5/13 Blaze amps 91 +3.5 72 +7.5 86 PMPS 95/8 +2 85 +4 64

0.10 U on calipers is 0.132mm, I’m going to give a tiny bit more, and do 0.16mm on calipers and give that a try today.

Blaze was on 0.36 mm on calipers (a tiny bit more than a normal 0.25 U).
 
Last edited:
Hi Sarah! How are you using your calipers to measure? I use calipers too, but must be measuring the dose differently since ".51mm" is getting us much lower than .25u. I'd be interested to see how you're measuring to see if I can be more precise and shave her dose more effectively.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sarah! How are you using your calipers to measure? I use calipers too, but must be measuring the dose differently since ".51mm" is getting us much lower than .25u. I'd be interested to see how you're measuring to see if I can be more precise and shave her dose with more precision.
Hi Patricia! Which syringes do you use? That makes the difference in the measurements. I’m using Relion syringes 3/10mL cc, 31 Gauge, 8 mm length. Each syringe is different for calipers measurements. On these syringes, 1 U is 1.32 mm on calipers (I used the sticky for calipers to find that) so when I was down to 0.25 U, I multiplied 1.32 by 0.25 to get 0.33 mm. I was giving a tiny bit more than that, which was 0.36 mm on calipers, because that was working for Blaze. So when Blaze earned a reduction last night and I was trying to figure out what new dose to give him today, I multiplied 1.32 by 0.10 to get 0.132 mm, but I decided to give a tiny bit more insulin and gave 0.16 mm on calipers this morning.

I’m not an expert on calipers so I hope I’m doing that right, I don’t want to give you the wrong information. I was told that it doesn’t matter what other people’s measurements are, as long as your calipers measurements are consistent, that’s what matters. And the type of syringe makes a difference too. Also, since each syringe’s plunger can vary slightly, I always push the plunger all the way up before drawing up insulin, and measuring from wherever the plunger is, with the first prong of the calipers, if that makes sense? I hope this all makes sense and I hope someone chimes in if I’m wrong.
 
I use the BD Ultra-Fine 1/2 Units - so the measurements are slightly different from yours from the get go. I think my question is more about the "how" of measuring them since the BDs (and I believe the Relions, too) have a lip unlike the pictures in the stickied thread. I feel like there is a way to be more precise than how I am doing it now, if that makes sense! This will probably be easier with pictures...

Which side do you use to measure? Left or Right?
Image from iOS (1).jpg


Where do you put the "top" prong - at the 0 line or at the lip?
Image from iOS.jpg


Thank you for bearing with me!!
 

Attachments

  • Image from iOS (1).jpg
    Image from iOS (1).jpg
    30.8 KB · Views: 141
  • Image from iOS.jpg
    Image from iOS.jpg
    22.8 KB · Views: 159
I use the BD Ultra-Fine 1/2 Units - so the measurements are slightly different from yours from the get go. I think my question is more about the "how" of measuring them since the BDs (and I believe the Relions, too) have a lip unlike the pictures in the stickied thread. I feel like there is a way to be more precise than how I am doing it now, if that makes sense! This will probably be easier with pictures...

Which side do you use to measure? Left or Right?
View attachment 53515

Where do you put the "top" prong - at the 0 line or at the lip?
View attachment 53516

Thank you for bearing with me!!
Okay got it! Yes our actual measurements will be different since we use different syringes but I see what you’re asking now.
I use the bigger side, the left side on my calipers
BBA306F2-3EB5-4377-8E6F-58EB8A8FC45B.jpeg

I put the top prong wherever the plunger is when it’s all the way pushed up, because I’ve found that there’s some variance with all syringes. Where ever the plunger is, is my “zero line”. Sometimes the plunger is above the first line, sometimes it’s even and sometimes it’s under it, so I know that if I put the top prong wherever the plunger is pushed all the way up, from the top prong to the bottom prong will be the measurement I’m trying to dose. I’ll try to get a picture of syringes that I have where the plungers are in different places, even though they’re all the way pushed up. It’s a little hard to see so many zoom I’m on the pictures.
E37B9618-3FD7-4426-A464-1466D5F2A623.jpeg

on this syringe, with the plunger pushed all the way up, the plunger is ABOVE the line.
092EA362-FB1F-4EBC-ADB7-0172B1979BF4.jpeg

On this syringe, with the plunger pushed all the way up, the plunger is almost below the first line, slightly in the middle of the first line.
So since the lines and the plungers pushed all the way up vary so much, I line the first prong up with wherever the plunger is when it’s pushed all the way up, I hold the calipers up to it and see where my dose “should” be. Then I draw up the insulin to where it “should” be. That’s how I was told to do it. Does that make sense? I feel like I’m making this confusing.
27FBCD5F-F81A-4A5B-9D9D-E17DD58C0CA4.jpeg

