5/12 Pixie PMPS=263+1.5=205,+3=122,+4=94,+4.5=90,+5.25=86

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good morning, a beautiful, sunshine day here in Ontario! Pixie is a little low for my comfort this am but I did give him his insulin at the regular time. I decreased the dose to 2.5 units, as suggested by Wendy but I gave him a skinny dose. He has eaten a bit of the Tuna and Chicken and he is showing signs of rising slowly at +1 hour = 221. I will check again at +2 to be sure he isn't starting to move down to quickly like last night. Anne

My last link - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118595

I have tested Pixie up to +6=254 and he is obviously rebounding. It's nice to be able to see first hand what is happening and to understand why it's happening. I was wondering if there were any special instructions to get Pixie to come out of his rebound as soon as he can without complicating things further. Anne

At PMPS, Pixie is feeling unwell - not eating and drinking lots of water. I hope he feels better soon as I find it stressful when he stops eating. Anne

Pixie eating a little starting at +1.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie AMPS=207, +1=221, +2.5=202, +4.5=238, +6=254

G'day Anne. Only bouncing to yellow is pretty good for Pixie. :-D The one trick for helping a bounce when a cat hits a reduction is what we call shooting through the bounce. If kitty is high at the start of the cycle following a reduction, we do a one time only shot at the old dose before reducing the cycle after that. Since Pixie started at 207 I wouldn't have suggested shooting through the bounce for you this time. You should go back up to 2.5 tonight.

So now you get to wait for the bounce to finish. It can take up to 6 cycles to clear.

Enjoy your sunny day, we have the same here.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205

That's quite the drop to +1.5. I hope Pixie isn't deciding to party like he did last night. Sometimes a flat yellow cycle means an exciting one to follow.

Did you get any information back about the Royal Canin food carb %? I'm wondering if the switch to more BFF is making that much of a difference.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205, +3=122

Hi Wendy,

I think this is a repeat of last night. I'm exhausted after so many nights watching Pixie so late. I wonder if you have any words of wisdom?

I didn't have a chance to check with the company but I did check online and realized that the company only lists minimum and maximum levels which probably means that the carb levels are much higher than stated. This morning, Pixie ate just a little bit, maybe an oz of sensitivity mixed in with the Tuna and chicken. I think that's why we started to see his numbers go up at a +3.5. Tonight he won't eat the sensitivity or hypo but he's eating a bit of the tuna and chicken and Merrick's surf and turf pate. Maybe I'll should try the canned Royal Canin diet, JD Mobility, he was on before he was diagnosed with Diabetes. You never know, he may take to it again and it definitely is high carbs. I'll wait to hear back from you before I try something else. Thanks, Anne.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205, +3=122

I would give Pixie some low carb to see if you can slow things down. I'd also suggest re-testing at +3.5.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205, +3=122

Hi Anne! that 93.6 is roughly 69 on a human meter, so that's a good number. he's dropped less than 30 points in the past hour, so he's moving slowly. i'd give him 2 teaspoons of low carb food and see if we can get him to stay in these good numbers for a while.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205, +3=122, +4=94

i see sienne and i were posting at the same time.

sometimes when you give them some low carb food when they get into green numbers, it will help them "surf" in that range.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205, +3=122, +4=94

Hi Wendy,

There must be a delay with the messages so I didn't catch that I should test at +3.5 but I will test again at +4.5. I did try his old food but he didn't touch it so I tried using a large syringe to put some in his mouth but I didn't get too much in. Maybe just as well, I seem to have a burst of energy, probably adrenalin, so I think I'll be okay to see this one through. I'll post if there are any problems. I went back to yesterday's post to review everything and I know that I have to be careful if Pixie drops below 68. Anne
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205, +3=122, +4=94

Did you see Sienne and Julie's post? It'd be great if he would eat a couple tsp of his BFF low carb food. It might slow him down and get him surfing now. Save the higher carb for if he goes below 68.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263, +1.5=205, +3=122, +4=94, +4.5=90

Hi Julie, Sienne and Wendy,

I guess Pixie must be slowing down because he dropped 4 points in 30 minutes. He absolutely won't eat, not even the low carb fish. I'll continue to monitor and try feeding but he's hanging his head in the water bowl again and absolutely not interested in food. I find it odd that he's so thirsty considering his numbers were in the green most of the day. I'll test again in 30 min. Anne
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263+1.5=205,+3=122,+4=94,+4.5=90,+5.25=

Well Pixie did eat about 2 tsp of low carb at about +5 so that's good news. He seems to be surfing and I wonder how long I have to be vigilant this evening. I'm starting to wane. Anne
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263+1.5=205,+3=122,+4=94,+4.5=90,+5.25=

Hi Anne

I've been gone on vacation so haven't had a chance to welcome you and Pixie. We are glad you two found us.

Let me take a look at his SS and I'll be right back. We usually like to see two, rising, non food influenced numbers before you quit testing. The early days of FD can be exhausting but you have to remember to take care of yourself. Most of us who have been around awhile learn how to "sleep test". While it sounds like we are testing in our sleep (and I'm sure I have it down so much by now that I could), it really means to set an alarm and grab a few winks in between tests.

BRB!
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263+1.5=205,+3=122,+4=94,+4.5=90,+5.25=

I'd like to see you get him past +6 and see if he heads up. There isn't really enough data yet to see where his nadir might be. He's also clearing a bounce and so he could possibly come down a little more.

I'd grab a +6 test and let's see what he's doing. Then we can go from there. I'm glad he ate. Is he feeling better or does he still seem to not feel well?
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263+1.5=205,+3=122,+4=94,+4.5=90,+5.25=

Thanks for the welcome Marje. Pixie is feeling a little better and he looks brighter - he isn't hanging over his water bowl. I can see that he's still going down and that was at +6.25=85. I know what you mean about taking the tests in your sleep because last night, I took the last two tests in bed in semi-darkness. He didn't seem to mind and it worked well so I think I'm going to try that tonight. I have all his food set out and the testing kit on my night table. I'll post his results in the spreadsheet. Thanks for everyone's help. Good night, Anne.
 
Re: 5/12 Pixie PMPS=263+1.5=205,+3=122,+4=94,+4.5=90,+5.25=

I'm glad he's feeling better, Anne.

He's surfing with that 85 so I'd give him an hour and see if he's coming up. You want to see more than meter variance on the rise.

Hope you get some rest. I'll be up another hour if you need help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top