5/13 Junior PMPS 128 +3 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

MauiGuppy

Member Since 2011
Whew! What a day yesterday! Thank you to everyone for guiding me through. Junior would've certainly hypo'd if it weren't for you all!

Today Junior didn't finish his normal 1/2 can of FF breffis, which is odd. He wouldn't bleed and was not a happy pokey camper, so I wasn't able to get a +1. I think I'll give him a break today and get +4 and +8.

Not an urgent question but I'm looking at the fine dose pictoral guide. I understand that you need to be halfway between the whole and half units but I'm not confident how accurate I am because it's hard to see. How confident are you in giving accurate 1/4 units? Sometimes I see people giving .1u and the markings are so small that I don't think I can see the difference between a .1u and a .25u, even with my glasses on!

BTB for a quick snooze.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143

Good morning guys .. wow, what a day yesterday! So glad everyone was here to help you out .. you did great! Junior is looking nice in blue this morning ... can't really help with the measuring question .. peter tried showing me the difference on our syringes when we got down to microdosing and I could barely tell a difference ... have a great weekend!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143

i just try to keep repeating the same dose and it doesn't really matter what you call it. as long as you are consistent. i'm at a .25 dose now and was thinking this morning how much i hate trying to measure .25 . . . but i try to memorize where i'm at and just do it again.

btw, you don't want to skip from +4 to +8 . . . not after yesterday and especially because it doesn't look like junior bounced much with an amps of 143. at least i wouldn't - make a judgement at +4 but you may have a repeat of yesterday, so test and be sure he's safe.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +4 114

Good point Julie! I'll test him more frequently today. He was less squirmy and bled better at +4, total opposite compared to +1. Hope he'll keep cooperating!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +4 114 +5 95

Wow - barely a bounce!! Both Junior and Abby wanted to head for basement yesterday but apparently Abby was the only one really scared!! Great job you guys :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +4 114 +5 95

glad you saw that - you don't have to overtest, but you don't want to be complacent about it. abby definitely bounced, but not your guy!

seems like it takes about 2 weeks til their ears start bleeding more consistently, at least for punkin. i'm not sure if punkin was more glad when we reached that point or me! you hate to keep poking them to get blood.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +4 114 +5 95 +7 103

Still trying to master the ear pokes. In the meantime I've been using his hind paws. Sometimes the blood pours out and other times it's a teeny drop and a prayer.

Question:
Should I be worried about Junior's behavior? He's just been blah all day.
  • He woke me up this am b/c he was hungry but didn't finish his breffis
    At +5 didn't seem hungry but ate the normal amount I usually give him at +5
    Doesn't follow me around like normal
    The few meows he gave were whiny (there's happy meows, angry meows and whiny meows)
So is this normal after a decrease in dose? Or is he pooped from yesterday's chaos? Or could this be the start of something new altogether?

He's been sleeping all afternoon (normal) and when he's up, I can't quite put my finger on it. Spacey but aware? He just seems off.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 Question on blah behav

I'll let others smarter than me comment on whether you should be worried, but I can tell you that this morning Abby was kinda blah as well. She wasn't real interested in chowing down all her food and basically wanted to hang out against the wall. I've seen this with her after she has a lower cycle in which I've had to test a lot. I don't know whether it's a result of the lower numbers or because she's physically exhausted from being woken up and poked for hours on end. Either way Abby seems to snap back within a day or so.

Again, I'm not saying this is what Junior's issue is at all. I'm simply sharing my experience with Abby. Both Abby and I were rather zombie-like today!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 Question on blah behav

who knows? but punkin always seem lethargic when he gets below 100ish. i've noticed it because somehow i thought he'd be all active and energized, but he isn't. if that's the only symptom i'd probably just keep on eye on him for another day or two. if you start seeing other things, gut or ? then maybe a call to the vet.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 Question on blah behav

I know what you mean! Something is different but you cant figure out exactly what it is, but you can totally tell there's something.

I think it takes them some time to adjust... Willy does the same thing (except he actually grooms himself some which he never does and never has done).

I try to think of it if you go a few weeks to a few months eating blah foods and drinking soda and then one day you stop and start eating really healthy-- you feel kinda yucky for the first few weeks even though you're eating really healthy and it seems like you should be feeling better. Then all of a sudden you wake up one day and you feel amazing! Or caffeine/sugar withdrawal... the body throws a tantrum for a little bit then you start feeling better once you have detoxed. When I exercise a lot after not having done a lot (like right before snowboarding season :lol: :lol: ), I feel yucky cos the muscles are releasing lots of past toxins and such... maybe its similar for kitties?

I hope Junior starts acting better! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 Question on blah behav

For some cats, spending time in lower numbers "feels" different. They aren't used to being in a normal BG range after spending time in higher numbers. I suspect as Junior gets used to being in the blues and greens, he'll get perkier.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 Question on blah behav

So true on what Sienne said. I notice that Leo definitely is blah and lethargic when he's in lower numbers. When he's in the pinks or low reds, he acts like his normal kitty self. I'm hoping that will all go away when he gets used to lower numbers.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 Question on blah behav

Thanks for all your responses, it's good to know that there are other kitties experiencing the same thing out there. Yes, he does seem like a zombie today (like his bean) but sometimes I'll catch him just staring at me, like he's plotting to kill me or something!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 +11 98

I've been reading Data Ready to Shoot Low Numbers? and made a mental note to do more testing at the neglected spot checks.

