5/13 Rusty PMPS 166, +4.5 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43206

I think that Roni is right and that the new Lev cartridge I openend yesterday is not good (it was the last one in the box of 5). So I began another new cartridge this morning from the box of 5 I received last month from Canada. Rusty is subdued and hungry and drank water again this morning. I think he feels the higher bg. I sure hope this new cartridge will turn him around. It's interesting: with Stu I never thought anything about fluctuations, swings, spikes, etc. in bg. They were "normal". But Rusty is so well regulated that I worry when I see these "abnormalities". And in this instance there are so many variables: the trip(s), the old insulin being at the end of the 42-day period, the fur shots and partial fur shots, the new insulin not seeming to work.
Well, we'll see what happens today.

Hope you all have a good day today. It's Friday the 13th. My Auntie Elsie's lucky day. She was born on a Friday the 13th and died on one. She always used to say what a lucky day it was. I hope it will be a great day for all of us in LL!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!

Wow, that's wild about your Aunt Elsie! Good luck with the new cartridge!
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!

Sorry about the numbers and all the trouble with the insulin. Hopefully Rusty will come down today and starts feeling good again.

Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!

Good morning guys .. sorry to see rusty so high today .. I hope the new pen works out and rusty is back down to his beautiful blues before to long .. how strange on your aunt! Hope you have a great weekend!
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!

Good luck with the new insulin!!! I am waiting, not so patiently, for mine to get here from Canada.

That is crazy about your aunt. What are the odds of that I wonder?

We hope you and Rusty have a great day and weekend!
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!

Yikes Rusty. Mommabean gonna give you some new insulin to fix ya right up buddy.

Hope your cellar is finally starting to rid itself of the water and you can finally get some rest.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!

Ella, it's got to be the pen. Yikes, I hate surprises like that! Makes me wonder...I only have one more pen in my box. Maybe I shouldn't wait, and go ahead and get another box, although boy it hurts to pay out the money.

Good luck today. Rusty, come on down sweety!
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!

Here's definitely hoping it was a bad pen. This is not Rusty. I'm sorry he's feeling it, too.....hopefully this pen will kick in and bring him back down.

So funny about your aunt!!! She sounds like she was a wonderful character. Hoping the basement issue improving, too.
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!, +5.5 176

Hi again,
Rusty is coming down on the new, new cartridge, so keeping fingers crossed. With Lev onset begins around +4 or +4.5, so we'll know better later this afternoon. Rusty had quite a morning. We were out in the garden and he spied the chipmunk on the stone wall, so he ran over there and spent some time meticulously poking his paw into every opening between the rocks. Chip-chip, of course, probably got out underground. While Rusty was busy, Shadow (the neighbor cat) came over. He really wants to be Rusty's friend and tries to get closer and closer to Rusty. Finally Rusty chased him away ("my stone wall, my chipmunk") and Shadow hissed (for the first time; the lack of agression is why I think he wants to be Rusty's friend). Anyway, his bean was outside, so I asked how old Shadow is and he is only about 6 or 7 months old, so still a kitten. I think Rusty respects that he is so young. He's a beautiful black kitty with a full, fluffy tail.
Just got up from the cellar: not much change in the worst spots (ice water coming up from the ground as if a faucet is turned on!), but some of the other spots are not so bad anymore.
Back later. Lots of chores to do.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!, +5.5 176

Rusty has a definite preference for long-haired cats like himself, so hopefully he can become friends with the neighbor kitty.
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!, +5.5 176, +9 156, PMPS 166

Hi guys - better lat than never... this DGS stuff just delays everything! :lol: :lol:

I hope the new Lev pen does the trick. I am so not used to seeing Rusty yellow. pmps looks better, so paws crossed.

Loved the chipmunk story - I can see Rusty working so hard to find it. :lol: I to think that Shadow ants to be friends. He is such a young one. Well - maybe Rusty ha the beginnings of a kitty friendship there.

Good luck with the cellar. It sounds like some improvement? I hope so... and that the rains hold off, or aren't so hard that you have more problems. Good luck with it all.

Rusty!! Grillin' time! Off to Java's! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!, +5.5 176, +9 156, PMPS 166

oh, Russy...we gotta get this turned around!

love the Aunt Elsie info...I'm betting she was a character!

hope the cellar mess resolves quickly...
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!, +5.5 176, +9 156, PMPS 166

Yep, Auntie Elsie was neat. She lived to be 99, but didn't do too well after breaking her hip at age 91. I spent a lot of time with her during the last 25 years of her life (we both lived in Brooklyn, she in the house in which she had been born). She saw a lot of the 20th century: was a flapper in the '20s, a sophisticate fashion plate in the '30s, and had a career in the garment trade, so she really kept up with the latest styles. I miss her. She was my favorite aunt, the last of my parents' generation and a link to a time and a place.

Rusty is tired from all his activity today. We hope he'll be back in his usual good numbers soon. He's off to Java's OTJ party with his grillin' stuff.

Ella
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!, +5.5 176, +9 156, PMPS 166

It's good to see Rusty coming back down. It sounds like he started to feel a lot better as the day went on. i hope the new lev is the key.
 
Re: 5/13 Rusty AMPS 208!!, +5.5 176, +9 156, PMPS 166

Paws crossed on the new insulin. I don't think I could make a pen last that long....I make too many mistakes with bubbles and then dealing w/sticky plungers.

Curry said she was fixin' some lizard stew for tonight's OTJ party for Java....She was out catching the little rascals today.
 
Well, we're back up in yellow! Sure don't know what's going on. I don't think Rusty is sick or anything. He just can't seem to bring his numbers back down. Maybe I should raise his dose. Will ask for advice tomorrow.

Ni Ni everyone,

Ella & Rusty
 
Maybe Michelle's right...he just has to refill his shed with the new lev.

Great fun on your condo today...Aunt Elsie was really an interesting person!!! Ni Ni Ella.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top