5/13 Bud AMPS 402 Switching to TR - increasing tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacym20

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-amps-487-2-454-6-25-283.137621/#post-1419150

So I chose SLGS since I can't monitor during the day through the week and had concerns of doing increases when I couldn't monitor. But, I have a couple questions. After Bud earning reductions for falling below 90, them failing, and having to go back up, my questions are:

1. Do I test enough for tight regulation?
2.Or, can I do SLGS and modify it so that he doesn’t earn reductions unless he falls below say 70 instead of 90?

I’m just anxious to get Bud in better numbers and keep him there.
 
I'd suggest you read the sticky note, Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? That will help to address a lot of your questions.

Personally, I think you're testing enough to do TR. If there's any way you can get an additional test in during the AM cycle, that would be ideal.

I honestly don't know how to answer your question about SLGS. In principle, the approach is the approach. However, there isn't the same research supporting SLGS as there is TR so ostensibly, it can't hurt to drop the threshold for a dose reduction especially if you're more comfortable holding the dose for a week.
 
I'd suggest you read the sticky note, Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? That will help to address a lot of your questions.

Personally, I think you're testing enough to do TR. If there's any way you can get an additional test in during the AM cycle, that would be ideal.

I’ve read over that sticky and that’s why I am considering changing to TR. I just needed confirmation from someone with experience such as yours to push me over the edge to do it. :) Thank you!
 
It sure looks to me like you are testing enough for TR. Which insulin were younusing before levimir?

Thank you! Bud was on Prozinc before Levemir. Staring at his spreadsheet, it looks like maybe I got better numbers more often with Prozinc, but am maybe getting better duration with the Levemir? I don’t know. Any opinions on that? Was switching insulin the right thing to do?
 
I'm not sure why you reduced him from 0.75u to 0.5u because I don't see that he earned a reduction...he didn't even come close so, yes, I'd increase back to 0.75u.

He got his best numbers on Prozinc around 1u and he was getting green numbers at 0.75u on lev. If he were my cat, I'd leave him on levemir. It's a fantastic insulin but you have to give it time to work. Any time you switch insulins,mint can take a bit of time before you see results so just be patient and let's see how he does. I bet you will be happy with the results.

Good luck with the increase!
 
I'm not sure why you reduced him from 0.75u to 0.5u because I don't see that he earned a reduction...he didn't even come close so, yes, I'd increase back to 0.75u.

He got his best numbers on Prozinc around 1u and he was getting green numbers at 0.75u on lev. If he were my cat, I'd leave him on levemir. It's a fantastic insulin but you have to give it time to work. Any time you switch insulins,mint can take a bit of time before you see results so just be patient and let's see how he does. I bet you will be happy with the results.

Good luck with the increase!

I reduced because on 5/9 Bud got down to 70. I thought you reduced if they fall under 90 on SLGS?

I think I do get better duration on Levemir. It's just looking back at his spreadsheet, it looks like he was in better numbers more often on ProZinc. I'm not thinking of switching back, just needed someone's opinion that it was the right thing to do. Self confidence and second guessing issues much? Yep, I have them... My brain never wants to turn off... And I just feel like a newbie all over again having switched insulin... I got comfortable on ProZinc after a while, I'm just not there yet with Levemir.

Thanks for the good luck wishes!
 
I reduced because on 5/9 Bud got down to 70. I thought you reduced if they fall under 90 on SLGS?

Yes...absolutely you are correct and my apologies. You did say you were just starting TR today. I had Bud = TR on the brain:rolleyes:. You did correctly. I'd still take him back up.
 
I don't think you can say that he did better on Prozinc. In my not so expert opinion I think you just haven't found the right dose of lev yet. I see several days without shots that also brings you back to starting over. I also think that you might have much better success with TR.
 
Levemir is a great insulin. I have found it has a later nadir than lantus (and possible Prozinc, but I don't know that insulin to comment on it.) Sheba often has a food spike for the first three hours after the shot, but the duration is good once you get closer to the correct dose. Once you know what the insulin does for your cat it makes it easier to see where they are heading (even when they are going the wrong way:rolleyes:)
Good luck with the TR.
 
Levemir is a great insulin. I have found it has a later nadir than lantus (and possible Prozinc, but I don't know that insulin to comment on it.) Sheba often has a food spike for the first three hours after the shot, but the duration is good once you get closer to the correct dose. Once you know what the insulin does for your cat it makes it easier to see where they are heading (even when they are going the wrong way:rolleyes:)
Good luck with the TR.

Thanks for the good luck wishes! Bud's nadir on ProZinc seemed to be around +4. Yikes! He definitely was a fast dropper on ProZinc. I don't think he drops as fast on Levemir so that's gotta be helpful. So, I think I have a better understanding of bounces and new dose wonkiness as of late, but what is up with them going the wrong way sometimes?! o_O Guess that's probably the work of bounces...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top