5/13 Rocky PMPS 305 +1 335 +3 205 +4 224 +9 225 +11 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KySLGEazlYk&feature=kp

OOPss!! haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118644

FYI- LIbby (AKA "Libby and Lucy", Global Moderator) commented on Rocky's condo that I posted above. She provides some helpful information there.


Thank you SO VERY MUCH LIBBY for making me feel like I was "OK" for wanting to raise Rocky's insulin dose right back up to at least 1.75u. I needed some moral support to do so. I am sending you a bouquet of flowers through the internet, can you smell them? :mrgreen: Of course now that he has managed to get to blue and green on 1.50u, I'll wait and see if he can do it again tonight. He is probably bouncing right now.



Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 295 +1 361
PMPS 283 +1 271 +3 183 +3.5 171 +5 102 +7 75 +9 97

What a difference one day can make. I've even got a killer migraine right now and Rocky is back in pink numbers, but the BLUE and the GREEN last night..what a RELIEF!

I fed Rocky the 11% FF Grilled Turkey and Giblets for all three of his mini-meals last night. At PMPS his BG had finally come down.. Hallelujah. From that point on his BG continued to come down slowly... NICE.. :cool:

As many of you know this is a very big change in diet for Rocky. I almost always feed him the 0% carb Nature's Variety Instinct canned Venison. So, 11% carbs is like- WHAM! :shock: ---(Previously, I always fed him an 11% carb to bring his BG up when he had gone below 50.)

In the overnight hours last night when his BG was in high green numbers I chose to fed Rocky a tiny bit of HC, even though he might well have come down and surfed the green in lower numbers if I had not fed him anything. I was actually hoping for a BLUE surf... I fed him (1) measured tablespoon of a true HC-- Science Diet Light Liver and Chicken, which is 33% carbs. I believe the food did spike his BG a little bit, which is what I wanted. I needed to sleep and I did not want him to possibly dive into the 40s during that 15 minutes when I was getting sincere REM. I-) I am never sure if Rocky's liver and pancreas will surf in green numbers once it sees a green number. :roll:

When I think about green numbers instead of seeing Rocky I see a Cockerspaniel diving his nose and entire face into a patch of daisies in a gigantic field of green, just sniffing, and sniffing, waging his tail his with rear in the air and then--- ACHOO!-- he let's out a big sneeze. :shock: (and uh oh-- then Rocky is in the 40s, again.) haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley

I sure do hope that Rocky can regain the momentum he had last night and surf at least the blue numbers tonight. I would be content with that, but, it may be that I need to raise him back up to at least 1.75u to achieve a long stretch of blue and green numbers.
 
Re: 5/13 Rocky AMPS 257 +1 374 +3.5 346

Good luck with Rocky's new plan. As we all know, some cats require a little more finagling than others with this whole FD thing, and it looks like Rocky is one of them. I'm glad you got lots of good info and guidance to help you map out the route!
 
Re: bounce? 5/13 Rocky AMPS 257 +1 374 +3.5 346 +7 368

Thank you Amy. I was getting great advise here. I do appreciate everyone who is trying so hard to help me get Rocky regulated. I was just seeing this forever string of pink numbers and it was super depressing me.. 13 days with no blue or green, and hardly any yellow. It was getting scary. nailbite_smile

His BG is on the way back so I think this is probably a bounce from the bit of blue and green last night. I hope that I see a yellow number by PMPS shot time, but I don't think it's likely. I DID feed him (2) tablespoons of a 33% carb food and he has not eaten a food with that many carbs in it since, oh, ever since I had him December! That's about 6 and 1/2 months with hardly any carbs in his diet.

I will wait through tonight's cycle to see if this is a bounce, if I just overloaded him with carbs, or if this just isn't enough insulin for him. If I stay with the 1.50u through tonight's shot he will have had seven cycles on 1.50u. If I increase tomorrow it will be up to 1.75u. I haven't decided what I'm going to do at PMPS yet. :roll:

It's WONDERFUL to see that Trixie is OTJ right now. How many days has it been without insulin for Trixie? It looks like you have resolved whatever other health issues she had and that may have somehow helped her BG to come down within a high normal range. Excellent, excellent, excellent! :-D

I have to go trap cats tonight to bring them to a scheduled spay/neuter clinic at 7am tomorrow morning. That is part of the reason why I'm not sure I would raise his dose tonight. I won't be here all day tomorrow to monitor him.
 
Re: bounce? 5/13 Rocky AMPS 257 +1 374 +3.5 346 +7 368

Trix has been without juice for almost 3 weeks now. Normally, this would be an "officially" OTJ cat, but since her circumstances are bit odd (suddenly stopping insulin because she was sick), it's a little different. Still, it has helped not having to worry about insulin while she was dealing with the pancreatitis! I think she's still recovering, but she is doing much, much better...
 
Re: bounce? 5/13 Rocky AMPS 257 +1 374 +3.5 346 +7 368

Hi Tina

I've been looking at Rockys SS but since Libby popped in and gave you her thoughts, I don't have much to add.

I think the good thing is that Rocky does not seem to be a diver. :-D I'd try to feed something in the 5-10% carb range on a regular basis and see where his numbers go. You might be able to raise the dose a bit once you see how the food does with his BG curve.

The other thing is, I'd simplify. I used to mix foods, too, to get a certain %carbs. It's just easier if you have his regular food and then some higher carb for fast dropping or for low numbers. Perhaps the Merrick CC at 18% would work. 33% seems really high unless that was the as-fed number.
 
Re: 5/13 Rocky PMPS 305 +1 335

I think that the SD Light Liver and Chicken flavor is an 'as-fed' number because I got it from Dr. P's. List.

I agree with you Marje, I don't want to be mixing foods in the same bowl together. I have only done that one or two times when I didn't have the HC and he had dropped to the 40s. I had to improvise. I don't think it would taste very good either. :?

I fed Rocky the 11% FF Grilled Turkey and Giblets last night. It was interesting because his BG started to come down right away. I'm not sure if it was because of the way his body was responding to the new amount of carbs or if it was because the insulin dose had finally kicked in. And you're right, 33% carbs if pretty darn high!!

Elise, he is already on a steady climb up instead of down, so I am now going to feed him the 3% Artemis for his remaining 2 mini-meals. I'm then going to raise his insulin dose tomorrow morning to 1.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top