5/15 Allie AMPS 333/305+3/274+8/ PMPS 304

I’m glad you got time to post again!

I think you should have gone to 7 today. And unless @Wendy&Neko disagrees, I think you should just go to 7 tomorrow instead of waiting for another 4 cycles. Then see how 7 does for 6 cycles and increase again if she’s still high.

I know you’re worried about hypo and not testing enough, but you’re testing plenty to do TR and the biggest problem right now is that Allie is stubbornly high. Once you see blues, it could make sense to slow down again, but for now Allie’s insulin resistance is giving you plenty of buffer.

You might be close to finding a dose that works, but you could also be pretty far away. I just went to 16 and some folks have gone to 40 or higher! I hope it doesn’t come to that with Allie, but if you increase by 0.5 a week it would take you over a year to get to 40! Even getting to 16 would take over 4 months. That’s a lot of time for Allie’s organs to be damaged by high glucose levels.
 
I would stick with 6.5 units for the next couple days. At this size of dose, increases are by 0.5 units at a time. You have enough stuff happening in your life that you haven't always been able to get a night time test past PMPS, so I wouldn't be rushing with larger increases at this point in time. If Allie should get to 10 units, the size of increase will also be larger.
 
I would stick with 6.5 units for the next couple days. At this size of dose, increases are by 0.5 units at a time. You have enough stuff happening in your life that you haven't always been able to get a night time test past PMPS, so I wouldn't be rushing with larger increases at this point in time. If Allie should get to 10 units, the size of increase will also be larger.

So increases of 0.5U every 3 days until we start seeing blues or until Allie gets to 10?
 
I’m glad you got time to post again!

I think you should have gone to 7 today. And unless @Wendy&Neko disagrees, I think you should just go to 7 tomorrow instead of waiting for another 4 cycles. Then see how 7 does for 6 cycles and increase again if she’s still high.

I know you’re worried about hypo and not testing enough, but you’re testing plenty to do TR and the biggest problem right now is that Allie is stubbornly high. Once you see blues, it could make sense to slow down again, but for now Allie’s insulin resistance is giving you plenty of buffer.

You might be close to finding a dose that works, but you could also be pretty far away. I just went to 16 and some folks have gone to 40 or higher! I hope it doesn’t come to that with Allie, but if you increase by 0.5 a week it would take you over a year to get to 40! Even getting to 16 would take over 4 months. That’s a lot of time for Allie’s organs to be damaged by high glucose levels.


My problem is my vet wanting me to stay at 6 units x2 a day until June 2nd until I go back. Wanting me to use an AT2 (the test strips become obsolete in Sept. and I have seen bad reviews on the AT3) and I got a script for the generic Glargine, but it had no name on the script nor does it say if I can get refills or not! Going to the pharmacy today to find out. I'd like 5 pens told them that at the appointment!

I'm going to be gone over 10 hours on Friday, I am trying to get out of it but my sister is unsympathetic and she has something planned that day. :banghead:
That is another issue in this journey. I may call her today and cancel and go to 7 tomorrow. I purposely took this week off but people want you to live around their lives!

I have some calls to make insearch of yet another vet, hopefully one that specializes in DM in felines.

Just looked at Pumpkins SS at least you see yellow! I know, I think everyday what this disease is doing to Allie's little body!
 
I would stick with 6.5 units for the next couple days. At this size of dose, increases are by 0.5 units at a time. You have enough stuff happening in your life that you haven't always been able to get a night time test past PMPS, so I wouldn't be rushing with larger increases at this point in time. If Allie should get to 10 units, the size of increase will also be larger.

Today will be her 3rd day @ 6.5 and I'll post her numbers from yesterday. I'm not seeing any big difference :( at all!
 
Don't forget to update her spreadsheet. With it, I can help you decide if an earlier increase is safe. Without, we're guessing.
 
Wendy, thank you!

What a day started at 10am called pharmacy to confirm pharmacy had 5 pens of Glargine in stock they said they did not but need the script so I took it. I get to pharmacy the girl tells me they can fill it no problem. I walk around a while go back and they have a small bag, they said the script was for a vial. :banghead: A vial that is only good for 28 days the same as 1 pen and the cost is $56.00 :banghead:
I said NO it is for 5 pens (Glargine @ $81.00 through GoodRX) so they call the vet, of course they had to leave a message.:banghead:
I give them the vile back the pharmacist said the money would get credited to my account.:banghead:
I come home without insulin text the vet tech and tell her what transpired...
She calls pharmacy clears it up. I get a call from pharmacist, script is ready but I need the receipt...I had already given him the vial back and he said it would credit to my card. So then I proceed to dig through the garbage.
Anyways I go back (now it is 4:30 in the afternoon). I get there and there is a discussion going on when I ask to pick up the script..think they had Lantus......5 pens...or they have SEMGLEE which would require the vet to change the script :banghead:
They don't have Glargine in stock it will be in tomorrow......so back to square one, where I started at 10am this morning. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

I am going to 7 tomorrow!

Time to do Hokey Pokey stick 'em. I'll post numbers tonight.

This is why I can't get things done!!! I'm always clearing up other people's messes.
 
Sorry you didn't post here first. A vial would have been perfectly fine. Kept in the fridge, some people have used them for 6-7 months. With higher dose cats, you might even use it to the last drop. The only difference with a vial is a slight difference in how you draw the insulin.
 
Sorry you didn't post here first. A vial would have been perfectly fine. Kept in the fridge, some people have used them for 6-7 months. With higher dose cats, you might even use it to the last drop. The only difference with a vial is a slight difference in how you draw the insulin.

The vial was the same as or equal to only one pen, it wasn't the large vial.
 
I was not 100% on the Semglee since I was focused on the Glargine. But then the pharmacist said the vet would have to written a new script for Semglee. I'm at their mercy. I moved here right before SHTF in 2020 bad timing on our part. I miss my old home town.
 
Back
Top