5/13 Merlin AMPS 320,+5/265 PMPS 460

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/13 Merlin AMPS 320

It is 100 points lower than yesterday, but yes, higher than we want.

I imagine it feels like you are just spinning your wheels, Cindi. I don't know whether an increase, decrease or change in insulin would be the answer, but I think it's time to try something? He was bouncing at lower doses too, but you did have better nadirs.
 
Re: 5/13 Merlin AMPS 320

I agree with Sue. Have you spoken to your vet? What did he say?

I really don't know if an entire week at a dose is necessary. Merlin doesn't seem to need time to settle in and you want to bring those numbers down. I usually went 3 days at a dose and then changed until I got my sliding scale. I feel like a week is wasted time since he's just hanging in high numbets. That's just my thought but you may want to try changing the dose more often so we can help Merlin feel better soon.

Hang in there!
 
Re: 5/13 Merlin AMPS 320

5/13
AMPS 320; 1.4U
+5 - 265

I dropped the spreadsheet off at the vet this morning along with my one page letter. I pointed out a few tests and suggested that we try a lower dose of at least 1.2u or lower. He agreed and asked me to try 1.2u. Then next week, he said that he would like to run another blood test (the simple one that is done before the dental) to see if his numbers has changed at all. Also he would like to run a fructosamine test too. I guess I am not totally sold on the fructosamine test yet. All I can say there is that I have the data, would this test tell me anything that I already don't know??? Will the fructosamine test tell him what would be a correct dose? I think all it is going to tell us that he is too high and we know that.

Also he said that I don't need to test during the day but I still don't know why he wants me to not test. The data is good and I showed him the results of that data that showed possibly a lower dose is better and that is what convinced him to lower the dose. So I am still a little confused on that direction. He is the second vet that told me that so I guess I will have to ask him next week about that. Anyway, I will continue to test at nadir. With me being gone Thursday through late Sunday night, my husband will be testing him. He is still practicing and hopefully will get it by Thursday morning.

I sure do like the fact that he is interested in the spreadsheet and takes my suggestions in consideration. I don't know what we are going to do if his blood test come back bad and he can't have his dental done. I know that if he can get that dental done, he will feel a lot better or at least we will know if there is any problems with his teeth.
 
5/13
AMPS 320; 1.4U
+5 - 265
PMPS 460; 1.2U

Ok - starting the 1.2U and will go a few days with this. I am not married to 1.2U for the duration of a week. So if you have any suggestions in dosing, please let me know. Even though I will be gone (till Sunday), I will still try and post and will be working very closely with my husband. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top