5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 PMPS 329 Eating!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry & Zoe (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Well, after a beautiful day yesterday.....we are headed to the Vet today. Zoe hasn't eaten since 10 pm last night. She looks like she doesn't feel good.....just laying round. I did get a few little purrs out of her....but otherwise, she is just laying there. I didn't give insulin this morning, because she wouldn't eat. I probably should have done a reduced dose, but with her not eating, I was not sure.

So feel better vines are much needed and appreciated. Thanks, LL.
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

so sorry that Zoe isn't feeling well. Good luck at the vet, please update when you can. Be better Zoe! Healing vines for Zoe.
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

Oh no! I saw on your SS that she had left some food in her dish a few times. Hope she'll get back to normal soon.
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

Good morning guys .. I will definitely be sending feel better vines to you guys .. I hope the vet can figure out what's going on with miss zoe so she start's eating soon ...
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

Sending some get well vines to Zoe; I hope she is okay. Yes, please let us know what the Vet says when you return. Have you tried giving Zoe some Stage 2 Gerber baby food or any brand; it's just the one I use for Maggie.
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

Oh no.....I really hope its nothing. Sending healing vibes Zoe's way. Good luck at the vet.
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

poor zoe - thinking about both of you today. hope the vet has some help for her. have you tried fortiflora to encourage her?
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

Dropping through to say we are thinking of you two.. hope it is nothing & she returns with an eager appetite & better #s.
Healing Vines sent ;-)
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

Awwww, Zoe, feel better quickly. Hope its something that is easily resolved. Sending healing vines to our sweet Zoe.
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

please update when you can, sherry. hope they check for ketones while you're there.
feel better, zoe!
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Not eating, going to vet

Hi Friends,

What a long morning at the vet....we just got home about 30 minutes ago.....Here is what we did:

Good physical exam, temp 101, Weight 10 lbs 3 oz (1 oz less than 6 weeks ago), eyes clear, abdomen soft with no tenderness.

Blood work drawn and sent out.
Urine collected via cystocentesis some sent out for Culture and a urinanalysis done in house - she is spilling a little bit of sugar (not surprising), ketones negative, the most disturbing finding was the specfic gravity it was 1.024 (6 weeks ago was 1.045).
In-house Creatinine was run - I forget the result but it was no different from 6 weeks ago


150 mls sub-q fluids given
Famotidine (pepcid) given
Cerenia given

I have injectable famotidine for the next few days and cerenia. I also have Bupe if she seems to be uncomfortable or in any pain. The Dr. said she has had several kitties this week with gastritis - but nothing in common with each other. She doesn't believe Zoe is having a pancreatitis flare, she is leaning towards a kidney/bladder infection or gastritis.

Zoe has eaten a little bit of Blue Wilderness Duck since we came home. Mom just ran to the store to pick up some chicken and some baby food. If Zoe continues to eat this afternoon, I can go ahead and give insulin tonight at normal time. Right now Zoe is resting on her favorite paper bag with her nanner. She looks better than she did this morning (a lot).

Thanks for all your wishes and thoughts....I could feel them as we were sitting in the vets office. You guys rock!
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Home from vet

glad you were able to have her checked out!
keep an eye on her usg. you can free catch a sample and bring it in any time. it doesn't have to be a sterile sample.
sending eating vines...
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Home from vet

oh YAY! SO glad that all went well. And more than anything that she seems better. I hope she continues to improve. Good luck with the tests.

Zoe? You OK? The KTSS made some chicken soup - can we come and visit? It should make you feel better. We do really good massages, and are masters at getting rid of the vetty smell. See you soon. oh! and snuggle with that nanner - they make everything OK. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Home from vet

Glad you ran Zoe in to see your vet. It sounds like a very thorough work-up was done. Keep us posted on how Zoe is feeling and the results from the tests.
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Home from vet

Good checkup, Sherry. I'm not sure I could have gotten all that done on a Saturday.
I hope your tests come back with the answers you want. In the meantime. great the Zoe's feeling better, and eating a bit.
Hope she likes what your mom brings back, and continues eating. :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Home from vet

Smokey and I hope that Zoe feels better soon!!

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 5/14 Zoe AMPS 319 Home from vet

I'm so glad Zoe is doing better. It's such a helpless feeling when your kitty isn't feeling well and they can't tell you what's wrong. Healing vines and positive thoughts sent in your direction. :-D
 
Well, Zoe has eaten 1/2 a chicken breast (so far) - the baby food was a no go - and she has had a little scoop of FF Cod, Sole and Shrimp. She seems a bit better - she just can't seem to settle and take a nap anywhere....every little sound and she jumps. Hopefully she will get a good night's sleep.

I'm not too upset by her PMPS - since she didn't have any insulin this morning - hopefully tomorrow will be better.

Thanks for all the feel better and eating vines - they seem to be working their LL magic. ;-)
 
I'm so glad Zoe has eaten. I hope there is nothing too this and she just has a little gastritis. Stupid question but they did check her USG before they gave fluids right? Giving squids will bring the USG down. I sure hope she feels better soon.....sending healing vines and I saw Tobey flexing his paws to give Zoe one of his famous massages when they bring by the soup.
 
So glad to hear Zoe is feeling better and now eating. Maybe the high PMPS could be part Vetty stress, if it stresses her out just going to the Vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top