? 5/14/17 Sprocket, AMPS/384, +3.4/342,+7/311,PMPS/294.+3/199.+5/140.+6/130.+7.25/137.Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...75-157-pmps-436-2-75-351.177838/#post-1962321

Amps 384.
He ate 1.5oz.
Took meds n 3.25u at 643am.
Eating like a bird. Yesterday he ate @9.3oz for total. Most in daytime.

So now he is higher n doesnt want to eat much?
Or nauseous? But got meds.
Blood results monday.

At least ketone negative last night.
Doesnt seem dehydrated according to the skin pull test.

Ok test in few hrs
 
So now he is higher n doesnt want to eat much?
Or nauseous?

Another thing that might be going on is that, at least according to human diabetics, just the rapid movement of BG numbers yanking them around can make them feel yucky. Not fun, but temporary. Wait and see how he does today, and what the bloodwork says Monday, but it's still good that he's still eating, even if it's not in the amounts you are used to. Excellent news on not being dehydrated or having any ketones!
 
Doing good so far. Except he is eating so much less food that he is gonna end up with alot less dose.
He now has dropped from 294 at pmps to 140 at +5.
Ate about 8oz so far.

This normal?
Will he keep reducing dose with less food? He was eating 12-15oz n now from 9oz to 12oz a day.
How does these reductions work now?
Advice from those experienced people please..???
 
Last edited:
I am not experienced but IMHO:
this is normal.
The drop of 100 point from PS tp +2 was big but it is common - Ducia does it all the time.
The +5 140 is nice safe number. And it was 50 points down from the +2 not bad at all.
The nadir is still ahead so he will be lowering. To make it slow let him eat a little LC.
And test.

There is not much people online now.
DO you want me to stay with you?
 
Ok I am going to get off in a few minutes.
Up to +5 looks like great cycle on the reduced dose. Nice numbers.
If he lowers too much give him a little LC like 2 teaspoons at a time and test. It will let him stay in safe low for longer.
Hopefully someone will be along.
 
I am not experienced but IMHO:
this is normal.
The drop of 100 point from PS tp +2 was big but it is common - Ducia does it all the time.
The +5 140 is nice safe number. And it was 50 points down from the +2 not bad at all.
The nadir is still ahead so he will be lowering. To make it slow let him eat a little LC.
And test.

There is not much people online now.
DO you want me to stay with you?

Thanks. I didnt realize I worded my question unclearly. I just fixed it.
So far no experienced people answered so question will probably continue tomorrow.
 
Hi Darnell.

So are you asking if it is unusual for cats to eat less food on insulin?

Often, as the numbers start to come down and the cat starts to feel better, they eat less. When the numbers are high all the time, the cat is essentially starving, as he isn't getting the benefit of the nutrition he's taking in, so they eat like crazy. As he gets better, he needs less food. 8 oz is a lot of food for most cats. We usually judge if it's enough by the calories, as opposed to the volume. What does he weigh now? Is he underwieght?
 
Hi Darnell.

So are you asking if it is unusual for cats to eat less food on insulin?

Often, as the numbers start to come down and the cat starts to feel better, they eat less. When the numbers are high all the time, the cat is essentially starving, as he isn't getting the benefit of the nutrition he's taking in, so they eat like crazy. As he gets better, he needs less food. 8 oz is a lot of food for most cats. We usually judge if it's enough by the calories, as opposed to the volume. What does he weigh now? Is he underwieght?
Sorry with unclear on question...lol...obviously brain was not awake enough to form the question. Will try again today.

Anyway. Vet on sat said 15.6lbs but they did it quick n i didnt see it settle.
Yes he is eatig less but i wanted to know how that works with dosages as his bgs fall down?
Does that make sense?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top