5/14 Blackie +12 37...+13 43 +14 57 pmps 64 at +14.5 +1 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
We haven't seen a number this high in almost a week. I'm wondering if our 11.75/11.75 schedule (to get caught up from shooting late) was giving us better numbers and now that we're back to 12/12 not so good numbers. I'm thinking about increasing a drop, but will wait and see what today and tonight brings.

WCR: Blackie is still feeling good, more lap time last night - he seems more affectionate than usual. Yesterday DH told me the story of Blackie and 2 of our civies trading off in the cat bed by the window. Blackie was trying to kick Josie out of the bed, and then later Josie was trying to kick Blackie out of the bed. Here's a pic of Blackie & Charlie in the bed together a couple of months ago. http://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B0T-yLC ... ist&num=50

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14453
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278

I love that photo! :)

Hope Blackie gets back in good #s for the weekend. Hopefully this is just a blip on his otherwise-great recent string of numbers.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278

See? We can both fit! Plenty of room...LOL....sounds as if you about three of them lined up so everyone can have their own! Entertaining aren't they? :lol:
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63

That 200 pt drop really surprised me. I am really glad DH is home today and can test. I told him to give Blackie a little food and check in an hour. I guess Blackie saw my post this morning about increasing. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 +8 25

Yes HC, karo may be gone quick. You might also have to do small amounts of the HC so Blackie doesn't get too full too quick. Post updated number as soon as you get home!

Good catch DH
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 +8 25

Is dh going to retest in 15? Got enuf hc at home? I'm sure u know to try giving just the gravy or karo so u don't fill blackie up
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 +8 25

I'm home now. At +8.5 he's now at 68. I fed a TB HC. What now? Is he going to go down again?
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 I think its okay

I got home and tested and fed a little HC. Then I looked at the numbers on the meter and I think DH had a little dyslexia. I found a 52 at +8 not a 25. I would laugh except that I cried half the way home so scared for Blackie. I'll keep testing to make sure.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 I think its okay

Guess what? If you hold the meter upside down, a 52 looks like a 25. Whew!! Now I'm dealing with the aftermath of my almost heart attack.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 I think its okay

OH my word, Ele!! I was terrified for you, I can't imagine what you must have been feeling on the way home. I am glad things are okay, but what a scare!! (((Ele)))
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68

Ele
Just picke this up on FB and came shooting over here.
Okay big sigh of relief.
Well at least you have a Dh that test, now he has to do better on the numbers. :-D
Beautiful day for Blackie though.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68

dang! i just saw this on FB too and came racing over, saw you were getting help so figured i'd read everything first. :)

if nothing else you have energy now to build a house or something eh? what with your heart beating as fast as i'm sure it was. :)
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +6 80 +7 63 +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68

Thanks for coming by Randi and Cindy :smile:

Ele, time to put a sticker on the meter that says "this end up" :lol: 52 isn't nearly as bad as 25!
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +7 63 +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68 +9 86

Thank you for coming to help. I'm sorry for the false alarm. I think DH is sorry too. Now we'll have to deal with the fallout from the HC food. Who know's - Blackie may have been headed to the 40's before the HC food.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +7 63 +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68 +9 86

I had the same thought as Jen -- mark which is the top of the meter!!

Just a thought... You were getting greens at +7 and thereafter. Blackie was probably at or past nadir. I wonder if LC or MC would have been a better strategy. It's hard to know (especially when someone is reading the meter upside down) given where the numbers were but it may be something to consider when you are home and can test.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +7 63 +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68 +9 86

Yo Blackie, what a day you had. Here you throw out a beautiful green number (52) and it gets reversed!! What's a cat to do??? Too bad we can't type!

Stu

Hi Ele, I hope that your blood pressure has returned to normal!
Ella

P.S. Thank you for your concern about our friend. It was really shocking to see her like this.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie amps 278 +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68 +9 86 +10 75

You know I almost asked in my first post if dh was reading the meter right. I did that myself once late at night and about gave myself heart attack. I am sure blackie loved all xtra fuds and attention. Hope not too bad bounce.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54

I am very surprised that he is dropping. It looks like the little bit of HC food didn't last long. If this keeps up we're going to have to delay his shot. I guess Blackie likes Friday night test fests, cuz this happened last Friday too.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +8.5 68 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46

Here we go again. Maybe DH's "25" was a premonition that Blackie was going to go low today.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +8.25 50 +8.5 68 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54

I just read the entire thread here and I nearly fell over too! Almost like Blackie pulled a Putty today... rev up to plummet..... and just after I pointed out that he was starting to flatten.... :? You may have an interesting evening Ele....
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +8.5 68 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46

what a day! That's not so bad, I was reading through the notes for a diabetic cat I'm about to bring in to foster, and on one day they wrote that she had dropped to 48 (she had been high for a long time, they had never seen a number anywhere near green). They HC'd her and reduced the dose. They noticed a little later that it was kind of hard to read the far right side of that meter - the 48 was really 481. Oops.

