5/15 Gizzy pmps=321, +3=397, +7=280 amps=280

Does this look like a normal bounce or post increase wonky numbers? It seems like he’s getting worse instead of better as I increase. Thanks!
 
Hi Gizzy,

I had a quick look at your SS, and it is not clear to me what method you are following? You reduced the dose a lot, despite Gizzy having mostly nadir on the yellow range which suggests a modified SLGS, but recently you have been changing the dose frequently, which suggets TR?


I think it is important to follow some method, even if you decide to change your approach sometimes. It is also difficult to give dosing advice without knowing the method you are following.

Nevertheless, gizzy is still running high most of the time, so I imagine following one method or another the answer will be more juice in a safe way.
 
Here is your last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-346-2-317-6-270-9-285.247207/#post-2788378
we include a link so that kitty's history is easily accessible, especially when help is needed.

Post-increase wonky numbers, or what we call "New Dose Wonkiness" is usually seen in the second day after an increase and usually lasts no more than 24 hours. So it is probably not that.

It's possible there is some glucose toxicity that you need to break through. FWIW, I had to take Butters's dose from 1u all the way up to 4.25u before she consistently had better numbers. You can see this on her 2020 spreadsheet between October and December. Have a look. During that time, she would occasionally give me a few nice numbers, like some blues or even a few greens and I'd think "this must be a good dose!", only to have her fizzle out and her numbers go higher again:banghead:. It drove me pretty crazy and made me worried, so I get where you are coming from. There are many other kitties who have done this, too. It is common.

Try not to focus on what Gizzy's numbers were on a previous dose as that is history now. Insulin needs can and do change regularly. Trust and keep following the TR protocol. If you're able to, post a daily condo for Gizzy and we can help you stay on top of the increases.

Hang in there! You're doing a great job.:bighug:
 
Last edited:
A kitty will bounce from a number that is low to them. So imo, Gizzy could have bounced yesterday from the 155 on 05/13. But that said, if you look at his numbers on 2u it looks to me like he could use more insulin.
I had a quick look at your SS, and it is not clear to me what method you are following? You reduced the dose a lot, despite Gizzy having mostly nadir on the yellow range which suggests a modified SLGS, but recently you have been changing the dose frequently, which suggets TR?
Her signature and spreadsheet both say TR. Under TR with nadirs <200, you hold the dose for 6-10 cycles before increasing the dose by 0.25u. When a kitty is new to numbers <200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
 
I’m following TR but I panic sometimes and don’t want to keep bugging you guys.

Looking at TR prorocol it looks like another increase of .25 is due today?
 
Last edited:
Please post every day and ask questions if not sure or not feeling confident. We are all here to help. You aren’t bugging us. It’s much easier to help if you post daily condos. I for one am on and off the board sometimes quickly looking for anyone needing help. If I know a particular cat well then I can help without going back to previous condos a few days back and it’s easier to help if I am pressed for time.
 
Never be afraid to ask questions. The folks on this site are here for you. Good luck with the increase and post every day if you can. Even if you don't have anything to say. Just make sure you attach your previous days post and folks will look at Gizzy's spreadsheet.
 
Back
Top