Re: 5/14 Merlin AMPS 501,+5/60,+6/50,+8/190
An option might be to try the 1.2 for maybe 6 or so cycles to see what it's doing. That should give time to see what the dose does absent the effect of the counter-regulatory hormones. One other thing that you might think about doing is occasionally grabbing a test a little later in the cycle to see if he's having a later nadir on occasion. For example, if you catch something in the 100's at +6, maybe grab a +8 to see if he had a later nadir. If you catch a lower nadir earlier in the cycle, and see that he's on his way up, a later test to see if his nadir is late isn't probably necessary. That's probably about as clear as mud...
To give an example, during the AM cycles of 5/6 and 5/8, I wonder if Merlin had a later lower nadir after +8. It's not necessary all the time, but some of those cycles that sort of look like he's getting an OK, but not a great nadir at +6, once in a while, you might see if he's gone lower by +8. Just a thought. :smile:
If you're seeing decent nadirs, even if it's not every cycle (to account for bouncing) on the 1.2 you might try holding for a few more cycles, and then trying to go down to 1u for the next 6 cycles. If you see the same patterns, it will tell you that the lower dose is doing the same thing as the higher dose. If his numbers are worse, you can go right back up. If they are the same, or better, hold for several cycles, then maybe try lowering a bit again, and so on...This is fairly counter-intuitive, and is really specific to Merlin. The reason I toss this idea out there is looking back, at the beginning of April, when you first starting spotting some of those nadirs that were too low, a lot of the cycles look similar to what Merlin's doing now, even when you were shooting 3u or 2u. It's
possible that the fast drops early in the cycle are causing Merlin to start to bounce before he even hits what would be a good nadir at a lower dose. By way of example, Merlin had a great green nadir on 0.8 units during the AM cycle of 4/27. He even had a decent cycle with a dose of 0.6u that night before the vetty appointment. 1.4 is close to double the amount of insulin, so about two weeks ago, he had a great nadir on roughly half the dose.
I do want to qualify everything I'm staying here by saying that the decision is yours as to whether to lower, increase, or hold the dose, and you're really doing a great job gathering data, so eventually, one way or another, you'll narrow down what is working and what isn't. It's possible (likey?

) that others may suggest the exact opposite of what I'm suggesting. I wish I had something more definitive to tell you.
Edited to add because I forgot this part: if you are able to hone in a dose that gets nice nadirs and hopefully less pre-shot bouncing, but it still isn't getting long enough duration, you might consider either TID or shooting as needed. Deb basically shoots as needed with Lucian and it varies for her between 8 hours and 12 hours. I did this with Eddie to an extent too...I had to stall with numbers that were too low to shoot pretty frequently, so we shot (as much as we could with our schedules,) once he was over 200 or close to it anywhere from 9 hours to 14 or more hours after his shot. I personally would be reluctant to suggest TID or shooting as needed just yet, to rule out a need for less insulin for Merlin first. But that's just my two cents on that topic.