Waiting for +12, Blackie sure does like extra attention on Friday night.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46 +12 37 Help

I fed 1 Tb lc at +11.5 and again at +12. Now what?? For the 2nd time today I'm scared.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46 +12 37 Help

37 at the end of the cycle isn't as scary as 37 early in the cycle. Go ahead and feed a couple tsp of LC and test in 15. Usually you don't need HC at the end of the cycle, but if he keeps dropping we'll do that next. It's ok!
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46 +12 37 Help

just saw that you already fed LC. Test in 15 minutes, and if he doesn't turn around you can give just a teeny bit of gravy. Probably the LC will work, though, it just sometimes takes a little longer to kick in (like it might not have kicked in after 15 minutes, but we might start seeing the effect of the stuff you fed at +11.5)
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +8 52 +9 86 +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46 +12 37 Help

mamabean is home with gravy ... everything will be fine!
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46 +12 37 +12.25 +37 Help

I fed a tiny amount of HC gravy that had some chicken in it. Can I feed more LC?
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +10 75 +11 54 +11.5 46 +12 37 +12.25 +37 Help

stick with small amounts of food, we want to get him up a bit, but we don't want to mask whether his rise is a rise due to the end of the cycle or due to a food spike. Then it gets confusing to know when to shoot. A little LC is fine, just not too much at a time.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie+11 54 +11.5 46 +12 37 +12.25 +37 +12.5 43 Help

I fed one more Tb of LC at +12.25 and just a lc treat at the +12.5 test. Blackie drank some water and is now on his favorite dog bed. I'll check again at +13.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +11.5 46 +12 37 +12.25 +37 +12.5 43 +13 43 Help

+13 43 - I fed another Tb of lc food. I left the Help on my subject line, because I think I'm going to need some support when it's time to shoot.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +11.5 46 +12 37 +12.25 +37 +12.5 43 +13 43 Help

he's getting there, slowly but surely. :smile:

btw, when you do shoot, Blackie has earned a reduction. I would reduce by 0.25, which would be 3.75f.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +11.5 46 +12 37 +12.25 +37 +12.5 43 +13 43 Help

I'm tempted to skip the shot. Last time he surfed for 6 hours past normal shot time and we shot 3 units and he didn't bounce that high. But I'll keep testing and we'll see.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +12 37 +12.25 +37 +12.5 43 +13 43 +14 57 Help

+ 14 57 - I'm going to check again in half hour and then decide on shooting.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +12 37 +12.25 +37 +12.5 43 +13 43 +14 57 Help

he's on his way up, and he should spike even more once he has his full meal (unless he has already eaten his full meal in all those snacks!). Don't wait too long, in my mind +14 is the point at which something needs to be shot, otherwise you mess too much with the shed.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +12 37 +12.25 +37 +12.5 43 +13 43 +14 57 Help

ELE!!! OMG what a day you had!! & it's still going! 25 is a heart thumping number! Glad it wasnt that--
You did terrific, handled it very well...Hope this is the breakthrough you have been waiting for..HUGS~!! for today! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +12 37 +12.5 43 +13 43 +14 57 pmps 64 at +14.5

Sorry, Libby, I didn't see your post until right before +14.5. I shot 3.75 - I don't know if it was fat or not. That's a hard between the lines shot. He's already has his full meal and meds with all these small meals and I fed him another 1 Tb of lc with his shot. Thank you for being here, Libby. It was a scary day, but it's turned out good.
 
Re: 5/14 Blackie +12 37 +12.5 43 +13 43 +14 57 pmps 64 at +14.5

great job! Just get a +1 to be sure he's surfing or rising. I'll be in and out for a little while (trying to get some chores done) but I'll check back in.
 
I'm wiped out, so I'm going to bed. I'll get up and check Blackie at +3.

Thanks for all your help tonight. I don't know when you sleep. :mrgreen:
 
Geez, Ele, I guess you really do have exciting weekends! Sounds like you did great and got a lot of good help. Interested to see what tomorrow brings. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top