5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PMPS~122 +1~139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14466

I worked a graveyard shift last night at work and stayed up until Vesta's shot time... Everything went well, she ate about a third of her breakfast, then we all went to bed. Little did I know..... Vesta didn't get up the whole time I was asleep to finish her food! Silly girl! Though it was awfully cute to have her curled up in darned near the same spot she was in when I fell asleep.

So I get up and test her at +10 (after seeing 2/3rds of her breakfast still in the bowl) and get a bg~96. I plop her down right in front of her food, and she eats another third or so. Now it's +11 for us, and she's bg~107.

We're coming up on shot time (in 45min) and I'm not sure what to do. Advice?

If this helps in decision making, I'm only available for one hour after regular shot time tonight. DH isn't home until +4 after regular shot time. I have to leave to go to work, but I'm not working with someone that's feline-friendly (ie: can't take her with me this time).
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

hi!

does DH test?

how much time u got til u get your PMPS number?
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

good job getting the +10 and +11, that shows us that Vesta is rising. Most likely she'll keep going up until +12. If so, then this is definitely shootable.

As Ronnie asked, does DH test?
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

I have another question - I read yesterday's condo, and you didn't have MC or HC food yet. Did you get a chance to buy some?
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

Ronnie & Luna said:
hi!

does DH test?

how much time u got til u get your PMPS number?

Yep, he's great about it. PMPS is in 15 minutes.

When you say it's shootable- do you mean at our regular dose (2 units)?
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

Libby and Lucy said:
I have another question - I read yesterday's condo, and you didn't have MC or HC food yet. Did you get a chance to buy some?

Shrug. nailbite_smile With moving back into the condo and graveyard shifts, I didn't have a chance to snag some. I can have DH grab some on the way home (and have it for +4.5 from regular shot time if necessary) or I can grab some on my way home from work in the morning (+10 from regular shot time).

I suck at this diabetes thing. I feel lke there's this horrible learning curve and I'm slipping downwards.
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

it's a really steep learning curve, for sure. I've been here quite a while, that's why I can remember stuff. :smile:

It's ok, if you do happen to need HC you can mix syrup with regular food, but they like the gravy stuff better. I was going to suggest that if the preshot makes you nervous, you can shoot and then feed medium carb food before you leave. You could still do that, if she'll eat food with syrup mixed in.
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

Libby and Lucy said:
I was going to suggest that if the preshot makes you nervous, you can shoot and then feed medium carb food before you leave. You could still do that, if she'll eat food with syrup mixed in.

Will that make her bounce back up high like yesterday (when I over reacted)? I want to try and avoid that. Stupid work and having to leave... I guess something has to pay for the diabetes, huh?

It's time for her shot- I go ahead with the usual 2 units, right?

EDITED TO ADD- PMPS~122
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

Please don't beat up on yourself! The learning curve is HUGE. It's absolutely overwhelming. I was a complete basket case -- an emotional wreck from Gabby's diagnosis -- and I have background in healthcare and grew up with a diabetic grandfather. It made absolutely no difference. The only thing that helped was that I'm a geek and I like reading this stuff and any link people here pointed me to I read. And I read condos and SSs. And did web searches.I read journal articles. (I really am a geek.) And I still felt completely overwhelmed. This is a community. We're here to lend a hand. Read what you can. Ask questions. You'll start to absorb the information and feel like you have more control of the info and more confidence.

FYI: for future reference, if you can, don't let Vesta heat within 2 hours of your pre-shot test. You want to get a PS number that isn't influenced by food.

And, like Libby said, good instinct with getting a +10 and +11.

Vesta's numbers are on the rise. You're fine to shoot.

If you mix in a small amount, a few drops (literally) of something sweet, it should be fine. At this point, you're still finding out how carb sensitive Vesta is. It will, however, offset any early drop until DH is home to test. (It sounded like he won't be home until +4, right?)
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

I'm looking at Vesta's spreadsheet again. I think I would go ahead and BCS this dose - shoot maybe 1.5 units. Then feed a good meal, then test before you leave for work. If she's lower than PMPS, go ahead and feed a meal with some syrup in it and leave a note for DH to test when he gets home. She'll probably be higher tomorrow, but we can deal with that then.

Better safe than sorry. I think she'll keep going up, she has a good rate of rise and the food will hit her system long before the insulin does. She doesn't seem to food spike much and she has had some early drops on this dose before. If you were going to be home, then for sure I would yell SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!! for the full dose.

ps I see that Sienne recommended full dose. That's ok too, just leave out lots of MC food. I'm a little less sure about your dose than some because you increased by a full unit when you went to 2 units, so it's not as easy to be absolutely sure that Vesta isn't over dose.
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

Sienne and Gabby said:
FYI: for future reference, if you can, don't let Vesta heat within 2 hours of your pre-shot test. You want to get a PS number that isn't influenced by food.

