5/12 Zener PMPS 219;~2 144;~3 152;+5 101;+6 122;+7 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Today
05/12/12 Zener
AMPS 406, 14th cycle s1.5u, 2/3PP 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 0.95oz 10%, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle of sisu
+1 460, 0.5oz 10%, 0.45oz 5%, 7 drops kidney liq
+2 401, 1 PP, 3 mg zobaline,

Zener was surfing in the low greens from shot time to +2 last night, even dipping to 49 (1st time below 50 on this dose) so we decided to skip. So that's why we're seeing those ugly colors this morning. Hopefully, he can regain his momentum. Too bad I wasn't about 5 minutes later on the +2. :roll:

I have a question about giving carbs to slow down big drops. My understanding is this is a good strategy to try to minimize bouncing from the big drops. In Zener's case this morning, would the drop from 460 at +1 to 401 at +2 be considered a big drop that should be carbed? Anne and I debate this. She says that the +2 is about the same as the PS so that's not a big drop. I think that the drop of 59 in an hour qualifies as a big drop. Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated.

Happy Caturday LL! Did you see that Katie is home??? :-D :-D :-D Isn't that the best news of the day? Thinking of ailing kitties, hoping for good health for all.
Liz
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401

Hi Liz, gosh I'm no expert on the carbs and drops thing, but it doesn't seem like the +2 is not that big a drop, as Anne stated. The +1 is probably food spike. I hope others weight in here on it. I know there are some that carb to keep from having the big drops.
Yes, great news about Katie coming home, a miracle nd power of prayers and hope.
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401

Hi Liz, gosh I'm no expert on the carbs and drops thing, but it doesn't seem like the +2 is not that big a drop, as Anne stated. The +1 is probably food spike. I hope others weight in here on it. I know there are some that carb to keep from having the big drops.
Yes, great news about Katie coming home, a miracle nd power of prayers and hope.
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401

I tend to agree with Ann....the +1 looks like a food spike to me and the +2 is almost the same as the AMPS. BUT...given that it is the same and not alot higher, I'd keep an eye on him today in case he decides to come down.

What if you hadn't gotten the +1? If you just got a +2...wouldn't you think there was no drop? Also....what about meter variance? 20% of that 460 still puts you in meter variance of the AMPS.
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401;+4.5 316

Hi Liz. Sometimes I don't respond in a post, because I have no answer to a question, and don't want to clog a thread.
I wanted to say "hi", and good that Zener is coming down. :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401;+4.5 316

Liz is out on a bike ride and it's a beautiful morning.
Today
05/12/12 Zener
AMPS 406, 14th cycle s1.5u, 2/3PP 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 0.95oz 10%, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle of sisu
+1 460, 0.5oz 10%, 0.45oz 5%, 7 drops kidney liq
+2 401, 1 PP, 3 mg zobaline,
~2.5, 0.4oz 5%
+4.5 316, 0.5oz 10%

Zener still is not back to full speed. Seems to still have some tummy pain, and his appy is not great. We finished up the cerenia last night and it usually lasts 24-36 hours so we shall see what happens the rest of today and tonight. Hopefully, the cerenia pills will be in soon. We are thinking this may be something he needs on a regular basis and what we read seems to support you can use the pills and ondansetron together.

@Ann & Maggie - thanks for your input. Will give Liz and I something to discuss later! :-D

@Marje -thank you! We often have discussions about meter variance, which I do not grasp well as I am math impaired. :lol: We started getting a +1 to watch out for big dives, and if there is not much change at +1 we've been preparing for an active cycle. The increase we see at +1 can be really large sometimes, and that often happens when there is food plus bounce on the way. And then other times, he drops like a rock. :roll: More for Liz and I to discuss later. :razz:

@Barb - support is always welcome and we love when folks visit, no answers required. ;-)

Zener just came out of his summer hidey place in the closet, ate a little and is now outside sunning in his backyard. :-D

I'm off to commencement in a couple of hours and then we are officially done!
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401;+4.5 316

:-D :-D :-D

fs-graduation-cat-card.jpg
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401;+4.5 316

Well, you are done for the semester and it looks like Zenner is done w/ the bounce. Enjoy the rest of the day! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401;+4.5 316

Mr. Z - boy u iz EXTRA sweet today aren't you! ...but we all know dat...

Hey Zener, Pepper here. Sins we iz bof blak, can I cum liv wif u? MamaBean gif me a drooler to liv wif. It makz funne nois an keeps me awak givin her 'da look'. It jus donn unerstan 'da look'...

OH BOY! Commencement! SUMMER!!!

