Sybil and Zoe
Member Since 2018
Hi all. I would like to post pre shotnumbers etc in the title like everyone else but I have a dilemma and once again feel lost like many new to this forum. Zoe started on Lantus a week and a half ago. Her numbers have been high for a while. I wanted to try and use the tight regulation guidelines. I have been using the alpha track 2 meter since her diagnosis 10/2018 and because the strips were so expensive I switched to the Freestyle Inulinx strips to save some money. The directions for the TR protocol says to use a meter for human use. I have a Relion Prime that I have been testing myself on because of being diagnosed insulin resistant myself recently. The meter itself-- from Walmart and I have seen others use it--is pretty cheap and the strips are $9 for 50 as opposed to about $50 for 50 for the alpha trak2 and $38 ish for 50 of the Freestyle Insulinux. Because of the call to use human meter to try the TR protocol, I purchased a RelionPrime for Zoe and was looking forward to the saving on the strips (I used my HSA too since it was not for pet product) I got the new meter today and started using it on Zoe. When I first got home for the pm preshot I used the alphatrack and her BG was 409 and I gave her the 3 units Lantus I bumped her to over the weekend. for the post shot I used the human meter. +1 was 316, +2:30 was 291 +3 288 +4 274 . I was liking this but since Zoe has not really been in this yellow much I wasnt comfortable basing everything on the Relion so I tested +5 with both. 271 (Relion) 337 alpha trak2. You see my dilemma? 66 point difference. I am not even sure the alphatrak2 with Freestyle was accurate since the alphatrak2 strips ran higher than the freestyle and her fructosamine was 516.
This is so much data and I am data weary. I either go with the human meter and accept the readings and treat as directed, but I really dont trust anything now.
Advice please. (I have to go to bed but will read all tomorrow)
This is so much data and I am data weary. I either go with the human meter and accept the readings and treat as directed, but I really dont trust anything now.
Advice please. (I have to go to bed but will read all tomorrow)


