5/14 Champ AMPS 315, PMPS 318, +1 315, +3 281, +5 282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

I'm hoping to get some eyes on Champ's SS. His BGs aren't awful the way Guinness's are, but I've seen absolutely no improvement whatsoever. I raise the dose, his numbers remain the same. I'm assuming the insulin is still effective because the BGs are coming down after his shots, but they never get out of the mid to high 200's. What is my next step? Or do I just go with the flow and raise his dose every three days hoping that something will finally happen? He just had a vet check and there aren't any dental issues. He poops once a day and urination is normal. He doesn't drink much water, but I think that's because I add it to his food. He still loves to eat, but isn't excessively hungry. He seems completely normal except for a front leg that wobbles when he sits and puts weight on it, but that may just be a strained muscle or something since he's a big cat and could have landed on it wrong. Any insight anyone can give would be appreciated!!!

Other than that...how's everyone's Saturday going? I hope you're all fantastic!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

hi patty. at this point, i would be looking at the option to increase after every 4 cycles rather than holding the dose for a total of 6 cycles.
"if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU"
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

for the last several days, champs mid-cycle numbers have been in the mid to upper 200s. if i were in your shoes i would go ahead and increase the dose by 0.25u after 4 cycles instead of 6. once you begin to see better movement, i'd go back to holding the dose for a total of 6 cycles.

you've just increased the dose. give it 4 cyles and see where he's at before making a decision to increase.

something to remember --- if champ drops into numbers he's not used to he'll bounce. do not increase the dose until the bounce has cleared. this can take up to 72 long agonizing hours.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

I trust your judgment implicitly, Jill!!! And I was hoping someone was going to say to increase his dose more often! :-D Thanks so much for your quick input. I really appreciate it :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

glad i could help. just don't forget to revert back to holding the dose for a longer period of time when he starts dipping into blues. otherwise he could end up being over dose. it happens a lot when caregivers are impatient.
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Gotcha!! If I can get him down to the blue floor, it will feel like flippin Christmas! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Well, good morning sunshine, nice of you to join us today :lol: :lol: At least you didn't completely disappear like i did yesterday.. and you had to work and i played.. some how that just seems so wrong. I hope that you get to relax at least some today and this evening.
Maybe even have a little "Patty" time tomorrow :-D , or is that wishful thinking?

Wanna know what's scary about the conversation you just had with Jill, I knew most of what she was telling you.. Now by no means am i even in the same universe as her with all the knowledge and expertise she has stored up in her noggin, but i guess that means i may actually be learning something here... :-D Just goes to show you what great teachers we have surrounding us..

Yellow floor is nice, but i agree, I think it's time for Champ to move along and come down another floor..
Good luck when you decide to dosecrease! I'll be around rooting you guys on ;-)
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Tomorrow is definitely going to be Patty-time. I'm going to sushi with the daughter and then we'll walk it off doing a crapload of window shopping after which I'll probably stop back into the restaurant and pick up some sushi to go for later that night!! :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm ADDICTED and I don't care who knows it. And sushi is sooo Weight Watcher's friendly :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Hey, whose numbers are you calling "awful"? cat(2)_steam !! Just kidding. Hey at least Guinness came down to the second floor to visit Champ today!

I feel your pain about being in somewhat of a holding pattern, not knowing what to do except just keep upping the dose. It can get really frustrating! I'm not sure that the R will be Guinness's magic bullet, but I just need to try something to move him out of those high numbers that he won't budge from.

Good thoughts for Champ for tonight and good luck with increasing the frequency of his dose increases!
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Hi Patty: It is good to see Champ coming down into yellow and I'm glad you've had Jill's eyes on his SS. Good advice...and you have been a paragon of patience. I hope you will start to see him dip down. Also hope you enjoy your day tomorrow with your DD and SUSHI :lol: :lol: :lol:

I don't know if you ever went back on our condo yesterday when I was complaining about Mike being gone; shame on me. I know there are so many of you doing this alone and it has to be really hard; you are my heros and have my greatest admiration. YOU ROCK!!!! Sorry for being a cry baby and having a pity party. Hope you enjoy your evening with the marvelous Champ. Glad he's feeling well.
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Linda, I sure hope the R works for Guinness. He definitely needs to stop lollygagging (sp?) around on that pink floor!! ohmygod_smile

Marjorie, I think it's quite alright to have a pity party when your awesome hubby has to leave. You're used to having him around so I think it's probably much harder for you when he leaves than it is for me everyday because I'm used to doing it on my own. If I were still with my ex, he wouldn't be helping me anyway because he is pretty much a self centered SOB and then I'd just be mad every day PLUS having to do it by myself. :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm happy for everyone who has a significant other to lean on. Now that my daughter's home, it will be a great respite. I'll have something to think about besides Champ's diabetes!!

I had a major pity party for myself earlier this week, which is why I wasn't coming around very much. I'm sure others have experienced what I was feeling, and I'm begging all of you not to judge me or think less of me, but I was feeling very jealous of those people in LL whose kitties have only been on insulin for a very short time and already are dealing with low greens when I can't get Champ to get out of the mid to high yellows. I know I was probably hormonal on top of it all which just fanned the flames, and I am out of my funk now. But I felt so petty and whiny and it was just AWFUL!!! Sometimes I just need to get a grip!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Jill & Alex said:
do not increase the dose until the bounce has cleared. this can take up to 72 long agonizing hours.

Ah yes, the infamous bounce and the very real agonizing 72 hours to clear - Jesse and I know it well.

