5/15 Max AMPS175+6=289PMPS329+2=266+4=206+6=147

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
I can't believe it but today is 6 months since Max started insulin!!!. He responded so quickly I really thought he would go into remission quickly. My vet cautioned me that it may not happen and not to get my hopes up. Too bad he was right!!

It was so hard to sleep last night. So hot!! Today is going to be worse. I haven't yet heard if I will get the a.c. replaced tomorrow.

Yesterday's Results:

AMPS 99 +1=163 +3=203 +5=246 +7=295
PMPS 376 +3=260 +5=239

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118742
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175

What a great start for Max this morning! Perhaps a visit to the lagoon will be in order today. Paws are crossed.

What are the temps supposed to be today? We had to turn our AC on Monday because it was so hot (90 and 95% humidity). Last night, we had to turn the heat on because it was cold (39). Ugghh.... I really hope you get your AC fixed tomorrow. There's not much worse than being miserably hot.

I can only imagine how you felt yesterday at the 6-month mark. Try to stay optimistic, and look at all the progress you've made with Max. (Yesterday was the first green AMPS you've had!) I'm hoping Mr. Liver will decide - soon - to stop fighting you so hard.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175

We have record breaking temps but very low humidity so it is worse for you. It is supposed to be 99 today and is already 80 although my thermostat is showing 84. It didn't dip lower than that last night.

Update: +2.5=265. So I think he is going into pretty good numbers,(but not great) at night and then we go back up during the day. I fed him his usual lc food so it's not much of a food spike. He's been lying on the marble by the fireplace so I know he is hot but that shouldn't be the cause either.

Does anyone know why his skin is dry and flaking? The cardiologist said he has mild seborrhea sicca. It sounded like more oil in is diet would be good but that can cause a pancreatitis attack. Do any of you give EFAS to your cats (essential fatty acid)? It is interesting that much of Max's problems seem to be associated with hyper-t yet he doesn't have it. His T4 is normal as was his free T4 and thyroid panel.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265

Unregulated diabetics are prone to dandruff. I give Gracie Nordic Naturals Omega 3 for pets at the recommendation of my vet who is also a feline nutritionist. It's worked very well for her and she LOVES it. Licks it right off her plate. I shop around online for the cheapest price.

From the information I have researched about pancreatitis, cats do not seem to be susceptible to onset of pancreatitis with fat intake as dogs and humans are. I'd still try and feed a higher protein food but you should be fine with a good fish oil.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265

Thanks Marje. It's not fat but fish oils in particular that many cats have trouble with it seems. I thought ff classics were high protein. In thinking back Max has had this going on for some time before he became diabetic. Has it helped Gracie a lot?

I ordered some so we will see if he likes it and if it helps. I just bought a 2 oz bottle for small dogs and cats.

I don't understand what Max is doing. His +almost 6 is higher again than his AMPS!! Grrrr! :?
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289

yes, we have seen p-titis flares triggered by giving fish oils to several of our LL kitties. it seems like another one of those ECID things.

i've given all my cats the fish oil marje mentioned above for years. alex did fine with it until she had her first p-titis flare. ever since then the most i've been able to give her is about a half dose everyday. anything more than that and it triggers another p-titis attack.

however, there are so many benefits to giving fish oil. since max has p-titis you might want to start slowly. start by giving a drop or two and then gradually up the dose every week or two until you either reach the optimum dose or the point where you can tell it's beginning to bother him. that was how i determined i could only give alex a half dose daily. today, i actually go as far as splitting the dose. i give her a quarter dose mixed in her morning meal and a quarter dose mixed in the evening meal. i wish my cats will lick fish oil off a plate like gracie! i have to hide it in their meals. :roll:
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289

Thank you Jill. I will go very slow and put it in his food.

