5/13 Ella pmps 403 +1=398 +3.5=335

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Happy Mother's Day to all you extra special beans who pour your heart and soul into ensuring you kitter/s are as healthy as can be. cat_pet_icon


Yesterday's condo on new vial dose http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70824

I looked at my schedule for Monday and it looks like I may not be able to come home at lunch so I decided not to use the new the vial just yet. Perhaps I will give the .75u a few more cycles and if needed, take off a day mid week to experiment with the new vial. I also have a three day weekend coming up where I would have plenty of time to experiment, although by then Ella would be in the pinks for 3 weeks! (cringe)
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338

That AMPS is better. I can see yellow .. almost. Come on Ella, work that juice.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338

Thanks for the positivity Dyana:) I hope we see a little sunshine today:)
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373

+3=401 totally and utterly discouraged. Should of tried the new bottle but I feel like my hands are tied with my schedule.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401

Give her time, Tamara! Ella may want you have a rest on Mother's Day. She'll come down later with Rosy.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401

IMHO, there's no reason to wait to start the new insulin, even if you think the old one might have been toast. You know how to monitor, so even if the numbers change you can deal with them (and isn't that what you want, to get the numbers to change?).
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401

I do want them to change but I'm not home during the day to monitor so if it takes a few cycles to kick in and I'm not home to sort her out, then she can potentially be in great trouble. I can't keep taking days off work. That's what I mean by not working with my schedule.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347

Libby, would you recommend starting the new vial at .75 or at .50u?

There was some discussion yesterday in regards to adding too many variables to the mix (ie: increasing dose and new vial).

Thanks:)
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347

I have never lowered a dose, because I was starting fresh insulin. I have tried to be around to test, and gotten a few extra tests in, that first cycle, just to see if the new insulin made a difference. And mostly, if there was any difference at all, it was very slight.
I think, you can start the fresh insulin tonight, as you don't want her to stay in pink for another week, do you? That's just MHO.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347

Thanks for checking in Dyana:) I was under the impression by a few of the responses that it might not be wise and/ or safe to increase her dose and start a new vial as I'd be adding a few variables to the mix, including the fact that I can't be around to monitor:(

Dyana said:
Sorry, if I'm being confusing. Actually, I prefer not to start a new pen and do a dosecrease at the same time. I would wait a day or two. Or, maybe even until Friday night. But, I would definitely buy the new insulin to be ready.
Lets see if anyone else has an opinion.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Tamara....I have increased with a new pen and also waited, changed my pen first, and then increased if I needed to. I have come to the same conclusion as others that one variable at a time is easier to handle at least for me.

Remember that when you increase the dose, you might see higher numbers...new dose wonkiness... for the first couple of cycles. Some cats get NDW, some don't. It could possibly be what you are seeing.

Also, keep in mind that if her insulin is toast, you will have to do a little bit of shed building with the new insulin so you might not see numbers come right down. But ECID.....the main variable.

Your schedule has to be considered. If you were able to be there to monitor her closely the next few days, I might be tempted to leave her dose, get your new pen started, and test test test. But since you have to work, I'd be more cautious as Dyana suggests just in case it is the insulin.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
I also wouldn't do a dosecrease at the same time as opening a new vial/pen. Why add another variable? Hi Tamara. I hope that whatever you decide to do, Ella will come down to better numbers.
Hope you are having a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty

If there's anyone that wants to see her numbers change, believe me, it's me:) My only concern is dosing her and not being here to help her out, considering that she is an unreliable eater. I'm just trying to figure out the safest way to do this. I can't come home for lunch tomorrow and sitting at work anguishing over whether Ella is safe doesn't seem to be a good solution. I guess I could dose her tonight and if I'm uncomfortable with her number in the morning then I could skip the shot? But perhaps she might give me a pink in the morning and then when I dose her she might show some action as I'm out the door and unable to check on her. See my dilemma?

I understand that it's up to me to make the final decision as I hold the syringe but I take everyone's advice to heart as you all have way more experience than me:) Considering my particular situation, I'm torn and still confused as to what dose to shoot her safely with the new vial.

