5/12 Willow PMPS~?, +3.75~201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Complick8d

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70809

He was rising when I went to bed, but ended up dropping sometime during the night, so we woke up to a pretty 117. Plan was to shoot and feed and go back to bed, but since he's only 117 and I shot 30 minutes early, I'm waiting up to do some testing. He's comfy in the numbers, so he's not interested in eating this morning. I have to babysit tonight, so my mom will be giving the evening shot with no test (I will test before I leave, 2 hours before shot time), so I'm thinking of leaving her a BCS to give based on how he's reacting to Levemir so far. Will see how the day goes. I'll be gone about 5 - 6 hours tonight.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +1~119

Libby and Lucy said:
So far I really like what I see on Lev!

Me too, but I'll be more comfy with it and shooting lower numbers if it tames his crazy drops. It's still early with it and dose is likely not perfect yet, so shooting this number has me up waiting for a LO on the meter. I hope the switch helps Willow learn how to surf, instead of dive and fly so much.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +1~119

Hoping for flatter cycles on lev for Willow. Looking good, so far.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +1~119, +2~102

Thanks Dyana. I just told him I was going back to sleep for awhile, so he decided it was a good time to start the drop lol. So far, he's easing on down nicely.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64

I have to leave in an hour and now I'm really not sure what dose to leave for my mom to shoot blindly. UGH!! Just wish she'd learn to test.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64

I find with J.D. anyway, that onset of Levemir is around +4 and nadir is around +8.5, so hopefully Willow will be coming back up in an hour.
Since you're shooting 1.5, I think you could go with a BCS of 1.0 for tonight and depending upon his +10 instruct your mom to give him a certain amount of carbs at a certain time. Like if he's still in the 70s or 80s at +10, then have your mom give him some MC at shot time. And if he's say in the 150s at +10 when you leave, and he's obviously going up, that you could have her give him LC at shot time and MC around +2 or +3.
I'll be back in an hour or less to check on you..
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64, +9~96

My babysitting time got moved up, so I'm leaving at +9.5 now. I'll be home around +4. I'll switch him back to regular shot time tomorrow (an hour earlier than today's time) when I can be home to watch him. Since he's rising nicely (and likely in for a nasty bounce), still go with a BCS dose of 1u?
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64, +9~96

I just said that because I thought you wanted your mom to give a reduced dose, since she won't be testing before the shot.
I think you can go with the 1.5, if she's going to be around to watch him and you instruct her to give him lots of food, and as long as you're home by +4, and she knows what to watch for. I think he'll be okay.

What are your feelings? Do you want to go with the reduced dose? Maybe 1.25 would be a good choice, too.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64, +9~96

I'm leaning towards going with the 1 unit to be on the safe side. This insulin is very new to Willow, and you don't know what he'll do or if he'll get a double dip.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64, +9~96

I'd like to shoot the 1.5, but it always makes me nervous when he's in lower numbers and I'm not home. I'm leaving her with a f1u, he has 2.5 more hours to climb.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64, +9~96

Please let me know what you decide.. so I know how much to worry :)
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64, +9~96

I think that's a good decision, since like I said, this is a new insulin for Willow, and he is doing so well on it.

Have a good evening. Will you have to do these evenings away, much? I hope not, for your sake.
 
Re: 5/12 Willow AMPS~117, +5.75~63, +8~64, +9~96

WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!

WILLOW LIKES HIM SOME LEVEMIR!!!!!!!!

Happy+Cat.bmp
 
Dyana, late nights like this should happen only once a week, if that often. I work later on Tuesday nights, but I'm generally home by +1 or +2, so it's not as bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top