5/13 Jude | AMPS 103; +2 166; +5 116; +8 79; PMPS 88; +2 112; +4 87

His numbers look so much better these days 😃 Looks like his nadir is shifting to later in the cycle… what do you think?

Hope you and all the other kitties are well and healthy.

His new picture is ADORABLE 🥰
 
His numbers look so much better these days 😃 Looks like his nadir is shifting to later in the cycle… what do you think?

Hope you and all the other kitties are well and healthy.

His new picture is ADORABLE 🥰
It is shifting! Good eye, Kat. I'm not sure what to make of that. I was just posting elsewhere and noting Wendy's advice about nadirs coming later in bounce-breaking cycles, and that made me think about him bouncing, which I think has been happening. I've been trying to shave his dose to stop the bouncing. I don't want to lower it too much, but I want to prevent him from going to a number that is causing a bounce. I'm going to try to grab some later p.m. cycle tests to see where he is. Thoughts?
 
It is shifting! Good eye, Kat. I'm not sure what to make of that. I was just posting elsewhere and noting Wendy's advice about nadirs coming later in bounce-breaking cycles, and that made me think about him bouncing, which I think has been happening. I've been trying to shave his dose to stop the bouncing. I don't want to lower it too much, but I want to prevent him from going to a number that is causing a bounce. I'm going to try to grab some later p.m. cycle tests to see where he is. Thoughts?
Looking at his SS, since you skipped the one night, things have really changed. Could it be that depot became unstable and this is just his “new pattern” while things re-stabilize? I would think with him seeing much more green these days that he wouldn’t bounce but he has been a bouncy boy as of late. Getting those extra tests both in the am and pm cycle sure helps to see what he’s doing. I know he’s a grazer but if you can pinpoint his drops it could help to add a snack each cycle at that time to smooth things out. Although, I’m not sure how easy that is for you.
 
I've been trying to shave his dose to stop the bouncing. I don't want to lower it too much, but I want to prevent him from going to a number that is causing a bounce. I'm going to try to grab some later p.m. cycle tests to see where he is. Thoughts?
Is that why you reduced his dose on the 10th? He didn't earn a reduction. Bouncing is not a bad thing. It is his bodies protective mechanism. Reducing the dose to reduce bounces just means he gets used to higher numbers. Which means he bounces more if he sees a lower number. And if you lower the dose yet again, he'll see even higher numbers and get used to them. This is a slippery slope to glucose toxicity.

For any lurkers, the above is not how TR works. A cat following TR earns reductions by either a week in solid green or going below a reduction point.
 
Is that why you reduced his dose on the 10th? He didn't earn a reduction. Bouncing is not a bad thing. It is his bodies protective mechanism. Reducing the dose to reduce bounces just means he gets used to higher numbers. Which means he bounces more if he sees a lower number. And if you lower the dose yet again, he'll see even higher numbers and get used to them. This is a slippery slope to glucose toxicity.

For any lurkers, the above is not how TR works. A cat following TR earns reductions by either a week in solid green or going below a reduction point.
i don’t have a clear understanding of how bounces work yet but that kinda helps understand a little the mechanics of it.
 
Is that why you reduced his dose on the 10th? He didn't earn a reduction. Bouncing is not a bad thing. It is his bodies protective mechanism. Reducing the dose to reduce bounces just means he gets used to higher numbers. Which means he bounces more if he sees a lower number. And if you lower the dose yet again, he'll see even higher numbers and get used to them. This is a slippery slope to glucose toxicity.

For any lurkers, the above is not how TR works. A cat following TR earns reductions by either a week in solid green or going below a reduction point.
I work long hours in the a.m. cycle, often not getting home until his PMPS, and I worry when I have to leave him to go to work that he's going to go too low. Those numbers in the a.m. cycle of 5/9 and 5/10 were carbed, and they didn't move him up much. So I was worried that he would drop. I don't want to confuse or mislead anyone, so I'll change my dosing method to custom.
 
Back
Top