And, like Libby said, good instinct with getting a +10 and +11.

Vesta's numbers are on the rise. You're fine to shoot.

If you mix in a small amount, a few drops (literally) of something sweet, it should be fine. At this point, you're still finding out how carb sensitive Vesta is. It will, however, offset any early drop until DH is home to test. (It sounded like he won't be home until +4, right?)

Okalee dokalee... Shot 2 units at +12. I'll see where we are at +1 (in 45 min) and leave her food when I head out the door. I'd love to see her stay in healthy blues and greens all night- hopefully I don't screw that up. Go pancreas Go!!!

Mama bean feels a little refried right now~~~
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm looking at Vesta's spreadsheet again. I think I would go ahead and BCS this dose - shoot maybe 1.5 units. Then feed a good meal, then test before you leave for work. If she's lower than PMPS, go ahead and feed a meal with some syrup in it and leave a note for DH to test when he gets home. She'll probably be higher tomorrow, but we can deal with that then.

Better safe than sorry. I think she'll keep going up, she has a good rate of rise and the food will hit her system long before the insulin does. She doesn't seem to food spike much and she has had some early drops on this dose before. If you were going to be home, then for sure I would yell SHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!! for the full dose.

ps I see that Sienne recommended full dose. That's ok too, just leave out lots of MC food. I'm a little less sure about your dose than some because you increased by a full unit when you went to 2 units, so it's not as easy to be absolutely sure that Vesta isn't over dose.

Well crud. Lots of MC food when I leave, it is. That's what I take for taking to long to type my responses.
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107, PMPS~122 PM shot advice?

verra good. :smile:

If the +1 is lower than PMPS, go ahead and do the syrup thing before you leave. It can't hurt anything and can definitely help.
 
Re: 5/14 Vesta AMPS~348 +10~96 +11~107 PM shot advice??

Weather Girl said:
Well crud. Lots of MC food when I leave, it is. That's what I take for taking to long to type my responses.

Nah, I typed too long a response (and I had to think about it before I typed it). Vesta will be fine, like I said, if you were going to be home I would have begged you to shoot 2 units so we could test and get the data. We'll still get a +1 and a +4-ish, so all is well. Just give her some MC food and she'll take care of herself.
 
We're good, +1 went up a little to 139 so I just left another portion of her dinner out and will have DH test at +4 and feed rest of dinner.

On tomorrow's docket
- buy MC and HC foods
- buy timed feeder

On Sunday's docket
- get full curve to see about dose-ing change? Do you guys think we might be at that point?
 
I don't want to anticipate and get ahead of things. Ordinarily, I'd say after this length of time at a dose, a chance could be in order. However, Vesta is getting some very good numbers at this dose. Bottom line is that a lot can happen between now and Sunday.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't want to anticipate and get ahead of things. Ordinarily, I'd say after this length of time at a dose, a chance could be in order. However, Vesta is getting some very good numbers at this dose. Bottom line is that a lot can happen between now and Sunday.

We'll wait and see then...

So happy (overall) with today! So much time in blues and greens... Thinking happy pancreatic thoughts! DH didn't get home from work until +5, but that's ok- I'd almost rather have the bg reading closer to the nadir. He gave her the rest of her dinner (if you can call it that at 1am!) then but she had to be encouraged to eat... Probably all the feeding I did so late in the day before that.

Fingers crossed for another happy day.
 
Mornin' Jamie! (Though you might be headed off to bed already!) Looks like Vesta is doing great!

Please don't get upset over the learning curve with this thing, you are doin' just fine! There's a LOT to learn and it takes a bit of time. It took me a few or four times of having those lower ps numbers to get in the habit of NOT feeding immediately after the test when the number was low. The habit was test/feed/shoot so I'd have the food ready before I even tested, then would put it on the floor and run to the computer to ask "do I shoot? how much?" only to have Sienne or Libby or D say "don't feed yet, test again in 15 mins and lets see if the number is rising or falling." :oops:

I think it took me a while to get with the program of not giving food those few hours before testing too so we were getting higher am ps numbers till I started having the boy pick up the overnight food when he got up for school, which gave the kitties two whole hours in which to starve to death before I got up to test/feed/shoot :lol:

Stuff happens. When it does, use it as a learning tool. Collect all the data you can and make note of it in your ss or condo or something. If someone *looks towards sleeping husband* accidentally feeds high carb food.... test, test, test and see what that food does. When does it kick in, how long does it last, is there a spike after, etc.

The routine part of it will come, before too much longer you'll have the hang of this! You really are doing a great job! Give yourself credit for what you've already learned, it's probably more than you realize =)
 
Good morning Jamie, thanks for stopping by in the wee hours. I've been obsessing myself about being gone and not knowing what to shoot. Tess obliging by bouncing up this am though.

We do indeed have a nice heavy marine layer. We'll see what happens later. Where are you located? In CA I presume?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top