Thanks for listening:)
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347

I'm leaning on the cautious side only because Miss Ella had some spectacular dives not that long ago. With no one to check on her if she decides to pull that stunt again, well... nailbite_smile But as soon as you know when you'll be around to monitor, I would begin using the fresh insulin the cycle before that. It doesn't tend to kick in immediately, and she can start rebuilding her shed with the new stuff sooner. I know those pinks suck, but as long as she's not throwing ketones or otherwise acting like she feels poorly, it is what it is. She'll be OK. Dose-wise, hard to say. The pinks/low reds make me feel like not recommending a lower dose with the new insulin, especially since we're not absolutely sure the old insulin is toast. If you are able to test a lot after the transition and are emotionally able to handle it if she dives again, go with 0.75U. Like you said, you're the one holding the syringe.

MJ
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

I meant raising the dose to 0.75 and starting fresh insulin at the same time, on the very same cycle. She's been on the new dose for two cycles now, and if it were me, I would be anxious to get the numbers down.
I understand you're concerned about her reaction to the fresh insulin, because maybe your insulin is toast. You mentioned something yesterday? I think it was, about possibly taking a day off during the week? Perhaps you could start the fresh insulin that day, or a day, when you are able to come home at lunch.
Sometimes a new dose causes NDW and takes a while to settle in, so waiting a few days to see if this new dose does anything, wouldn't be a bad idea. I just hate to see her so high for so long. I think she might start to get used to these numbers and start to "think" they are normal. KWIM? Just my thoughts at the moment.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

Hi Mj and Dyana,

Do you think it would be bad to shoot her .50 and see what happens tonight? I really don't know what to do.

edited to add: with the new insulin
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

Only if you'll be around for the aftermath. Otherwise, I'd wait until you know you can be home or come home to check on her. Just my opinion.

MJ
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

Tamara

Ella, Dyana, and I are saying the same thing but I think you have taken one variable out because you already increased. You've got two doses under your belt; and yes, it will likely take a few more doses to get past any NDW and for her to settle into a dosecrease. My reference was to increasing the dose and changing the pen on the same cycle and I should have been more clear on that. I also agree with Dyana that I have never decreased the dose before starting a new pen....I've just done extra testing.

I do understand your dilemma: you are worried that If you start the new insulin tonight, even if she doesn't come down tonight, you are not able to be there tomorrow if she does come down then. But...isn't that the case any day? What if you didn't change the insulin and tomorrow, she got through any possible NDW and came down? Is it possible for DH to come in and check her or a relative?
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

You make a good point Marjorie. No one can come over tomorrow. I need to shoot now and I'm more confused than ever. I can take Tuesday off so therefore can give the new insulin tomorrow night and be around for tuesday morning and evening. I just don't know.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

That sounds like a good plan to me.
Shoot the older insulin tonight, and start the fresh insulin tomorrow night. Does that make you feel more comfortable?
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

I dosed her .75 with the old insulin. I am also thinking I will call the vet tomorrow and possibly take her in to see if she has a UTI. She's peeing more but I attribute that to being hyperglycemic. I placed a piece of paper under her when she was peeing and there wasn't any blood but a few days ago she made a little noise as she was peeing. I haven't heard it since though. Perhaps there's something brewing?!

Val, Lucy's mom sent me some .5 unit syringes to try so hopefully those will bring Ella good luck! I noticed the needle was much shorter than the one I use. Does that make it more difficult to get it in to the sub q area?
I'm assuming not since Lucy had her OTJ part today!
Is the something different I need to do to her skin when using the shorty's?

Thanks for clarifying what you all meant Marjorie:) I was under the impression that you meant changing the insulin during any dosecrease not the same cycle.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

Tamara

There are pros and cons to using the short needle (5/16") vs the long needle (1/2"). There is some indication in some cats that the long needle can increase absorption but there also appears to be a greater chance of doing a fur shot.

