cycle.
Yep, this is true.

Oliver's coat is getting so shiny. KB does the same thing, gives those back toes a good preening.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 acro positive dx IGF-1 325

Gayle
At least this time the wait was not as excruciating as it was with Shadoe.
That was the longest 2 weeks for many of us on the board.

Oliver was just so meant to be with the most amazing devoted and loving mama bean. :-D
That is you.
So happy to see the gorgeous pictures.
((hugs)) to you and your 3 beautiful and special kitties.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 acro positive dx IGF-1 325

Hi Gayle, I, too, am very glad that you had that big, beautiful Oliver tested and that you can now proceed with his proper treatment. As everyone has said, Oliver certainly picked the right mamabean. Please continue to post his progress and those wonderful pictures of Oliver, Shadoe and Nurse Booboo.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 acro positive dx IGF-1 325

((((Gayle)))) well? ok.u go from here and u do what yu know.because yu knew all along you were doing the right thing. and yu were. ollie is truly BLESSED to be with yu gayle. truly blessed. and he will do fine and so will you. thank god. we do know what we know...gotta give us credit for that.((( see u on the flip side babe ;) )))

ps
and as far as late nadir shooting goes? since i have no choice i go with the flow and i prefer it.lololol like i have a choice ya know.but for whatever reason there IS one.youll be ok we will see to that
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 acro positive dx IGF-1 325

TWO extra-special kitties. the universe had a hand in this; it placed oliver in your care because it knew you would do right by him. but we all knew that already ;-) what a lucky boy.

(((oliver, shadoe and gayle)))
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 acro positive dx IGF-1 325

So the big cat found a bean with a big heart who already has experience in aco kitties. Amazing!
And thank you for the photographs, I love to see Oliver everyday, I need to see him actually... he makes me smile. There is just something special about this kitty and something very special about his momma-bean. (((Gayle)))
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 +4 491 acro dx IGF-1 325

I guess Oliver has decided to celebrate his dx by heading straight up to 500+, ignoring his 14u and that shot of 5R a couple hours ago.

I'll check again in an hr and each hour - he's got to come down a bit eventually, right?
Maybe I'll try a bribe of some fresh chicken raw chunks in an hour.
 
Re: 5/15 Oliver amps 279 pmps 403 acro positive dx IGF-1 325

well like i said to you earlier today, the acro dx is no surprise to anyone, only official conformations of what we already knew long ago.
and to have 2 acros in house, well i can't say anymore more than you have your hands very full and we recognized and acknowledge how difficult that is and whatever support or info you need, we are here for you gayle.
oliver is one LUCKY boy that he ended up with you. really he is, i shudder to think of the other possible outcomes that could have happened to him. sure if he could he would write 'tanks you' in the sand of litter box. :-D (oh speaking of litter boxes, when i was too sick this week to type i saw you talking about those on FB, i use black cement mixing tubs for my extra extra large long boy, only thing that he fits into. they are 1/6 the price of reg litter boxes and clean up super easy too! can get at like home depo or such).

okay, it is official, handcuffs OFF. you are doing great job, getting some more yeller is there. w/o handcuffs, w/ the IGF-1 results in your back pocket, feel free to increase your dose jump increments as you see fit. just remember to keep a pattern. you are not abandoning tilly completely, just increasing the the increments of insulin amount and decreasing increments of time between changes as needed.

oh about 'inverted curves'...late nadir cats, like my cat, have them everyday. they are not inverted curves for the late nadir cat, they are normal curves, just the clock has been turned. what i mean is.... take a clock down off wall. put a yellow sticky on 6 o'clock and write "PS" on it. now take another yellow sticky and put it at 12 o'clock and write "nadir" on it. now turn the clock so that "PS" is at noon/midnight position and "nadir" yellow sticky is at 6 o'clock position. see? it is a normal curve, just the hours are changes. late nadir cats just have their clocks turned. it does mean that one has to shoot the nadir though, extra BOS. but you know that number is just going to go up until that "6 o'clock" mark so you cannot stall waiting for higher number or all you'll be doing is chasing the shed forever. hth explaining the late nadir cat. personally i love them, they are interesting. ;-) (ollie is still working out how late his nadir is, once he gets to dose things will be clearer).

well gayle, since this is not the first positive acro test condo you have owned, not much more to say, you know the deal.
~jojo
 
He is such a big tease! His +5 was 493 and then he finally says JUST KIDDING! and decides to acknowledge something. What, I don't know but maybe he does have things upside down and he's heading to his late nadir.

Whatever he's doing, it's heading in the right direction.
 
hi gayle. i've been out of town all day. just coming to this now. surprised? no. most of us knew where this was going awhile ago. i really feel for you kiddo, but on the other hand... i know oliver fell into loving and caring hands. everything happens for a reason.
you know the drill. oliver's one lucky kitty to have found you!
(((hugs)))
 
Hi Gayle
I have not posted for a few days so I am just reading this now.
Everyone else pretty much already said what I was thinking. I am sorry for the dx but Oliver is one lucky little....I mean big guy to have you taking care of him.
You are the best. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top