5/12 Sushi - AMPS~267 | +4~257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sushi (GA 5/05-3/14)

Member Since 2011
Hello there!
I just hopped on to ask a dental health question on the main health board about my civie cat, but I couldn't resist posting here too. Hope everyone is doing well this Saturday!

Sushi is doing well. His numbers are still high; we have yet to find a good dose for him. His appetite went wonky a few months ago, so I lowered his dose significantly until it returned to normal. I've increased it a bit since, but we've honestly been on cruise control. This year has brought a LOT of health issues for me, which has zapped my energy and "zest," so it's been necessary to keep things low key with Sushi. I'm slowly returning to normal, and I've increased Sushi's dose as I've progressed. We're going to do another .5u increase at our PM dose this evening.

Sushi and I battled a TON when we first moved; at our previous home I had him trained to hop up on the table, lay down, and he would let me test or shoot him without any problem. He just lied there and purred. In our new home, he fought me with each dose and test. He would hop up on the table, but wouldn't lay down. I'd have to force him down (I HATED that; it felt so cruel!), but he wouldn't stay. He would stand up, stand up and walk away; many times while the needle was in his back. He would turn around and try to bite me as I shot him, etc. He was just totally defiant and uncooperative. It was terrible. So I finally gave up and started dosing him while he eats. We've been doing that for a few months. Last night I thought I'd try to dose him without food, and he fought me just like before.
I don't find dosing him while he eats to be as effective. I guess somehow the insulin doesn't absorb as well or something? I definitely noticed his numbers were lower when I dosed him without food. But I suppose it is what it is.

I finally hit a stride a few months ago where I don't even notice the impact having to care for a diabetic cat has on my life. Testing/Shooting/Feeding doesn't feel stressful anymore; it's all totally normal! I have it to where I can do it all in about 10 minutes. I'm so used to planning to be home for his doses, I don't even think twice about it! My job change and move back to Baton Rouge have made that possible; they have been great changes for me, and Sushi too! ;-)

So that's the gist of what's been going on our way. Overall Sushi is happy and healthy! I sure do love that guy. ;-)
 
Hi Ashley, welcome back! :-D I glad that you are feeling better and that Sushi is feeling good too.

I always give Tess her shot while she is eating, she tends to try to walk away otherwise too. I don't think it should make a difference in the number unless because of the position you are shooting in a slightly different area. Shooting in the scruff is said to result in slower absorption, maybe that's it.

Is there a reason for the half unit increases. That is a pretty big dose increase, and we usually only do that much when the cat is on a really high dose. I kow it is frustrating when the syringes are only marked in halfs, but it is possible to 'eye'ball halfway between.
 
Heyyyy Ann!! :razz:
I do still give Sushi his shots in the scruff, but for some odd reason his numbers are higher when I shoot him while he's eating than when I was shooting him sans eating, even though the injection site is the same. I'm sure my technique is a little different; maybe that's the reason why.

I'm increasing by .5u for a few reasons. First, the protocol says "if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit." And, I'm trying to edge us up back up to our "normal" dose of 3.5u; where we were before Sushi's appetite became unpredictable. Would it have been okay for me to jump straight from 2u to 3.5u?
I don't see why I wouldn't adjust by .25u from now (3.5u) on.

Good to hear from you! Give Tess some love for me! ; )
 
The problem with increasing by 0.5u was that you increased when nadirs were in the 200s. By increasing that much, it's easy to miss a good dose and once you are over a good dose, you can end up with bounces and inadvertently put your cat over a good dose. Too much insulin can look a lot like too little insulin.

I have always given Gabby her shot while she was eating. The effect of food wears off by Lantus onset and shooting while Sushi is eating should have no effect on numbers.

I'd also like to suggest that having your spreadsheet date on one page will allow you to better see trends. Having it broken up by months makes it very hard to see the big picture.
 
How great to see a Sushi condo!!!

I always shot Binks while he was eating as well- he rarely even noticed.

Good to hear things are good with your move...and very glad to hear you are feeling better!!

celi & binks
 
hey guys!

hummmmmmm!
Sienne and Gabby said:
Too much insulin can look a lot like too little insulin.
Okay; so what should Sushi's dose be right now? 3.25?

I'll work on combining our spreadsheet...

My technique or angle or something like that must be different when shooting Sushi while eating. I know that there shouldn't be any difference in his #s whether I shoot him while he's eating or not, but it is something I've noticed. Either way, shooting him while he eats seems to be the only way that works right now; so that's how we'll do it!

thanks! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top