HUGS!
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401;+4.5 316

yay for the end of the year!

zener will get back on track, just looks like a small derailment from the skipped dose! ;-) :-D
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS 402;+1 460;+2 401;+4.5 316

I agree with Julie: you have to take the skipped dose into consideration. In general I don't think that the typical +1 food spike can be considered a bounce.

Bring on the SUMMER VACATION! (or the summer professional meetings, papers, etc. etc.--almost as much work as the semester!--maybe more)

Have a great weekend, Anne & Liz, Zener, Tillie,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS PMPS 219;+1 236

Starting off PMPS in yellow after skipped dose last night, not bad.
Today
05/12/12 Zener
AMPS 406, 14th cycle s1.5u, 2/3PP 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 0.95oz 10%, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle of sisu
+1 460, 0.5oz 10%, 0.45oz 5%, 7 drops kidney liq
+2 401, 1 PP, 3 mg zobaline,
~2.5, 0.4oz 5%
+4.5 316, 0.5oz 10%
+5 0.3oz 10%
+7 239, 0.5oz 10%
+9 0.6oz 10%
+10 293, FDCh
PMPS 219, 15th cycle @s1.5u, 2/3PP 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.3 oz 10%, 1/32t miralax

@Celi - awwwwwwwww, that's so darn cute!

@Ann & Tess - Zener is responding pretty well to the skipped shot. We hated to do it, but just didn't feel safe.

@Lyresa - extra sweet from skipping his shot last night. And you are so right, he is extra sweet all the time. Pepper, you can come hang out with us anytime, black cats always welcome!

@julie - hoorah, we're done!!! Liz is finishing up grading and I am completely done!!! The big guy is recovering nicely from the skipped dose.

@Ella - the kitties are delighted we are done, we'll be home more! We may not have asked our question clearly. In general, we were trying to sort out if a big drop between +1 and +2 needs to be carbed to prevent bouncing. Zener often bounces from the size of a drop regardless of what the numbers are.

Liz and I have noticed that Zener seems to be drinking more often but not necessarily larger amounts, and his peeing has not increased. We are wondering what could be causing this. Last bloodwork was done on him in January and all kidney values and thyroid were normal. I'll start measuring his daily water intake for a couple of days.

We hope everyone is having a great Caturday!
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS PMPS 219

Glad that is a yellow after the no shot. I am sure Zener will come down soon.

Sometimes I find my cats drinking more after their canned food, I blame it on the preservatives or something they add inside. This is especially the case when we are having Japanese brands which is the popular canned food in HK. Is Zener peeing more too?
I seldom see Rosy drinking water, now that she's on canned. In before, she's drinking lots & peeing loads.
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS PMPS 219;+1 235;~2.5 144

Liz

We got the calipers at Harbor Freight: calipers since the syringes are so inaccurate. We find a syringe that is as close to perfect as possible, zero out the caliper to calibrate it, draw our perfect dose, and then measure. So, for us, 1u is 1.44 mm on the calipers. So no matter what the syringe looks like, we always draw in 1.44 mm measuring from where the needle side of the zero line should be to the needle side of the plunger. Does that make sense?
 
Re: 5/12 Zener AMPS PMPS 219;+1 235;~2.5 144;~3.5 152;+5 101

It's been a sliding sort of day, and back to blue after last night's dose skip. The big guy has recovered nicely.

PMPS 219, 15th cycle @s1.5u, 2/3PP 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.3 oz 10%, 1/32t miralax
~1 235, 0.65oz 10%, 8 drops kidney liq
~2.5 144, 1 treat, 0.9oz 10%
~3.5 152, 0.7oz 10%
~4.5, 0.4oz 5%
+5 101, 1PP, 0.5oz 5%
ETA
+6 122, 0.3oz 5%

@Helen - you are psychic too, Zener's coming down. :-D Thanks for the info on food. We recently changed Zener from one form of wet food to another. Our weather has also warmed up but not sure that makes a difference. We are also wondering if one of the meds he takes might be giving him some dry mouth. He is not peeing more, so it is a bit of a puzzle.

@Marje - thanks for the info on the calipers. I am sure Liz will investigate with her engineering eye and it will make perfect sense to her. I see two decimal places and start to get queasy. :roll: We have bought monojet syringes from both ADW and Hock's and seem to get equally poor quality. One batch will be good, then another will have multiple bad syringes. I sent one box with about 50% of the syringes bad back to ADW, but it was past the return deadline. So, now we are buying syringes from Hock's, but I can't tell the quality is all that much better.

Looks like a nice drop from +3.5 to +5 so I'll be up a little bit longer. And, since school's out now, who cares? dancing_cat
 
Zener did some nice work tonight, he will probably wait to dive until he's lulled you into a false sense of security :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top