5/14 Rocky AMPS 298 +5 298 +7 289 +9 346

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good evening,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118704

Well, Rocky's numbers are still in the stinky pinkies so I'd rather talk about something that makes me happy. :-D

Yesterdays SS:
AMPS 257 +1 374 +3.5 346 +8 368
PMPS 305 +1 335 +3 205 +7 224 +9 225 +11 349

It's been a crazy busy day and night, actually the entire week so far and it's only Wednesday. I didn't sleep at all last night. I had an appointment for 7am this morning to bring in 4 ferals for multiple spay/neuters at the SSPCA. It's about a 20 minute drive from my house and I had to be there at 7am. It means I get up at about 5:30am.

I spent until 3am last night trying to catch these female cats at one colony I've been managing for 2 years.

I set up 4 traps at Bel Air last night hoping to catch the remaining 3 females at Bel Air that need to be fixed. I haven't seen one of them for almost the entire year so I'm worried that something awful may have happened to her. We do have coyotes around this store as there is a huge field right behind it. Another one made an appearance yesterday morning but then she didn't come by at all last night.. and there is Cocobella..

Cocobella, who eluded me for two years. Last night, this shy Siamese who has never let me or anyone else approach her, who always hid in the bushes and ran away from people, came very close to my car.

I crouched down beside her and said to her, "If you go into one of these traps tonight, I don't think I will put you back out here even if you are feral. You are so pretty. So, say goodbye to all of your friends, especially Mara, if that's what you want to do." Now, when I say "beside her" I mean that she was about 3 feet from me. She has never come to me, or anyone else. She has always ran into the bushes if you approach her.

I never expected her to go into a trap as so many other times she did not do so, but last night, she did.

Cocobella was the only kitty I trapped last night. And she is TAME. I definitely did not see that coming..

She has been living out under this row of bushes at Bel Air for a few years now.. The vets told me that she has a "fractous uterus," which apparently means that she has had lots of kittens.. Poor baby.

Well, she is chillin' inside of her cat-cave tonight, recouping from her surgery. I wish that the SPCA had given me some pain medication for her. I think she is in a of pain because she is not eating a thing.
 

Attachments

  • Cocobella Chillin' FDMB.jpg
    Cocobella Chillin' FDMB.jpg
    169.1 KB · Views: 204
Re: not enough insulin5/14 Rocky PMPS 356 +1 302 +3 287 +8.5

This 1.75u dose is not enough insulin for Rocky either.. He is again snail crawling his way back up to the "breakthrough" dose of 2.0u to 2.50u.

I really hate this.. This is just NOT acceptable. I should have bumped him up to 2.0u instead of 1.75u.

I don't think I'll do .25u incremental INCREASE dosing for Rocky any more. It doesn't work for him. He suffers too much. I know when a dose is BETTER for him because he really starts to pick up and clear bounces-- fast. He is not doing that on this dose.

Rocky should not have to wait 3 days to TRY and clear a bounce before increasing by .25u when his nadirs are in the 200s. :roll:

Bumping him up to 2.0u for this morning's AMPS. Will feed him the 3% carb Artemis until I see a BG lower than the 200s.
 
Re: not enough insulin5/14 Rocky PMPS 356 +1 302 +3 287 +8.5

Tina, Rocky is your cat and you can certainly treat him how you want. I do want to remind you of this section on Tilly's page:

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.
This is so common that we even gave it a pet name on this board - "New Dose Wonkiness." You can ignore it if you want, but I wouldn't recommend it. There is a reason we suggest holding doses for a bare minimum of 4 cycles.

As I said, you're in control and you can do what you want. However, if you are going to start increasing more rapidly and/or by larger amounts than recommended by our protocol, you need to understand that the responsibility lies on YOU to be sure Rocky is safe. Be prepared to do whatever you have to do, including taking him to ER if his numbers drop. The protocol has some built-in safety nets, but you may be throwing those out. Just needed to be sure you are thinking things through.

He had a nadir of 75 on 1.5u. I agree with the increase to 1.75u, but I sure don't recommend an increase of 0.5u with nadirs in green. If he ends up needing that increase after a few days, then so be it, but at least you did your due diligence. Hypos kill, so what's a few days in the grand scheme of things?

That's all I'm going to say, it's in your hands to do what you feel is best.
 
Re: not enough insulin5/14 Rocky PMPS 356 +1 302 +3 287 +8.5

Good luck whatever you decide to do. Are you going to keep Cocobella? I hope so.
 
Re: not enough insulin5/14 Rocky PMPS 356 +1 302 +3 287 +8.5

Libby and Lucy said:
Tina, Rocky is your cat and you can certainly treat him how you want. I do want to remind you of this section on Tilly's page:

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.
This is so common that we even gave it a pet name on this board - "New Dose Wonkiness." You can ignore it if you want, but I wouldn't recommend it. There is a reason we suggest holding doses for a bare minimum of 4 cycles.

As I said, you're in control and you can do what you want. However, if you are going to start increasing more rapidly and/or by larger amounts than recommended by our protocol, you need to understand that the responsibility lies on YOU to be sure Rocky is safe. Be prepared to do whatever you have to do, including taking him to ER if his numbers drop. The protocol has some built-in safety nets, but you may be throwing those out. Just needed to be sure you are thinking things through.

He had a nadir of 75 on 1.5u. I agree with the increase to 1.75u, but I sure don't recommend an increase of 0.5u with nadirs in green. If he ends up needing that increase after a few days, then so be it, but at least you did your due diligence. Hypos kill, so what's a few days in the grand scheme of things?

That's all I'm going to say, it's in your hands to do what you feel is best.
hi tina! just wanted to stop by to urge you to take libby's concerns seriously. she and i don't post a lot any more, but i've worked with libby for years in LL and elsewhere on the board. she knows her stuff. alex is a very sick and difficult cat, but i'd trust libby with alex in a heartbeat... and that's not something i would say lightly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top