I just heard in the news that for humans two large meals are better than 6 mini meals for diabetics.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS 329

So is he bouncing or not enough juice? Food is definitely not a factor as he slept all day and didn't eat after +4. He barely moved and I had to watch closely once to see if he was breathing right!! Could the heat cause a spike? I doubt it. I just gave him about 1/3 of a can of ff and he ate some of it. I'll add a little more water. I think all that he has gotten today was what I put in his food. His dish looks full.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS 329

Just checking back in on you and Max. If you don't see any action tonight, you might ask about whether this should be considered a failed reduction. I don't know how all of that works - I wish I could help you with it. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS 329

Hi Shelly. I'm thinking along the same lines except that 99 AMPS has me confused. Thanks for checking in.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS 329

Could that be the second dip others have mentioned? I'm just thinking aloud here because I'm not good at actually identifying these things. I just remember Marje mentioning to me that cats often have a second dip towards the end of the cycle (although they don't dip as low as they did at nadir). With meter variance, that might mesh with the numbers you saw that previous night. Again....I'm just pondering. Hopefully the experienced users will be better able to interpret the numbers for you.

EDIT: Okay, so ignore everything I wrote here. I was working on my iPad when I wrote this. When I moved to the desktop, I realized that I had been looking at the wrong line on the spreadsheet. See - this is why I shouldn't look at spreadsheets on my iPad! :oops: :oops: :oops:

Sorry, Elise! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS 329

tiffmaxee said:
Hi Shelly. I'm thinking along the same lines except that 99 AMPS has me confused. Thanks for checking in.
for me, the question is how low did he go the night on 5/13? i think it's likely that you caught him on the way up on the morning of 5/14.
i'm seeing him close to 48 hours into a bounce...
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS 329

That crossed my mind as well except it would have been a late nadir for him. I was feeding him a little higher carbs to avoid him dropping under 50 or too fast though. I guess I should give him a couple more cycles then before calling this a failed reduction? ?
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS 329

if i were in your shoes i would see how tonight and tomorrow (AM cycle) play out. if nothing much happens, i'd be looking at an increase for the PM cycle. however, tomorrow... if his number drop all day it means the bounce is breaking. if that's the case you'll want to re-evaluate a dose increase. i'm not saying don't do it. just be aware that if the numbers are dropping during a cycle... the next cycle will have a little more oomph to it. if you add an increased dose into the mix you better be ready to closely monitor all night to intervene if necessary.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS329+2=266

Okay, I was thinking I'd need tonight and tomorrow before making any decisions. Thanks, Jill.

Shelly, I so get it. I have a hard time when I use my iphone.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS329+2=266

Elise

I hope I didn't confuse you but I would not put the mm of the calipers in the "U" box. Because we use a variety of syringes and the measurements are different, we won't know what dose you are shooting. Some people put it in their remarks and I think I've even seen a couple that will put the units with the mm following in parenthesis e.g. "2u (3.02mm). But those offering suggestions to you on dosing won't know what dose to tell you to increase or decrease to if you just have the mm measurement. Sorry if I was unclear.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS 175+2.5=265+6=289PMPS329+2=266

Sorry...I forgot to answer your other question.

Gracie had a little dandruff when she was first dx and her numbers were higher. But then it went away as she got more regulated. Our vet put her on the fish oil based on her nutritional analysis of Gracie's needs.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS175++6=289PMPS329+2=266+4=206

Okay, Marje. So should I call it a fat or short instead? Do you agree that I should wait at least until tomorrow night to call it a failed reduction? I do think Max will likely need more.

It looks likely that my mom will have her surgery Monday afternoon. So whatever dose he gets Monday morning I won't be able to stay home with him. I'll likely leave home around +4 and come back at night to give him his insulin. If we are lucky it will be outpatient but if she is in too much pain or they feel she needs observation from the anesthesia she will spend the night in the hospital.
 
Re: 5/15 Max AMPS175++6=289PMPS329+2=266+4=206

Hi Elise!

It looks like Max may be clearing that bounce for you tonight. (anti-jinx). Hopefully he comes down gently and gives you a good cycle in the AM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top