5/12 Tarragon AMPS 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone! I got woken up an hour before the alarm with purring and bumping. I pulled him closer to me and snuggled him and he layed there for another hour. That is unusual for Tarragon. He usually likes to lay on me but on his terms.

I ordered nanners yesterday and am so excited to get them! Tarragon and Turnup both will love it.

5 ps in place. Yellow, albeit high, to start our day.

Have a great day!
 
what a lucky Bean to get an hour of cuddles!

Oh your furbabies are going to LOVE the nanners, it's an obsession just waiting to happen :lol:

Hope you have a great day.
 
I'm not sure if you saw Bonnie's reply in Junior's condo. The information about decreases, etc. are based on numbers from a human glucometer. You don't need to make any adjustment to the numbers you've been getting. Bonnie was using an AlphaTrack which is calibrated for felines. Since the calibration is slightly different, you need to subtract 30 from the AlphaTrack numbers to be in the same ballpark as other, human meters. (For example, below 50 earns a dose reduction for a newly diagnosed cat when you're testing with a human meter. You would need an 80 on an AlphaTrack.)
 
Thank you Sienne! I really appreciate all of your advice and wisdom. I did see her post and it made me feel better. Tarragon just seems to be hanging out in the high 200's and 300's and I was worried it was worse than what I thought. I ordered a lantus pen from Canada and hopefully it gets here soon because I am becoming suspicious that his insulin needs replaced. Just when I think that, he has a bunch of 100's like last weekend. At least his tummy issues seem to have resolved with the medicine and his test results came back negative for parasites. I knew it would, but the vet had it stuck in her head that they must have had roundworm. Of course she just said "No parasites. Everything looks good." My DH was angry because there obviously is something not right or both cats wouldn't have it. They have always had hard food and are switched completely to FF classic. I am starting a food log to see if it is one flavor over another, but it doesn't seem like it. I got the probotics yesterday, so I will start them on that too.

Thank you again. You make a big difference to those of us just starting out.
 
Morning, guys! Fingers and paws crossed that Tarragon's numbers improve soon along with any residual tummy issues! I find that Willie can't tolerate any food varieties with beef in them, so might be something to look out for. Hopefully the probiotics do the trick!

have a great day!!
 
Hi Melissa & Tarragon,
I hope that the 'nanners arrive soon, and the new Lantus, too. That should make a difference in Tarragon's numbers. I also hope that both your kitties will get over whatever it is. Good luck with the probiotics.
Have a great day, enjoy your summer with your son home. And thanks for visiting Rusty's condo. Maine Coons have to visit each other!!

Ella & Rusty
 
somewhere i saw to stick with wings & ears over fins and hooves - in other words, make most of the food be chicken, turkey, bunny (i couldn't - had too many bunnies for pets) over beef & fish. we give beef and fish but only once a week. mostly i give the kitters chicken and turkey.

not sure if that will help your cats or not, but fwiw.
 
Hey Melissa - just stopping in to say "hi". Sounds like you had a lovely start to your day, with early morning Tarragon snuggles!!
 
Hey Melissa: thanks for visiting our condo!! Glad to hear Tarragon is better and I hope his numbers come down with the new juice when you get it.

Re: parasites, protozoans, etc. Your vet should have told you that sometimes you can get negative tests if the creature is not in an active phase esp with things like giardia and coccidia. Our Tobey had intermittent horrible smelly liquipoo, gas, rumbly tummy but nothing showed up on five separate stool samples. Our vet, who does Nutrition Response Testing, kept getting a response that Tobey had coccidia so she gave us albon. Coccidia is tough to kill and it took us three rounds of albon to get rid of it but Tobey has been doing awesome for months now. We never changed his diet. There are so many things, though, that can cause tummy upsets....food allergies being one as well as parasites or protozoans so it becomes a process of elimination. So to speak.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great day!
 
Evening! Moonie had roundworms when we first got her, but never again--
Hope Tarragon will be well & happy now--with his new lantus & His nanners :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Just wanted to Thank you for your kind comments & support through our ordeal here--What you said meant a lot, as everyone's here did also!
Hope he will be all better tomorrow & blue green colors!! Big Hugs from us!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top