Junior's +11 dipped down and I'm trying to prepare on what I should do if his PMPS is still in the same neighborhood. His PMPS is 6:30pm CST. He's been kind of hungry since +10.5 but not starving, so is the dip related to that?

I keep reading that Lantus likes consistency and punctuality but then I've read that newbies should stall. Should I feed him and then test again 20 minutes later? Or give him a smaller dosage?
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +7 103 +11 98 PM Dose Questio

I had this issue the other day... here is the link

It may not answer all of your questions but might help a little bit, especially with what to title your post so you can get some help.

I hope this bumps your post so someone with experience can explain better to you


I need to add that the original BG in question (+12) was 148 and it was his first time in blue on the new dose (5.0u). Since its in the higher range- I didn't want to make a rash decision.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 Should I shoo

Thanks Stephanie! Marjorie's explanation was helpful because Junior's PMPS increased.

But now I'm a little more confused. Yesterday's post on Abby said to shoot but then the Data Ready to Shoot Low advises not to shoot below 150.

I'm going to test him at +.5 (7pm CST) and go on from there.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 Should I shoo

MauiGuppy said:
Thanks Stephanie!

Now I'm a little more confused. Yesterday's post on Abby said to shoot but then the Data Ready to Shoot Low advises not to shoot below 150.

The Data Ready sticky advises not to shoot below 150 if you're a newbie. Most of us are not newbies by the time we become active in LL - we have lots of data and we're not afraid of collecting more. ;-)

We're following a tight regulation protocol, and you can't get tight regulation unless you shoot low when you have a chance.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99

Thanks for stopping by Libby and Lisa!

I'm definitely NOT shooting! Just tested him and his BG dropped back down to 99 and this is with him stressed about getting poked. I'm going to go ahead and feed him now.

And of course I saw that part about being a newbie on that link...AFTER you pointed it out! I totally glossed over that part.

Thank you for stepping in!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99

oh, I assumed you had shot. You shot lower yesterday and almost the same number this morning, AND he was rising.

If you're feeding now, then I would go ahead and shoot. If you're planning to keep stalling then I wouldn't feed.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99

Ok, I'm going to shoot first, ask questions later. Will be back in a few minutes.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99

Yeeesh! Trying to get that 1.25u is hard! I'm always second guessing whether or not I'm in between the lines enough.

So for future reference, if he's <150 again, should I stall, post for help, and then go on from there? I read that Data Ready sticky post as don't give insulin, period. This makes me more mindful of getting those early and late cycle spot checks.

And since I was 1 hr late in getting his dose (btw, and PRAYING it wasn't going to be a fur shot! :-D ), I should shorten the next 4 cycles by 15 minutes to get him back on schedule, correct? Do you think it's fruitless to get his +2 today? Everything is off.

Thank you!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99

Have you read my Dealing With Low Preshotspost?

The 150 in the Data ready sticky refers to people who are brand new here, usually the ones who appear out of nowhere when they go to Health and make their first even post to say "help, my cat is at 72, what do I do?" We don't know those people at all, don't know if they can test, don't know if they have high carb food, and don't even know if they will ever come back again to let us know whether they shot or the results.

Once you are posting in Lantus Land, and especially once you are a regular, it is assumed that you are ready to follow our protocol and work toward better regulation. The Data Ready sticky explains how to collect the data so when you DO get a lower preshot, you are prepared to deal with it. Then the Low Preshots post describes the thought process that goes into helping you decide when to shoot. When somebody asks "should I shoot?" those are the exact thoughts that go through my mind, every time.
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99

Nice job today, and I'm sure that Junior will get more used to the lower numbers and act himself again very soon. To answer your question about getting back on schedule: yes, you can move your shot time ahead by 15 minutes twice a day (at morning and evening cycles) or by 30 minutes once a day. The 15 minutes twice a day is probably easier on the kitty.

Have a good evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
(sorry I missed your exciting day yesterday!)
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99

and what great numbers! junior is doing awesome - and you, too Bonnie! really! it's only nervewracking the first couple of times on any of this.

as soon as you fully realize it into your bones that you are able to control their drop by 1) testing, 2) high carb food and 3) karo syrup, it takes away the fear. you played junior like a master fiddler last night! i guess that's why everyone calls it the "sugar dance."

i hope you get to sleep some tonight, but know you can always set your alarm and snooze inbetween tests.

cheers!
 
Re: 5/13 Junior AMPS 143 +5 95 +11 98 PMPS 128 +.75 99 +3 11

Sorry it took me awhile to post. Thank you for caring and asking for updates! Junior was having a hard time bleeding and kept getting cranky at +2 and +2.5. Managed to get some blood at +3 but not much. This is with hot rice socks too.

Question
I don't think I fully understand Libby's answer to my earlier question on what to do if Junior's PS is <150 (linked actual question with Libby's response below linked here).

I understand we should collect early and late cycles but I'm in that in between stage now. Until I get more data, what range would it be safe at to shoot? Minimum 100? 110? Junior's PS has been low for 2 days in a row. Reason I ask is I'd hate to continually bug you guys with "should I shoot?" questions. You guys have been so generous to spend so much time with me that I really feel bad for other beans who need help. Plus you guys have lives too.

Kristen, you're right -- this cat is making me sweat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top