5/13 Max AMPS 176PMPS 286+2=265+3=196+4.5=163+6.75=100

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S

AMPS 237 +3 268 +4.5 270
PMPS 277 +2= 216 +4.75= 55 +5 =40 +5.5= 39 +6.5= 58 +7 =70 +7.5 =83 +8= 76 +10.5= 176

So he cleared a bounce + fur shot lat night and the took a huge dive. I've been dosing with calipers but probably not doing such a great job of it. I had measured 2.01 and had to take a reduction. Since Max wasn't holding reductions we went shaved the dose and I gave him 1.88. Now I don't know what to do in an hour and 20 minutes.

Thanks.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Hey Elise,

It doesn't look like many people are online right now; I hope someone who has more experience than I do can help you with the dosing before shot time. Just my two inexperienced cents' worth - I would definitely take a reduction this morning. The protocol strongly recommends the full reduction when cats hit the 30s like Max did last night, but I know Max hasn't held reductions well in the past. If you don't get any advice from the veteran users before shot time, I would probably take the full reduction just to err on the side of caution.

I know, I know - I'm pretty much worthless in helping you with dosing! ohmygod_smile I'm sending lots of moral support your way, though!
Shelly
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Thanks.Shelly. Last time it was suggested to shave the dose which I did. He bounced of course and the fur shot Ssturday really made him go high. He finally cleared it last night only to immediately dive and now I might need a second reduction which he don't hold. I think I should have the dose again but just not 100% what that would be.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

I remember the conversation about shaving the dose from a few days ago. Last time, you shaved the dose from 2 to 1.88 (halfway between 1.75 and 2). Assuming you did shave the dose again, would it mean that you should move it down to 1.75? That's my immediate thought.

I wish one of the "veterans" was online right now. I saw your condo from yesterday, too. I hate that you're having PJ parties by yourself. :cry: I'll try to stay up one night this week and see if I can party with you. ;-) What time do you shoot in the PM?
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

I'm going to shave it back to 1.75 which would have been the dose he would have gotten last time. I shoot at 7:00 which is now so I will set the calipers and shoot now. Thanks for the offer to stay up with me, Shelly. It isn't necessary, really but so appreciated. Next time I will go for the karo earlier to avoid having to take one step forward and two steps back!!He is already bouncing.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Hi guys .. well unfortunately I don't have any dosing advice for you either .. I do know with mocha's past experience there were several times we were getting failed reductions then boom, one day it would just work .. sometimes you have to go up in order to come back down I guess! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

I would agree to shave it back to 1.75. If Max had danced in the upper 40s, I might say try another cycle, but low 40s, and 30s, are a serious message! It is frustrating when they don't hold a reduction, isn't it?

Just remember, you can always give more insulin. You can't take out insulin if you inject too much! :smile:
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Elise

I want to be sure that the numbers on your SS in the U column are the units and that the measurement in your caliper is not the same as the units, correct? I'm only asking because we had one member who thought if the cat was on 2u then the caliper measurement was 2mm. I know some members put their caliper measurement in the remarks.

One thing I have noted about many cats is that when they are clearing a bounce, the cycle can get quite active. I know that it's easy to think that a 39 could be a 45 and so it's not necessary to take a full reduction. But a 39 can also be a 35 and since there has to be a cutoff somewhere on reductions, I think the full reduction would have been the way to go.

From the modified TR protocol:

If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

I know it's hard to want to give that full reduction for a kitty that doesn't seem to hold them but it's the safest thing to do when you don't have years of data, etc. the other hard thing for me to learn was that if Gracie failed a reduction, it was ok to go back up....it wasn't a failure on anyone's fault. There are just so many variables with diabetes hat are out of our control and so if it's the safest thing to drain the depot, then I'd do it and go back up if you have to.

So where to from here? You could consider that you shot through a bounce this morning and take a full reduction tonight. It might take a few cycles to see whether he will hold the reduction. If he doesn't, take him back up. If you look at Gracies SSs, we've had times that we have had to go up and down around a specific dose. I just don't get attached to one. :-D
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

Marje, if I take a full reduction he will be lower than he has been in a long time. I took him back to 1.75 where he has been without problems. I basically shaved it down twice now which is where he would have been if I had taken the full reduction last week.

As for the calipers, I measured from where I was dosing when I got them. It seems that it was about at 2 units but measured 2.1 on the calipers. Do you measure from the zero line each time?
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

I'm not sure if you are still using Monojects? For the Terumos, 2u on the calipers would be about 3.04mm.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 DOSING ADVICE PLEASE

I am still using the monojects. I have a box of Terumo waiting for when I use these up. I have about 40 left.
The measurements in the units is what I see on the calipers and it seems to be about the same as the units.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286

are you still feeding slightly higher carbs to prevent him from getting dose reductions? i can see you sure wouldn't have had much notice last night when the 55 showed up, but in general, are you still following that plan?
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286

That is my plan if I see it coming, Julie. I questioned whether to do it when he dropped but decided to wait a little and you know the rest. If I ever see a 50 again I will go for the big guns. When I did give the gravy lovers he still dropped even with karo. He might be clearing the bounce so I need to be careful tonight I guess.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286

Do you think it's a good idea to go with the higher carbs if he start to drop?
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286

not high carb, per se, just higher low carb. like a 8% or so.

yes, i would keep giving him enough so that you prop up those nadirs a bit. it was working pretty well with him for a while.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286

No advice from me Elise, but I hope Max is getting ready to clear that bounce for you...but that he takes it a little bit easier tonight! Max, we're all very impressed! No need to be quite such a daredevil!
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286

The number in yellow tonight for Max is pretty.. Rocky's shot time is in 10 minutes. I don't have a clue if he's made it back down to a yellow number. I kind'a think not. :roll:

Max cleared that bounce very well. Congrats!
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286+2=265

Sorry I didn't get back to post and respond to your question on measuring from the zero line.

If you assume the zero line is the plastic ring where the plunger hits when you push it all the way in, then that's where you measure from. Don't use the black zero line in the syringe as it varies from syringe to syringe.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176 +2=324+4.5=303PMPS 286+2=265

Thanks, Tina. I hope he actually cruises in yellow tonight. Fingers and paws crossed for Rocky too.

Yes, Jen,enough of the dramatics. I think I got about an hour of sleep last night. I could have gotten a couple but I was too wound up.

Julie, I'm trying the chunk fancy feast that I think is around 10% tonight.
 
Re: 5/13 Max AMPS 176+4.5=303PMPS 286+2=265+3=196

Okay, so he is already high blue. I think I will try more 10% if he will eat it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top