Hang in there Champ (oh, and you too Patty :-D )
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

Hi Patty, Just a reminder that ECID. I'm glad that you got such great advice about dosing from Jill and hope that you have a good sushi evening!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276

patty, i doubt there's anyone who isn't familiar with a "poor me, my life sucks" day every now and then. fortunately they pass for all of us!

just think how many things you're learning through all of this with champ. a new vocabulary, for starters. you'd never heard of patience pants before, had you? me neither! and all the medical stuff that was new . .. and the personal growth in the whole patience department . .. . the list just goes on and on. i would say taking care of a diabetic cat probably makes us more in tune with that cat too. so, despite everyone preferring to not have a diabetic cat, there are some surprising plusses to it as well.
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

Oh so true, Julie!! I have days just like Patty was having earlier this week - complete meltdown, as I'm draggin myself out of bed at 5:15, 9 days a week. Then, I also have days were I know the next cat I adopt will be diabetic.

Remember, Patty, we're all in the same boat! No matter how quickly our kitties respond, we're here for eachother!

Have a great night, guys!

Amy
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

I love how you put things in perspective, Julie!! :lol: :lol: And you are, of course, right about it all. :-D

Trixie, I was just telling my daughter that I don't think I'll get another pet after Champ because I never want to have to go through this again. But how does anyone live without a cat in their life? I don't know that I could! :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

Good evening, Patty and Champ!! Sorry your guy's numbers aren't where you want them to be. The past few days have been a pity party for me, so believe me, I know how you feel. I think it is important to focus on the big picture. Every day, you learn a little more, and eventually you will get there. Even with the numbers, I'm guessing that Champ is healthier and happier than he was when you started, and you have to take that as the victory of the moment. You are doing a great job with him and I know you'll continue to do so. ((hug)) I also know it is hard to focus on the positives at times, but have faith... you'll get there!!
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

Christie, thanks for stopping by!! You're very right...Champ is 1,000 times better than he was when he was diagnosed. He's even gained back 1.5 pounds since then (which means he just needs to lose even more now!!). It is nice to know, though, that others struggle with the "woe is me" syndrome every now and again, too! :-D
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

Patty & Champ said:
I love how you put things in perspective, Julie!! :lol: :lol: And you are, of course, right about it all. :-D

Trixie, I was just telling my daughter that I don't think I'll get another pet after Champ because I never want to have to go through this again. But how does anyone live without a cat in their life? I don't know that I could! :-D

I had that thought after my very first cat, Mr Kitty, was diagnosed with lymphoma back in 2002. 4 months after he passed, we adopted 4 kittens!! It is definitely an emotional rollercoaster, but they are well worth the ride.

ETA: Did you notice how dramatic I was in my first post...I drag myself out of bed at 5:15, 9 days a week :lol: :lol: :lol: ! Oh, I love typos!
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

Amy (sorry for calling you Trixie...I type faster than my mind functions sometimes), I totally noticed the 9 days a week and thought you did it on purpose :lol: :lol: Mon-Fri, I get up anywhere between 4-5 a.m. (yuck) and 5:55 on the weekends (can't miss shot time at 6!!). It does take a toll. It FEELS like there are nine days in the week by the time you get to saturday!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

The one thing I can say about following this diabetes/shot time schedule...I have not had one bout with insomnia since Trix was diagnosed! Way too tired for that sort of nonsense! I've got 5 civvies to deal with in addition to Trixie, so in order to get them all properly attended to in a timely manner, I have drag myself out of bed half an hour before shot time, then stay up a good half hour afterwards. But, what can ya do??
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

Patty!!!! yay i'm happy that you're feeling better, its alright to feel crappy and sorry for yourself.....we all go thru it at one point or another.

I know one thing FD has taught me is PATIENCE, something i have never been good at. See, there are some positives to this too! Maybe you can borrow Marje's patience pants? she lent them to me the other day and they really helped :lol: :lol:

Anyhooo i hope you had a great sushi date with your daughter tomorrow and have a great night ;-)
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +3 256, +5 267, +8 276, PMPS 316

Patty, totally know what you mean. When I first started looking at other people's spreadsheets, I was all, what?!? How is it that Junior is peeing gallons for 6 weeks and other cats are on insulin for 10 minutes before they go into remission? I know ECID but WIMCSFD (Why Is My Cat So Freaking Different?).

I'm glad you took the time to catch your breath. It's good for your soul. Usually when I have my pity parties, cake is involved. This week was chocolate cake. And strawberry shortcake. And cheesecake. My spin instructor is going to kill me.
 
Re: 5/14 Champ AMPS 315, +5 267, PMPS 318, +1 315, +3 281

Hi Tracy!! I think I need to invest in my very own pair of Patience Pants!!! Marje is never going to get back the pair I borrowed cuz I have a feeling this bumpy ride is just getting started!!!

Hi Junior's bean (is it Bonnie?), unfortunately, our kitties spreadsheets couldn't look more different, though we've both been on FDMB the same amount of time!!! I wish we were going through what you're going through, but we aren't even close. :? pooh. Oh well, I'm glad someone is getting better. :-D I'm going to Weight Watcher's so cake isn't even an option for me. Another pooh!! But I did have some marshmallow fluff and then had to stand there and listen to my daughter ball me out. :lol: :lol: I lost so much weight the first two weeks going through this that I figured I could have a little bit of sugar to sweet up my attitude....she disagreed. :lol: But she's still going to treat me to sushi tomorrow. CAN'T WAIT!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top