5/15: Lando AMPS: 110

TankNRK

Active Member
Previous Post:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-14-lando-amps-102-pmps-110-3-54.277546/#post-3071568

Lando dropped pretty low last night! I finally got the calipers recalibrated this morning so I can get the new .75 as accurate as possible.

Got any tips for bubbles at such a low dose?
I've been struggling with that a little bit at these lower doses.
I'm pulling a tad bit more insulin then needed, then pulling down a bit more to make the bubble bigger, then getting my dose where I need it! It helps most times but sometimes I just cannot get the bubble to go away haha. At a lower dose like this I feel like an air bubble affects our accurate dosing a tad more then it used to.
Thanks and happy Monday!
 
Happy Monday, Tank and Lando! My way of getting rid of bubbles is to push the plunger firmly to the top, then twist it slowly as you pull down. That breaks the bubble before it can form. It works better than flicking the syringe for me (I’ve bent too many needles doing that). The tiny bubbles, though, I can never get rid of those.
This is great advice, thank you! I've done the firm pushing but never thought to twist while I pull down the insulin. Do I twist the little plunger piece the entire time I pull down insulin or am I twisting the entire syringe?
 
This is great advice, thank you! I've done the firm pushing but never thought to twist while I pull down the insulin. Do I twist the little plunger piece the entire time I pull down insulin or am I twisting the entire syringe?
Twist the plunger, not the whole syringe. Twist first, while it's still in contact with the top of the syringe, then slowly pull down the insulin while still twisting, and watch to see if air is getting in. Sometimes it takes a couple of tries, so if you see the bubble forming, just go back to the top and start over. :cat:
 
Back
Top