5/15/14-Zack PMPS+3.5 44,+4 36,+4.5 48,4.75 81,5.5 94+6 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyolles

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118721

Zack's AMPS BG 285 (he had a little high carb wet food at 12:30 last night).
+1.5 343,+2 342,+5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130, +3 51,+3.5 44,+4 36,+4.5 48,4.75 81, 5.5 94, +6 100
Breakfast is low carb wet. 1.75 Lantus.
PMPS 201, 1.75 Lantus
Dinner was low carb low phos. wet food.
He did not want the post shot freeze dried shrimp now, but is begging for cat food in the kitchen.
after +3 51 Zack got 1 teaspoon carb wet. testing in 20 min.
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack APMS 285

I'm surprised he's not a little higher after that little snack last night!...LOL

Please tell DH that we don't pull out the "big guns" until they drop below 50...that 110 he got, (which I do understand can be scary!) is a WONDERFUL number and being there around +6 was probably near his nadir so would have started coming up on his own soon anyway.

A little of their regular low carb is the better choice for a snack. We really WANT them to stay in those pancreas healing numbers for as much time as possible! (50-120)

Looking good so far this morning, Holly! Nice to start seeing some colors other than pink and red :-D
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack APMS 285, +1.5 343,+2 342,+5.5 306

Chris,

I did tell him this morning, and reworded my sign on the clipboard where we record the BGs.
I am just thrilled he took a shift! :)

Made popsicle cat food for the next level day. Will be off work tomorrow.

Holly
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack APMS 285, +1.5 343,+2 342,+5.5 306

Yes you are so very lucky to have help!

A lot of us are doing it on our own, so if it's going to get done, we have to do it! We also hear of "significant others" in a household that have that awful "it's just a cat" attitude and while they'll let someone do all the testing they want, won't offer to help with it or be supportive in any way.

You are truly blessed! I'd keep him!! :lol:
 
Re: ? 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201- Verify shoot?

I agree.

Zack is at an all time PMPS low.

Talk to me people. Do we stay with 1.75?

Holly
 
Re: ? 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201- Verify shoot?

It doesn't look like Chris is online right now. I know she's your "go to" person!

Are you going to be home tonight? If you are, I say shoot the full dose - 1.75. If you're nervous, get a +1 check instead of waiting until the +2!
 
Re: ? 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201- Verify shoot?

Since Marje isn't on right now, I'll "channel" her and tell you to

SSHHHHOOOOOOTTT!!!!!
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201.

SHOTTTTT 1.75, here we go!
Going to feed horses.
Be back for the +1 test.
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130

Looks like Zack is having an active cycle. I'd feed a couple tsp of low carb food and get a +3 test.
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130

Hi Holly!

Here's what a "typical" Lantus cycle looks like

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

IF the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, it's a clue that it could be a very active cycle, and depending on how your cat responds and how far they've dropped, it's sometimes best to give a little low carb snack to keep them from dropping too quickly and setting them up for a bounce.

The +2 is also a good test to let you know that later on in the cycle, you're going to want to make sure to get tests in until you're sure they're past nadir.

Remember the fun the other night? If you look at it again, you'll see he dropped at +2 then too.

Now tonight isn't necessarily going to be a repeat....each cycle can be different, but when that +2 is lower by more than a few points, it's a clue to keep an eye out
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130

I talked to her via text a little while ago. She was going to give him his 9pm snack and then test again. Should have +3 numbers pretty soon.
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130

glad you're making sure she gets the info - that's a pretty significant drop at +2. I'd give food to slow it down. Low carb might work just fine. It'd be great if he could surf in green numbers for a while.
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130

he's at 51 at +3 and she had fed him several teaspoons of low carb at +2.5

she's feeding some more low carb and retesting in about 15-20
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130

Chris and Julie - glad you've got her...

would love to stay up and be supportive (that's all I can do after all), but I have a parent/teacher meeting at 7am and have to be there early to get ready for it.

Holly - you've got this. :) You're a good momma!
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack +5.5 306, PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130

Chris and Julie - glad you've got her...

would love to stay up and be supportive (that's all I can do after all), but I have a parent/teacher meeting at 7am and have to be there early to get ready for it.

Holly - you've got this. :) You're a good momma!
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130, +3 51

He thinks this is cat thanksgiving. Canned food, at the buffet.... glad he is not stressed....
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130, +3 51

No advice from me - just lending moral support. I know it's stressful when they go lower like this. You're doing great, Holly!
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack PMPS 201. +1 255, +2 130, +3 51

Chris, just ready your breakdown. Thank you.
I knew it was a lower +2, just did not realize he would drop off the cliff again.
I am not as nervous about the food, just the numbers.
 
Re: 5/15/14- Zack PMPS +3.5 44

Good Holly!

Now after the high carb, test in 15-20...if he's still below 50, repeat the process until he's climbing and into at least the 60's...then you KEEP TESTING to make sure the high carb doesn't "wear off" and he comes back down again.

And he's earned a reduction to 1.5!

Please leave ALL the PMPS numbers in your subject line unless you just can't fit anymore in...when you get to PMPS, you can delete the AMPS numbers to make room, but you should leave the latest cycle numbers there. People here who are scanning the board watch for those big drops so they can keep an eye out for you
 
Re: 5/15/14-Zack PMPS 201 255,+2 130,+3 51,+3.5 44, +4 36

Go ahead and give him a couple more teaspoons of high carb and retest again soon

He's made his point so he has nothing to prove, so if you're sure he'll keep eating as long as you might need him to, don't worry about how much you feed right now. We want him out of the 30's
 
Re: 5/15/14-Zack PMPS 255,+2 130,+3 51,+3.5 44,+4 36,+4.5 48

good job, holly! chris is giving you excellent advice.

how about if we keep all communication on the board? it can get confusing when part of the conversation takes place on Facebook and part here. in the true spirit of the FDMB, we like to keep all advice here on the board.... where it is subject to peer review. :mrgreen:

thank you!
 
Re: 5/15/14-Zack PMPS +2 130,+3 51,+3.5 44,+4 36,+4.5 48,5.7

Yeah for 81!!

That's a nice number!!

Now you don't want to stop testing now. Keep testing about every 20-30 for at least another hour and if he's still climbing, I'd get one more about an hour later to make sure he doesn't have any more tricks up his sleeve.

If he goes back down below 50, you repeat what you've been doing with the high carb food

Congratulations on the reduction! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/15/14-Zack PMPS+3.5 44,+4 36,+4.5 48,4.75 81,5.5 94+6

Nice to see that 100!

I think he's probably "over the hump" now

Don't be surprised if he has a high AMPS in the morning. He's had a lot of carbs and he'll probably bounce on top of it.

Just remember that he earned a reduction and only give the 1.5
 
Re: 5/15/14-Zack PMPS+3.5 44,+4 36,+4.5 48,4.75 81,5.5 94+6

Great job controlling those numbers today. You are getting a trial by fire :-D

Good luck on the reduction. :-D BTW, if he goes up and bounces like he's been doing, you can shoot through the bounce at AMPS with the 1.75u dose and then reduce to 1.5u tomorrow night. Or...if you choose, you can reduce in the morning.
 
Re: 5/15/14-Zack PMPS+3.5 44,+4 36,+4.5 48,4.75 81,5.5 94+6

Kittens decided 5 am was late enough to sleep. That's what i get for not tiring them out enough last night. Looks like you had more fun tonight, but at least it ended a little earlier this time. You have to admit.... Zack looks very handsome in those blues and greens!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top