5/15 Fred AMPS 449, +8 155

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
Well, Fred is on the express elevator down today...Just like he was on Wednesday before the hypo! And of COURSE, tonight is the first night in over a year I am seeing my girlfriends for dinner, so it's my husband's first solo attempt at testing. (without me hovering..."no...do it like this....no like that! :-))

I've given him instructions to call me if any number under 250. And if he can't get the test, no shot until I get home and we assess. We'll see where Fred is in 3.5 hours. He may already be bouncing up from the 155. But if he's still going down, then I'm seeing a BCS in his future. I do not want to put him in danger again!

Hope everyone had a great weekend.
 
Great to see DH is testing and giving you a chance to take a break away. :) Blues are pretty sweet too. :cool:
 
Mike did a great job! I was driving home by then, and he did have a little trouble at first. So he called me, and he said when Fred heard my voice through the speaker phone, he sat down. There was some difficulty in getting a drop...I was hearing "Click! Click! Click!" from the lancet, wincing every time. But they got the job done!

And the result was...137. Still dropping. It was literally the same pattern from the other night when he went hypo, so I really got scared and gave a BCS. That was obviously not the best thing to do, given where he went. But now I really just don't know what to do in these situations where he's breaking a bounce and freefalling. (with lots of food on board, too) 3u was too little, I know, but I really don't know the number to keep him safe. Mike suggested 5...maybe that was the way to go. But I am still so freaked out over the other night that I went WAY too cautious. If he had just started to come up even a little bit at PMPS, I would have given his normal dose.

I will say this..what I saw this AM was Fred...my old Freddie. He sat on my chest during the night, purring like the old days, and this morning really was his old self. It's not just because his number is high and he's hungry-it was his personality back. And I can't help but think that's because he wasn't so drugged up on Lantus.

As such, I think I'm going to make the call on Levemir today. It's time to try it.
 
Back
Top