5/12 Max AMPS 185

Status
Not open for further replies.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14272

:mrgreen:

NO BOUNCE!!!!!! Wooahhhaa, last night was a killer. Apologies for not updating his final reading at midnight, (I've had 6 hours sleep in two days!), but the moment we got it we all headed to bed, Max included. he cuddled down between our pillows and was puring like a steam train (bed finally!)...he was so tired too.

So this morning when I got the 185 I decided to dose a fat 1.00 as no one is home and I'm sure he will be okay on that dose. If his numbers are still in the blues tonight should I carry on with the 1.00 or should I try the 1.25 again. We all need some proper sleep, so I'm hoping the 1.00 empties his shed a bit (look...I speak FDMB :) so we have a more peaceful night.

I can't thank you guys enough for being there last night..and as I explained everything to DH, he sat up with me and then turned to me and said....pls can you show me how to test this weekend...I nearly fell off my chair. He hasn't been on board totally with the testing but he realised last night what a lifesaver it is. Any other newbies that are debating testing...show them my convo. Don't know how I would have managed without it. Big mwah to all of you
 
Woohoo! Give your hubby extra hugs and kisses for that! Awesome =) Sometimes they just need to see it for themselves and then suddenly they are all on board with the thing =) Mine learned to test and to shoot but can't be bothered to remember which food is fed to the diabetic and which food is fed to the civvies ohmygod_smile Can't have it all I guess :lol:

It sure looks to me like Mr Max is a man on a mission! I think he heard about all the stuff going on in the place where Tugger just went (lots of superstition going on here, we don't want to jinx anything so we don't say it by name and if we do we follow up with (anti-jinx!) so whenever you see that... you'll know someone is referring to an OTJ trial in the making like we might be seeing here (anti-jinx!) <---like that ;-) ) I guess he heard what you had to say but he's not liking the idea of lots of eat pokes to get there so he's just gonna start bcatrun_gif running for the Falls (anti-jinx!) :mrgreen: Or that's the hope anyway!

I hope you can catch up on your sleep... :mrgreen: You might want to get good at Power Napping!
 
NICE AMPS!!!
An awesome cycle last nite.
Good for you guys on the home testing!
It is very helpful to have someone else in the house who can test.
That makes things so much easier.
 
I personally think everyone in the house should know how to test and shoot (at least till the dose gets too tiny... I didn't let anyone else shoot less than .5 after we got to those wee doses bc I didn't trust them to get it right since *I* was having such a hard time doing it) just because you just never know what might happen to hold you up. I didn't want Tugger to suffer if I got stuck in traffic or had a medical emergency or who knows what.

I even made my teenager learn to test and shoot. He's 15 (okok and a half geeze) and he's great with animals, honestly he was easier to teach than hubby OR my petsitter were! He handled a night of Tugger dropping early in his cycle, requiring multiple tests in a couple of hours, while I was at the airport picking hubby up when he came back from Japan recently. Text messages were flying that night =) But he handled it perfectly.

Hubby learned to shoot at the beginning of the whole thing, and a good thing he did because we got stuck an hour from home one night dealing with teen stuff that required me (as the biological parent, he is step-dad to both of my boys) to remain with them. So when we realized we wouldn't be home for shot time, hubby left us there and hauled butt home to shoot the cat then drove the hour back to pick us up.

The petsitter also had to learn it all, and that too came in very handy on Easter. I had to go to a family thing a couple of hours away for the whole day. Plan was, shoot and get a +2 then go and PS would stop in to get +4 and +6 and I'd be home for pm shot. Tugger had different plans. At +1 his number started dropping. I fed him and worried myself half to death. I almost canceled our plans. In the end, I had confidence in the PS and took a few precautions (left phone numbers for two FDMB members just in case she couldn't reach me, left the FDMB page open to Tugger's condo on my computer so she could post if she needed help, alerted everyone here that PS on duty and Tugger was dropping, left instructions printed out for her and food for her to feed) and we got through it just fine. PS had to test a few times that day and we both worried that he'd do something silly when she had to leave, but he didn't =) If I hadn't had a petsitter who is willing to test and spend the time to handle any situation that comes along... I'd have had to stay home. Instead I got to spend the day on the beach with hubby's family and ate a wonderful meal and enjoyed myself, which was hugely needed!

So, that said, I'm a big believer in having back-up whenever possible! Three times we've had situations where it was handy or a life saver, and our trip through LL wasn't that long. It makes my heart hurt when I read of people here who are handling this sugardance all by themselves. I don't know how they do it since it's taken four people on deck and countless people here at FDMB to get Tugger to this point. I can't decide if I want to open up a pet store (to help feed my zoo) or go to work for my PS offering to specialize in caring for special needs critters when their beans have to be away. What do you think? I've gotta do somethin' to help pay the feed bill in this place :shock:
 
Wow, look at Max go! I think you did the right thing with the f1u dose this morning--it'll give you greater peace of mind, and I know how valuable that is when you're running on no sleep! After seeing D's comment from last night, I'd probably stick with the 1u dose tonight and see what happens. You all need some sleep! Also, my personal opinion with the dose-lowering is that sometimes you can't follow protocol, sometimes you have to to bigger/faster drops to keep everything safe, but you can always go back up in dose if you need to.

And kudos to your DH for wanting to learn to test! Mine did learn, but I pretty much told him he HAD to. :lol: There were going to be times when I couldn't be home to test/shoot, and if we were going to get our Max OTJ, he was going to have to help. He's still skittish about it, but he'll do it if he has to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top