5/15 Jack-AMPS 322 w/ketones- Dose Increase??

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Today is Jack's 7th day on Semglee (glargine). He has been getting into the 200's with a dose of 3 units, but not consistently. He is also routinely showing blood ketones in the 0.5 - 1.1 range. I would like to increase his insulin dose tomorrow AM, as I will be working from home for the next few days and will have the opportunity to test more frequently and monitor him. What is the recommended increase? 0.5 increase will bring us to a 3.5 unit dose. 1 unit increase will bring us to a 4 unit dose. I'm trying to do fluids every day, but don't always have help, so some days we manage more than others (generally between 50 and 150 mls. daily- yesterday we did no fluids) Thanks for any input and advice-it is greatly appreciated!

Yesterday's Post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-14-jack-amps441-day-6-glargine.263274/
 
The normal increase is 0.25 units at a time. So the new dose would be 3.25 units.
However I’ll tag @Wendy&Neko to see if she would like to comment on this because you have previously had Jack on a higher dose when on Prozinc and the vet had you start on a lower dose than we would have advised when you swapped over to Semglee. She may suggest a bigger increase.
 
The normal increase is 0.25 units at a time. So the new dose would be 3.25 units.
However I’ll tag @Wendy&Neko to see if she would like to comment on this because you have previously had Jack on a higher dose when on Prozinc and the vet had you start on a lower dose than we would have advised when you swapped over to Semglee. She may suggest a bigger increase.

OK, thanks for the referral. How do you do a .25 increase on the U100 syringes? There doesn't seem to be much room in there to allow for .25 measurements.
 
Do you have syringes with half unit markings?
Yes, they are 100 U syringes that dose up to 30 units with half-unit markings. I found a sticky note on the board, but those directions seem almost impossible to measure. Any advice on how to get that measurement without wasting insulin (I read you can't repeatedly move syringe back and forth while in the bottle because of rubber getting into the insulin?) I'm thinking my first draw out of the bottle isn't going to be exact. Thanks!
 
Although a normal increase with nadirs under 300 would be by 0.25 units, this is special circumstances. Jack should have started glargine on closer to 5.0 units, as that was his Prozinc dose. And ketones haven't been going away. I'd suggest a larger increase to get him closer to where he should have been.
So, 3.5 units today or higher? (Monday) I started a new thread with today's info
 
Back
Top