I use the short needle because the long needles don't come in the smaller gauge (31g) and Gracie always "meeped" when I used the larger gauge syringes. She never notices when I shoot her with the smaller gauge (shorter needle) and I think her numbers indicate she gets absorption.

It really boils down to a personal preference, I think.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

Dyana said:
I think she might start to get used to these numbers and start to "think" they are normal. KWIM? Just my thoughts at the moment.


I think she's used to these high numbers after 12 days:( She's purring and playing so I think she thinks it's normal. I will try the new insulin on Tuesday at .75u.

Thanks Dyana:)
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

Is there a greater chance of a fur shot due to the "meeping?" :smile: Or is there another reason as well?
Ella doesn't mind the longer needle. There's only one spot on her back that irks her and I avoid it. I felt like because it was so short that it didn't get far enough under the skin. It was a bd and much easier to get the air bubbles out so I hope it works:)

edited to add: do you shoot at a 90 degree angle or 45 with the shorter needle?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Tamara

There are pros and cons to using the short needle (5/16") vs the long needle (1/2"). There is some indication in some cats that the long needle can increase absorption but there also appears to be a greater chance of doing a fur shot.

I use the short needle because the long needles don't come in the smaller gauge (31g) and Gracie always "meeped" when I used the larger gauge syringes. She never notices when I shoot her with the smaller gauge (shorter needle) and I think her numbers indicate she gets absorption.

It really boils down to a personal preference, I think.
 
Re: 5/13 Ella AMPS 338+1=356+2=373+3=401+6=347+9=371

Sorry to see the numbers have been so high since the 'great reduction'. I wonder if she is still having a later nadir? Dropping around +9/10 to +12? Im not suggesting she is dropping too low. Rather doing more of her drops during that time period? I don't know...just a thought, since she used to seem to drop from +8 until +1 or +2 the next cycle.

I hope you get things sorted out with the new insulin/dose/etc. ECID, some don't react to new doses or insulin pens right away. Others do. You do what you think is best, monitor, and consider it data for the next time you have to ponder this situation.

Hope you enjoyed the weekend (did I hear you say paddling???), and you are all rested up for the week. The countdown is almost finished 'till summer!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/13 Ella pmps 403 +1=398

I never really saw much difference with the length of the needle as far as ease of shooting went...
But, although Binks is a shorthair...he has that very unique Manx coat that has long guard hairs,
with the unbelievably thick short soft hairs beneath.
My solution was to shave a patch of hair across his back just behind the shoulders- and after that, we
rarely had a fur-shot.
Binks rarely even noticed that he was getting a shot, cause he had his little snout buried in his food dish :lol: :lol:

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

celi & her brats
 
Re: 5/13 Ella pmps 403 +1=398

I used all kinds of needles with Stu over the course of 5 years, and he never noticed the difference. I wound up with the short needle because it comes in a smaller gauge and has 1/2-unit markings, and that's the one I started Rusty on. I had trouble shooting Rusty at first because his hair is so long and I was shooting on his side, behind the shoulder (the way I did with Stu, who was a shorthair). But when I switched to shooting at the scruff, it became much easier. I always try to hold the syringe as parallel to Rusty's body as possible. I pull up his hair (making an "automatic tent"), find some skin, and shoot.

Don't be afraid of the fresh insulin. Don't go back to .50 now that you have shot .75 a few times. When you start the fresh vial tomorrow night, just shoot .75. It will be OK--really it will!

Happy Mothers' Day!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/13 Ella pmps 403 +1=398

Thanks for checking in Ella! I will be shooting her .75 with the new insulin tomorrow evening:)
Thanks to you and Celi for the syringe tips. Much appreciated :-D
 
Re: 5/13 Ella pmps 403 +1=398

No advice Tamara, just wanted to wish you a Happy Mother's Day, you are a very good bean, and Ella, I know, appreciates you so much. You are doing such a wonderful job with her.
 
Thanks Barb, that's very kind of you:) I hope you had a wonderful Mother's day aswell! Hugs to you and Daphne :YMHUG:

Ella +3.5=335
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top