5/15/10 Nay AMPS 464...+6= 438

Status
Not open for further replies.
No condo available. By the way, I know that a condo is your daily thread but is "condo" short for something?
Background: we started shooting on 5/5/10 at 1 unit SID. On 5/11/10 we switched to 0.5 BID. We also purchased a new glucometer on 5/11; prior to that date our glucose readings were probably invalid (we had a True Test and switched to a Relion).
We've been waiting for the insulin shed to fill and I think now that we're on day 5 of BID dosing it is full. This is the first time we've seen any response at +6 and Nay's glucose is consistently in the 300's or 400's.
yesterday AMPS 371... +6= 374.... PMPS 319
today AMPS 464... +6= 438
We think we're ready for a dose increase, what do y'all recommend?
Thanks!
Melissa

Edit- at 5 pm today Nay had a pee accident. We were driving down the road which always stresses him out and he couldn't hold it anymore I guess. He peed on our Rand McNalley map which was on the dash. We needed a new map anyway. I don't know if he didn't want to go to his box while the RV was moving or if he just felt like he had to go right then. Poor guy looked SO embarrassed!
 
Hi Melissa. I'm sorry, I can't help you with a new dose, but it does look to me like he could use a little more.
I can help to bump
bump.gif
you up to the top.

You might Edit the Subject Line in your first post to add something like "Dose Question" to get more experienced eyes.

I hope you are enjoying your weekend.
 
To me it looks like a dose increase is in order because this morning was your 10th cycle on 0.5U, per the protocol. However.... lantus is not based on pre-shot numbers, so try to get more spot checks in if you can and add the word "dose" to your subject line for more input.

I hope this helps!
 
I agree with Helene on all counts. Like you suggested, Nay needs his dose bumped up. And it will help to get a better sense of how the dose is working if you get more spot checks.

Based on his numbers, you could increase the dose by 0.5u so you'd be shooting 1.0u. If you're not comfortable with shooting that amount, you can raise the dose by 0.25u.
 
Hi Melissa,

Based on the tight regulation protocol, I would increase Nay's dose to 1 unit.

Phase 2: Increasing the dose
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.
 
Re: 5/15/10 Dose Help? Nay AMPS 464...+6= 438

Melissa:

One of the quirks of the Board is that you have to refresh your screen (or post a reply) to see if anyone has replied in your condo. Both Libby and I posted dose suggestions. You can remove the request from your subject line unless you have questions.

I honestly don't know where "condo" came from -- I haven't been here long enough. I suspect it had something to do with the fact that we "visit" each others' condos. Visiting a thread doesn't make much sense!!
 
Re: 5/15/10 Dose Help? Nay AMPS 464...+6= 438

Sienne and Gabby said:
Melissa:

One of the quirks of the Board is that you have to refresh your screen (or post a reply) to see if anyone has replied in your condo. Both Libby and I posted dose suggestions. You can remove the request from your subject line unless you have questions.

I honestly don't know where "condo" came from -- I haven't been here long enough. I suspect it had something to do with the fact that we "visit" each others' condos. Visiting a thread doesn't make much sense!!

Thank you! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top