so for example, this syringe, with the plunger pushed all way up, has the plunger above the line. So I put that top prong even with whenever the plunger is and measure from there for my dose.
22898AA6-362E-40E5-A87A-D3103858D1FA.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • BBA306F2-3EB5-4377-8E6F-58EB8A8FC45B.jpeg
    BBA306F2-3EB5-4377-8E6F-58EB8A8FC45B.jpeg
    38 KB · Views: 94
  • E37B9618-3FD7-4426-A464-1466D5F2A623.jpeg
    E37B9618-3FD7-4426-A464-1466D5F2A623.jpeg
    47.9 KB · Views: 94
  • 092EA362-FB1F-4EBC-ADB7-0172B1979BF4.jpeg
    092EA362-FB1F-4EBC-ADB7-0172B1979BF4.jpeg
    60.1 KB · Views: 97
  • 27FBCD5F-F81A-4A5B-9D9D-E17DD58C0CA4.jpeg
    27FBCD5F-F81A-4A5B-9D9D-E17DD58C0CA4.jpeg
    68.5 KB · Views: 98
  • 22898AA6-362E-40E5-A87A-D3103858D1FA.jpeg
    22898AA6-362E-40E5-A87A-D3103858D1FA.jpeg
    40.4 KB · Views: 96
Congratulations on the reduction! He's really showing his colors now isn't he! So exciting to watch him make his way down the dosing ladder! Look at all that green!! I sure hope he's on his final leg of this journey...now I see you're going to be away for a few days...oh gosh...why do these things always happen when it's getting good? It's like watching an exciting movie or reading a really great book - pause - nooooo...not right now...but I'm sure that whatever the reason it's important. Wish you could take that handsome dude along with you.

I have to say Sarah, you've done a great job with him...and being off work has been a real blessing for you both!

I hope that green scene continues on his SS. He's looking just fabulous!! Have a great evening!!

P.S. Great job sharing your knowledge of using calipers!! You have indeed learned a lot :)
 
Congratulations on the reduction! He's really showing his colors now isn't he! So exciting to watch him make his way down the dosing ladder! Look at all that green!! I sure hope he's on his final leg of this journey...now I see you're going to be away for a few days...oh gosh...why do these things always happen when it's getting good? It's like watching an exciting movie or reading a really great book - pause - nooooo...not right now...but I'm sure that whatever the reason it's important. Wish you could take that handsome dude along with you.

I have to say Sarah, you've done a great job with him...and being off work has been a real blessing for you both!

I hope that green scene continues on his SS. He's looking just fabulous!! Have a great evening!!

P.S. Great job sharing your knowledge of using calipers!! You have indeed learned a lot :)
Thank you Sue! I figured he would tell me when he’s ready for a reduction so we just kept chugging along on the 0.25 U dose until he told me he’s ready for less juice! And I had a feeling he would ask for a reduction right before we head out of town!:facepalm: I hope it doesn’t throw things off too much. It definitely makes it harder to reduce his dose while we’re out of town for a few days now that we are on 0.10 U. I guess we’ll just have to have the pet sitter give a drop while we’re gone. Not a whole lot more that we can reduce :confused: I hope it doesn’t throw off all good momentum we have going.
We’re going camping for Memorial Day weekend, leaving 5/22 and coming home 5/25. I thought about bringing Blaze but we camp in a tent so I think it would be difficult. He’s never gone anywhere besides the vet, he doesn’t do well in the car and we camp about 2 hours from home. I don’t want to stress him out so I decided to leave him at home and have the pet sitter come twice a day. I hate to leave him but I have been off work and stuck at home for two months now, we have probably another two weeks off before we head back to work and I need to get out of town, get some fresh air and relax for a few days before I go back to work. Things are going to be VERY different for us in the dental field and I doubt I will have another out of town outing for several months. Hopefully Blaze can keep up the good work for a few days without me :nailbiting:

Than you! I definitely think this time off has been a blessing to because I was able to focus a lot more time to Blaze and getting him into these good numbers! I really hope the greens continue as well:D thank you Sue! Have a good evening!:)
 
Our pet sitter came over tonight to practice with Blaze. I did PMPS and he was 95, pet sitter tested right after he ate and it BG was 80.
 
@Patricia & Noodle
I hope that all makes sense!
It does! It was very helpful. I measure a bit differently since I use the right side and essentially measure my “0” (where the top prong is) as the point where I can touch the syringe with the prong. The zero line on the BDs is a bit further from the lip that on yours and wildly inconsistent too, so I don’t really use that as a marker either. It’s hard to describe, but I basically hold the syringe up to the right side and bring the calipers directly to the side of the syringe so the prongs touch. It’s further down from the lip due to the angle of the calipers. Here is the worlds worst sketch of it. :smuggrin:
EC23F39F-F3BC-48D4-AA09-2BDBDDEFA7EB.jpeg


Basically just trying to figure out another way because of the inconsistencies in the syringe lips (at this dose those differences could be big!!) + the difficulty in seeing anything smaller than what I’m dosing now using the right side of the calipers!! Your method helps!! I have some testing to do this weekend on options.
 

Attachments

  • EC23F39F-F3BC-48D4-AA09-2BDBDDEFA7EB.jpeg
    EC23F39F-F3BC-48D4-AA09-2BDBDDEFA7EB.jpeg
    38.2 KB · Views: 134
It does! It was very helpful. I measure a bit differently since I use the right side and essentially measure my “0” (where the top prong is) as the point where I can touch the syringe with the prong. The zero line on the BDs is a bit further from the lip that on yours and wildly inconsistent too, so I don’t really use that as a marker either. It’s hard to describe, but I basically hold the syringe up to the right side and bring the calipers directly to the side of the syringe so the prongs touch. It’s further down from the lip due to the angle of the calipers. Here is the worlds worst sketch of it. :smuggrin:
View attachment 53522

Basically just trying to figure out another way because of the inconsistencies in the syringe lips (at this dose those differences could be big!!) + the difficulty in seeing anything smaller than what I’m dosing now using the right side of the calipers!! Your method helps!! I have some testing to do this weekend on options.
That’s a great sketch! I’m glad all my rambling made some sense. Maybe try it a different way this weekend and see if it works better. I hope it gets easier for you and you find a better way that works for you :bighug:
 
Back
Top